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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 ‘ M S
Kansas City, Missouri 64106

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

May 14, 2024

Emily Zalkovsky

State Medicaid Director

Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
P.O. Box 13247

Austin, TX 78711-3247

Re: Texas State Plan Amendment (SPA) — 24-0005
Dear Director Zalkovsky:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 24-0005. This amendment
proposes to require a Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center (PPECC) to provide
transportation to a recipient when the recipient’s physician determines the recipient is stable to
receive transportation services and the parent or legal guardian wants the recipient to receive
transportation services. The proposed amendment also requires that a recipient be accompanied
by a PPECC nurse or direct care staff member, as identified by the physician in the plan of care,
during transport to and from the PPECC. Finally, in alignment with state licensing rules, the
proposed amendment revises the qualifications for a PPECC’s nursing director and alternate
nursing director.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX
of the Social Security Act and implementing regulations. This letter informs you that
Texas’ Medicaid SPA TN 24-0005 was approved on May 14, 2024, with an effective date of
September 1, 2024.

Enclosed are copies of Form CMS-179 and approved SPA pages to be incorporated into the
Texas State Plan.

If you have any questions, please contact Ford Blunt at (214) 767-6381 or via email at
Ford.Blunt@cms.hhs.gov.
Sincerely,
Digitally signed b
RUth RlIJtlh Hl)J/gP:es -S ’
Date: 2024.05.14
Hughes- 14:16:18 -05'00'
Ruth A. Hughes, Acting Director
Division of Program Operations

Enclosures



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH ANDHUMAN SERVICES
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

FORMAPPROVED
OMB No. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF

STATE PLAN MATERIAL

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

2. STATE
T X

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE_XIXOF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER

24 0 0 0 5

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
September 1, 2024

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION

Title XIX of SSA

6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars)
a FFY_2024 $ 0.00
b. FFY_2025 $ 0.00

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT

See Attachment

8.PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)

See Attachment

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) proposes amendments to the Texas State Plan for Medical Assistance
under Title XIX of the Social Security Act to make requirements for Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Centers (PPECCs) consistent
with changes made to state licensing rules for PPECCs. The proposed amendment requires a PPECC to provide transportation to a
recipient when the recipient’s physician determines the recipient is stable to receive transportation services and the parent or legal
guardian wants the recipient to receive transportation services. The proposed amendment also requires that a recipient be
accompanied by a PPECC nurse or direct care staff member, as identified by the physician in the plan of care, during transport to and
from the PPECC. Finally, in alignment with state licensing rules, the proposed amendment revises the qualifications for a PPECC’s

nursing director and alternate nursing director.

10. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One)

GOVERNOR'’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Sent to Governor’s Office this
date. Comments, if any, will be forwarded upon receipt.

11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL

15. RETURN TO

Emily Dot sy Emo |
Zalkovsky 153555 o500 Emily Zalkovsky
T3 TVPED NAME State Medicaid Director
’ Emily Zalkovsky Post Office Box 13247, MC: H-100
Austin, Texas 78711
13. TITLE
State Medicaid Director
14. DATE SUBMITTED
February 26, 2024
FOR CMS USE ONLY
16. DATE RECEIVED 17. DATE APPROVED
February 26, 2024 May 14, 2024

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL

September 1, 2024

Digitally signed by Ruth Hughes -S

19. SIGNATURE OF /-F\FPRI%)VING OFFICIA
ut T Date: 2024.05.14 14:16:46 -05'00'

Hughes

20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL

Ruth A. Hughes

21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL

Acting Director, Division of Program Operations

22. REMARKS

FORM CMS-179 (09/24)



Attachment to Blocks 7 & 8 of CMS Form 179

Transmittal Number 24-0005

Number of the
Plan Section or Attachment

Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A
Page 7v
Page 7z
Page 7bb
Page 7cc
Page 7dd

Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B
Page 7v
Page 7z
Page 7bb
Page 7cc
Page 7dd

Number of the Superseded
Plan Section or Attachment

Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A
Page 7v (TN 15-0032)
Page 7z (TN 15-0032)
Page 7bb (TN 15-0032)
Page 7cc (TN 15-0032)
Page 7dd (TN 15-0032)

Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B
Page 7v (TN 15-0032)
Page 7z (TN 15-0032)
Page 7bb (TN 15-0032)
Page 7cc (TN 15-0032)
Page 7dd (TN 15-0032)



State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A
Page 7v

4b. EPSDT Services (continued)
Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center Services
(a) Definition:

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center (PPECC) services are an array of
physician-prescribed services designed to meet the medical, social and
developmental needs of a child who is medically or technologically dependent and
requires ongoing nursing services and other therapeutic interventions. Services are
provided under the supervision of a registered nurse licensed by the state of Texas.
These services are performed in a Medicaid-enrolled PPECC, which is a community-
based non-residential provider licensed by the state, and compliant with state
licensing standards. A PPECC serves at least four Medicaid-eligible recipients who
are not related by blood, marriage, or adoption.

