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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7 =
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop $2-26-12 c Wy S
Baltimore, MD 21244-1850 CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAIL SERVICES

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

APR 1.8 2017

Jon Sherwood, Deputy Commissioner
Department of Health and Social Services
Post Office Box 110601

Juneau, AK 99811-0601

RE: AK State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number #17-0001 — Approval

Dear Mr. Sherwood:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachments 4.19-A and B of your Medicaid
State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 17-0001. This SPA updates reimbursement
rates for inpatient psychiatric services for individuals under the age of 21, removes language
restricting eligible providers to non-profits, removes language targeting individuals with a
serious emotional disturbance for service eligibility, and corrects a previous error of placement
of this reimbursement methodology in Attachment 4.19-B..

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a), and 1923 of the Social Security Act and the
implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are pleased to inform you that
Medicaid State plan amendment 17-0001 is approved effective as of July 1, 2017. For your files,
we are enclosing the HCFA-179 transmittal form and the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions concerning this state plan amendment, please contact Tom Couch, CMS’
RO NIRT Representative at 208-861-9838 or Thomas.Couch(@cms.hhs.gov .

Sincerely,

Kristin Fan
Director
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State Plan for Title XIX Attachment 4.19-A
State of Alaska Page 27a

Inpatient Psychiatric Services for Individuals Under 21

Payment to an accredited residential psychiatric facility for the treatment of individuals under 21 years of
age is at daily rates established by the department. The department will pay for therapeutically
appropriate, medically necessary diagnostic and treatment services, including the following services:
individual psychotherapy; group psychotherapy; family psychotherapy; group skill-development
services; individual skill-development services; family skill-development services; pharmacologic
management and medication administration; crisis intervention; and intake assessment.

The daily reimbursement rates are published and available at:
http://manuals.medicaidalaska.com/inpatient psych rptc/inpatient psvch_rptc.htm.

The rates were last updated to be effective for services on or after 7/1/17.

TN No. 17-00031 Approval Date: Qpﬂll iﬁg 205'7 . Effective Date:_July ’I'.’ 2017
Supersedes TN No._NEW C



State Plan for Title XiX Attachment 4.19-B
State of Alaska Page 9

Methods and Standards for Establishing
Payment Rates: Other Types of Care

Private Duty Nursing for Children Under 21
Payment for private hursing is the lesser of amount billed the general public or $80 per hour for

registered nurse services and $75 per hour for licensed practical nurse services. Hours must be
justified in a physician-approved plan of care, must be less than 24 hours per day, and cannot,
when added to the other Medicaid services used by the child, exceed the cost of institutional care.

Radiology Services
Payment for radiology services provided by independent radiology facilities is made at the lesser

of billed charges, the Resource Based Relative Value Scale methodology used for physicians, the
provider’s lowest charge, or the state maximum allowable for procedures that do not have an
established RVU. This maximum allowable payment is a single rate per procedure code. The
agency’s rates for radiology services were updated on July 1, 2012 and are effective for dates of
service after on or after that date. The state assures that the requirement of 42 CFR 447.325

regarding upper limits of payment will be met.

Renal Dialysis Physician Clinics
Payment for renal dialysis clinic services is a composite, per-treatment rate of $1,000 for

hemodialysis and $500 for peritoneal dialysis. This maximum allowable payment is a single rate
per procedure. The rates established for renal dialysis clinic services are all inclusive, except that
erythrocyte-stimulating agents and parenteral iron replacement products are separately
reimbursable under existing prescribed drug payment methodology. These rates are effective
January 1, 2013. To ensure that payment rates are economic and efficient, the State will calculate
a clinic upper payment limit as described at 42 CFR 447.321.

Respiratory Therapy Services
payment for respiratory therapy services is made at the lesser of the amount billed the general

public or the state maximum allowable. This maximum allowable payment is a single rate per
procedure code. The agency’s rates for respiratory therapy services were updated on july 1, 2012
and are effective for dates of service after on or after that date.

TN No. 17-0001 Approval Refe. Apnl 13}203’7 " ii'Effective Date July 01, 2017 . .
Supersedes TN No.13-002 :
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