U.S. Flag

An official website of the United States government

Breast Cancer Screening

Breast cancer causes approximately 40,000 deaths in the United States each year. The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force recommends that women between the ages of 50 and 74 undergo mammography screening once every two years. Early detection via mammography screening and subsequent treatment can reduce breast cancer mortality for women in this age range.

Explore the percentage of women ages 50 to 74 who received a mammogram to screen for breast cancer. Higher rates are better.

The purple dashed line represents the median, or middle of all values reported.

This measure reports the percentage of women ages 50 to 74 who received a mammogram to screen for breast cancer during the measurement year or two years prior to the measurement year. 

States voluntarily report on Breast Cancer Screening (BCS-AD) as part of the Core Set of Adult Health Care Quality Measures. These data show performance rates for states that voluntarily reported the measure using Adult Core Set measure specifications.

The included populations and reporting methods for Adult Core Set measures can vary by state. For example, some states report data on certain populations such as those covered under managed care but not those covered under fee-for-service (FFS). This variation in data can affect measure performance and comparisons between states.

Specifications for this measure changed substantially for Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2018. Rates are not comparable with rates reported for previous years.

Breast Cancer Screening

Source: Mathematica analysis of Medicaid and CHIP Program System (MACPro) reports as of June 3, 2019 for the Adult Core Set FFY 2018 reporting cycle; see 2018 Child and Adult Health Care Quality Measures. For more information about Breast Cancer Screening (BCS-AD) visit Adult Health Care Quality Measures.


The following states did not report data to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) for this measure: AK, AR, CO, ID, IN, ME, MT, ND, OR, and SD.

The Adult Core Set specifications include guidance for calculating this measure using the administrative method. Unless otherwise specified, the administrative data source is the state’s Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) and/or data submitted by managed care plans, including behavioral health plans.

Unless otherwise specified:

  • States used Adult Core Set specifications, based on National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) 2018 specifications. The following state used NCQA 2017 specifications: NV. 
  • Denominators are assumed to be the measure-eligible population for states using the administrative method. Some states reported exclusions from the denominator, as noted in the state-specific comments.
  • The measurement period for this measure was January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017. AZ reported data for FFY 2016.   
  • Rates displayed reflect state reporting for Medicaid enrollees ages 50 to 64 (26 states) or ages 50 to 74 (15 states).

AHRQ = Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; CCO = Coordinated Care Organization; CHIP = Children’s Health Insurance Program; CMS = Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services; CMO = Care Management Organization; CY = Calendar Year; ED = Emergency Department; EHR = Electronic Health Record; EQRO = External Quality Review Organization; FFS = Fee for Service; FFY = Federal Fiscal Year; HEDIS = Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set; HMO = Health Maintenance Organization; ICD = International Classification of Diseases; LOINC = Logical Observation Identifiers Names and Codes; MACPro = Medicaid and CHIP Program System; MCO = Managed Care Organization; MMIS = Medicaid Management Information System; NCQA = National Committee for Quality Assurance; NR = Not Reported; PCCM = Primary Care Case Management; PCP = Primary Care Practitioner.