(b) Eligibility:

This service is available to individuals under the age of 21 based on a determination
of medical necessity.

The utilization of PPECC services does not supplant the recipient's choice of private
duty nursing, when medically necessary.

(c) Services:

Services are provided in a Medicaid-enrolled PPECC, licensed by the Health
and Human Services Commission (HHSC) and compliant with state licensing
standards. PPECC services require prior authorization.

PPECC services include the development, implementation, and monitoring of a
comprehensive plan of care (POC), developed in conjunction with the Medicaid
recipient’s responsible adult, that specifies the recipient’s medical, nursing,
psychosocial, therapeutic, dietary, functional, and developmental service needs, as
well as the caregiver training needs of the recipient’s responsible adult(s).

A PPECC must provide the following basic services, prescribed by a physician, in
accordance with a recipient's assessment and comprehensive plan of care:

TN: _24-0005 Approval Date: _05/14/2024
Supersedes TN: _15-0032 Effective Date: _09/01/2024




State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A
Page 7z

4b. EPSDT Services (continued)
Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center Services (continued)
(c) Services: (continued)

(1) Transportation—Provided in accordance with 42 CFR § 440.170(a).

(A) Transportation services must be provided either by the PPECC or a
contractor of the PPECC, when the physician determines the recipient is
stable, and the parent or legal guardian wants the recipient to receive
transportation services. The recipient must be accompanied by a PPECC
nurse or direct care staff member, as identified by the physician in the plan
of care (POC), during transport to and from the PPECC.

(B) Transportation to and from the PPECC will be reimbursed on a per case basis
(i.e., only when utilized) in accordance with 42 CFR § 440.170(a).

(C) Transportation services are subject to PPECC licensure requirements related
to transportation, including the following:

(1) the driver must hold a valid and appropriate Texas driver's license, a copy
of which the PPECC must keep on file;

(2) the vehicle used to transport a minor must have a current Texas safety
inspection sticker and vehicle registration decal properly affixed to a
vehicle;

(3) the PPECC must maintain commercial insurance for the operation of its
vehicles, including coverage for minors and staff in the PPECC vehiclein
the event of accident or injury; and

(4) the PPECC must maintain documentation of insurance.
(5) PPECC transportation is not provided by the transportation broker.

(6) Recipients have a choice of PPECC providers, who render the transportation
services.

TN: _24-0005 Approval Date: _05/14/2024
Supersedes TN: _15-0032 Effective Date: _09/01/2024




State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A
Page 7bb

4b. EPSDT Services (continued)

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center Services (continued)

(d) Providers and Provider Qualifications: (continued)

(1) Nursing Director and Alternate Nursing Director

Nursing Director and Alternate Nursing Director Qualifications. A nursing director
and alternate nursing director must:

(A) Have a valid RN license in accordance with state statute with no disciplinary
action;

(B) Have a valid certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation or Basic Cardiac
Life Support; and

(C) Have a minimum of two years of supervision and management in employment
in a pediatric setting caring for a medically or technologically dependent minor or
at least two years of supervision in one of the following specialty settings:

(i) pediatric intensive care;

(i) neonatal intensive care;

(iii) pediatric emergency care;

(iv) PPECC;

(v) home health or hospice agency specializing in pediatric care;

(vi)ambulatory surgical center specializing in pediatric care; or

(vii) have comparable pediatric unit experience in a hospital for two
consecutive years before the person applies for the position of
nursing director.

(D) Meet all requirements as specified in state PPECC licensing regulations.

TN: _24-0005 Approval Date: _05/14/2024
Supersedes TN: _15-0032 Effective Date: _09/01/2024




State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A
Page 7cc

4b. EPSDT Services (continued)

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center Services (continued)

(d) Providers and Provider Qualifications: (continued)

(2) Registered Nurse
Registered Nurse Qualifications. An RN must:

(A)Hold a valid RN license in accordance with state statute with no disciplinary
action;

(B) Hold valid certifications in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Basic First
Aid; and

(C) Have at least one of the following:

(i) one year of pediatric specialty experience with emphasis on medically and
technologically dependent minors, obtained within the previous five years;
or

(i) skills sufficient to meet the competency and training requirements
in accordance with state PPECC licensing regulations.

