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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Seattle Regional Office
701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1600, MS/RX-200  
Seattle, Washington 98104

Division of Medicaid & Children’s Health Operations  

October 24, 2017

Valerie Davidson, Commissioner
Department of Health and Social Services
PO Box 110601
Juneau, Alaska  99811-0601

RE: Alaska State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 17-0009

Dear Ms. Davidson:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has completed its review of State Plan
Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 17-0009.  This transmittal updates the optional state 
supplement standards for special income level groups consistent with the published federal poverty
levels.

This SPA is approved effective July 1, 2017. 

If you have any additional questions please contact me, or your staff contact Maria Garza

Sincerely,

David L. Meacham
Associate Regional Administrator

cc:
Jon Sherwood
Courtney King

Digitally signed by David L. Meacham 



Digitally signed by David L. Meacham -S 



Supplement 6 to ATTACHMENT 2.6-A 
State Plan for Title XIX (as required by Attachment 2.2-A)
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TN No.: 17 – 0009 Approval Date:  Effective Date: July 1, 2017 

Supersedes TN No.: 15-001           

Standards for Optional State Supplementary Payments

AGED

Payment Category Administered Income Level Maximum Payment Notes
by Gross Net Level

(Reasonable Classification) (Fed/State) 1 Person Couple 1 Person Couple 1 Person Couple
Non-Institutionalized, living 
independently.

State $2205 $4410 $1366 $2023 $1097 $1631 1/ 2/

Non-Institutionalized, living in 
another individual’s home and 
receiving in-kind income in the 
form of both food and shelter.

State $2205 $4410 $1128 $1683 $858 $1278
1/ 2/

Institutionalized in a hospital, 
SNF, ICF, or ICF/MR

State $2205 $4410 $200 $400 $200 $400 1/ 2/

In Assisted Living Home State $2205 $4410 $1366 $2023 $835 $1303 1/ 2/

1/ Income Disregard: Alaska Native Land Claims Settlement
2/ Additional Eligibility Criteria: Individual must be age 18 or older. 
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TN No.: 17 – 0009 Approval Date:  Effective Date: July 1, 2017 

Supersedes TN No.: 15-001           

Standards for Optional State Supplementary Payments

BLIND

Payment Category Administered Income Level Maximum Payment Notes
by Gross Net Level

(Reasonable Classification) (Fed/State) 1 Person Couple 1 Person Couple 1 Person Couple
Non-Institutionalized, living 
independently.

State $2205 $4410 $1366 $2023 $1097 $1631 1/ 2/

Non-Institutionalized, living in 
another individual’s home and 
receiving in-kind income in the form 
of both food and shelter.

State $2205 $4410 $1128 $1683 $858 $1278
1/ 2/

Institutionalized in a hospital, SNF, 
ICF, or ICF/MR

State $2205 $4410 $200 $400 $200 $400 1/ 2/

In Assisted Living Home State $2205 $4410 $1366 $2023 $835 $1303 1/ 2/

1/ Income Disregard: Alaska Native Land Claims Settlement
2/ Additional Eligibility Criteria: Individual must be age 18 or older. 
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TN No.: 17 – 0009 Approval Date:  Effective Date: July 1, 2017 

Supersedes TN No.: 15-001           

Standards for Optional State Supplementary Payments

DISABLED

Payment Category Administered Income Level Maximum Payment Notes
by Gross Net Level

(Reasonable Classification) (Fed/State) 1 Person Couple 1 Person Couple 1 Person Couple
Non-Institutionalized, living 
independently.

State $2205 $4410 $1366 $2023 $1097 $1631 1/ 2/

Non-Institutionalized, living in 
another individual’s home and 
receiving in-kind income in the form 
of both food and shelter.

State $2205 $4410 $1128 $1683 $858 $1278
1/ 2/

Institutionalized in a hospital, SNF, 
ICF, or ICF/MR

State $2205 $4410 $200 $400 $200 $400 1/ 2/

In Assisted Living Home State $2205 $4410 $1366 $2023 $835 $1303 1/ 2/

1/ Income Disregard: Alaska Native Land Claims Settlement
2/ Additional Eligibility Criteria: Individual must be age 18 or older. 