(D) Meet all requirements as specified in PPECC state licensing regulations.
(3) Licensed Vocational Nurse
Licensed Vocational Nurse Qualifications: An LVN must:

(A)Hold a valid LVN license in accordance with state statute with no disciplinary
action;

(B) Hold valid certifications in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Basic First
Aid; and

(C) Have at least one of the following:

(i) one year of pediatric specialty experience with emphasis on medically and
technologically dependent minors obtained within the last consecutive five
years; or

(i) skills sufficient to meet the competency and training requirements
in accordance with state PPECC licensing regulations.

(D) Meet all requirements as specified in state PPECC licensure regulations.

TN: _24-0005 Approval Date: _05/14/2024
Supersedes TN: _15-0032 Effective Date: _09/01/2024




State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-A
Page 7dd

4b. EPSDT Services (continued)
Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center Services (continued)

(d) Providers and Provider Qualifications: (continued)

(4) Psychologist

Psychologist Qualifications: Each Psychologist must have a valid Psychologist
license in accordance with state statute with no disciplinary action.

(5) Direct Care Staff
Direct Care Staff Qualifications. Each direct care staff member must:
(A) Be 18 years of age or older;
(B) Hold a high school diploma or a general equivalency degree;
(C) Meet at least one of the following:

(i) one year of experience employed in a health care setting providingdirect
care to minors who are medically or technologically dependent;

(i) two years of experience employed in a health care, childcare, or school
setting providing direct care to minors who are medically or technologically
dependent;

(iii) two years of experience employed in a health care setting providing direct
care to adults; or

(iv) sufficient skills to meet the competency and training requirements
in accordance with state PPECC licensing regulations.

(D)Maintain current certification in Pediatric Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and
Basic First Aid.

(E) Meet all requirements as specified in state PPECC licensure regulations.
(F) Direct care staff are supervised by a licensed RN.

(6) Dietician
Dietician Qualifications: A dietician must:

(A) Hold a valid license to use the title of licensed dietitian in accordance with state
statute with no disciplinary action.

(B) Meet all requirements as specified in state PPECC licensure regulations.

TN: _24-0005 Approval Date: _05/14/2024
Supersedes TN: _15-0032 Effective Date: _09/01/2024




State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B
Page 7v

4b. EPSDT Services (continued)
Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center Services
(a) Definition:

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center (PPECC) services are an array of
physician-prescribed services designed to meet the medical, social and
developmental needs of a child who is medically or technologically dependent and
requires ongoing nursing services and other therapeutic interventions. Services are
provided under the supervision of a registered nurse licensed by the state of Texas.
These services are performed in a Medicaid-enrolled PPECC, which is a community-
based non-residential provider licensed by the state, and compliant with state
licensing standards. A PPECC serves at least four Medicaid-eligible recipients who
are not related by blood, marriage, or adoption.

(b) Eligibility:

This service is available to individuals under the age of 21 based on a determination
of medical necessity.

The utilization of PPECC services does not supplant the recipient's choice of private
duty nursing, when medically necessary.

(c) Services:

Services are provided in a Medicaid-enrolled PPECC, licensed by the Health
and Human Services Commission (HHSC) and compliant with state licensing
standards. PPECC services require prior authorization.

PPECC services include the development, implementation, and monitoring of a
comprehensive plan of care (POC), developed in conjunction with the Medicaid
recipient’s responsible adult, that specifies the recipient’s medical, nursing,
psychosocial, therapeutic, dietary, functional, and developmental service needs, as
well as the caregiver training needs of the recipient’s responsible adult(s).

A PPECC must provide the following basic services, prescribed by a physician, in
accordance with a recipient's assessment and comprehensive plan of care:

TN: _24-0005 Approval Date: _05/14/2024
Supersedes TN: _15-0032 Effective Date: _09/01/2024




State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B
Page 7z

4b. EPSDT Services (continued)

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center Services (continued)

(c) Services: (continued)
(1) Transportation—Provided in accordance with 42 CFR § 440.170(a).

(A) Transportation services must be provided either by the PPECC or a
contractor of the PPECC, when the physician determines the recipient is
stable, and the parent or legal guardian wants the recipient to receive
transportation services. The recipient must be accompanied by a PPECC
nurse or direct care staff member, as identified by the physician in the plan
of care (POC), during transport to and from the PPECC.

(B) Transportation to and from the PPECC will be reimbursed on a per case basis
(i.e., only when utilized) in accordance with 42 CFR § 440.170(a).

(C) Transportation services are subject to PPECC licensure requirements related
to transportation, including the following:

(1) the driver must hold a valid and appropriate Texas driver's license, a copy
of which the PPECC must keep on file;

(2) the vehicle used to transport a minor must have a current Texas safety
inspection sticker and vehicle registration decal properly affixed to a
vehicle;

(3) the PPECC must maintain commercial insurance for the operation of its
vehicles, including coverage for minors and staff in the PPECC vehiclein
the event of accident or injury; and

(4) the PPECC must maintain documentation of insurance.
(5) PPECC transportation is not provided by the transportation broker.

(6) Recipients have a choice of PPECC providers, who render the
transportation services.

TN: _24-0005 Approval Date: _05/14/2024
Supersedes TN: _15-0032 Effective Date: _09/01/2024




State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B
Page 7bb

4b. EPSDT Services (continued)
Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center Services (continued)

(d) Providers and Provider Qualifications: (continued)

(1) Nursing Director and Alternate Nursing Director
Nursing Director and Alternate Nursing Director Qualifications. A nursing director
and alternate nursing director must:
(A) Have a valid RN license in accordance with state statute with no disciplinary

action;

(B) Have a valid certification in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation or Basic Cardiac
Life Support; and

(C)Have a minimum of two years of supervision and management in employment
in a pediatric setting caring for a medically or technologically dependent minor
or at least two years of supervision in one of the following specialty settings:

(i) pediatric intensive care;

(ii) neonatal intensive care;

(iii) pediatric emergency care;

(iv) PPECC;

(v) home health or hospice agency specializing in pediatric care;

(vi)ambulatory surgical center specializing in pediatric care; or

(vii)have comparable pediatric unit experience in a hospital for two
consecutive years before the person applies for the position of
nursing director.

(D) Meet all requirements as specified in state PPECC licensing regulations.

TN: _24-0005 Approval Date: _05/14/2024
Supersedes TN: _15-0032 Effective Date: _09/01/2024




State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B
Page 7cc

4b. EPSDT Services (continued)

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center Services (continued)

(d) Providers and Provider Qualifications: (continued)

(2) Registered Nurse
Registered Nurse Qualifications. An RN must:

(A)Hold a valid RN license in accordance with state statute with no disciplinary
action;

(B) Hold valid certifications in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Basic First
Aid; and

(C) Have at least one of the following:

(i) one year of pediatric specialty experience with emphasis on medically and
technologically dependent minors, obtained within the previous five years;
or

(i) skills sufficient to meet the competency and training requirements
in accordance with state PPECC licensing regulations.

(D) Meet all requirements as specified in PPECC state licensing regulations.
(3) Licensed Vocational Nurse
Licensed Vocational Nurse Qualifications: An LVN must:

(A)Hold a valid LVN license in accordance with state statute with no disciplinary
action;

(B) Hold valid certifications in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Basic First
Aid; and

(C) Have at least one of the following:

(i) one year of pediatric specialty experience with emphasis on medically and
technologically dependent minors obtained within the last consecutive five
years; or

(D) skills sufficient to meet the competency and training requirements in
accordance with state PPECC licensing regulations.

(E) Meet all requirements as specified in state PPECC licensure
regulations.

TN: _24-0005 Approval Date: _05/14/2024
Supersedes TN: _15-0032 Effective Date: _09/01/2024




State of Texas
Appendix 1 to Attachment 3.1-B

Page 7dd
4b. EPSDT Services (continued)

Prescribed Pediatric Extended Care Center Services (continued)

(d) Providers and Provider Qualifications: (continued)

(4) Psychologist

Psychologist Qualifications: Each Psychologist must have a valid Psychologist
license in accordance with state statute with no disciplinary action.

(5) Direct Care Staff
Direct Care Staff Qualifications. Each direct care staff member must:
(A) Be 18 years of age or older;

(B) Hold a high school diploma or a general equivalency degree;

(C) Meet at least one of the following:

(i) one year of experience employed in a health care setting providingdirect
care to minors who are medically or technologically dependent;

(i) two years of experience employed in a health care, childcare, or school

setting providing direct care to minors who are medically or technologically
dependent;

(iii) two years of experience employed in a health care setting providing direct
care to adults; or

(iv) sufficient skills to meet the competency and training requirements
in accordance with state PPECC licensing regulations.

(D) Maintain current certification in Pediatric Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and
Basic First Aid.

(E) Meet all requirements as specified in state PPECC licensure regulations.
(F) Direct care staff are supervised by a licensed RN.
(6) Dietician

Dietician Qualifications: A dietician must;

(A) Hold a valid license to use the title of licensed dietitian in accordance with state
statute with no disciplinary action.

(B) Meet all requirements as specified in state PPECC licensure regulations.

TN: 24-0005

Approval Date: 05/14/2024
Supersedes TN: 15-0032

Effective Date: 09/01/2024





