Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Missouri

State Plan Amendment (SPA) MO: 23-0028

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600 Chicago, Illinois 60601



Financial Management Group

October 27, 2023

Todd Richardson Director, MO HealthNet Missouri Department of Social Services Broadway State Office Building PO Box 1527 Jefferson City, MO 65102

RE: TN MO-23-0028

Dear Director Richardson:

We have reviewed the proposed Missouri State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B MO-23-0028, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on August 14th, 2023. This state plan amendment increases EPSDT/Private Duty Nursing and Personal Care rates.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an effective date of July 1, 2023. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state plan pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Robert Bromwell at (410)-786-5914 or Robert.Bromwell@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Todd McMillion
Director
Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures

FORM CMS-179 (09/24)

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2, STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	2 3 — 0 0 2 8 MO
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	3, PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL
	SECURITY ACT XIX XXI
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	07/01/2023
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 42 CER 447 and 1902/2004 1802/2003 and 1903 of the Sea	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars)
42 CFR 447 and 1902(a)(4), 1902(a)(2) , and 1903 of the Soc Security Act 1905(a)(4)(B), 1905(a)(24)	b. FFY FFY23 \$ 12,365,902 b. FFY FFY24 \$ 49,463,607
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT	8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
EPSDT/Private Duty Nursing, 4.19B, Page 2b	OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)
Personal Care, 4.198 Page 4a	EPSDT/Private Duty Nursing, 4.19B, Page 2b,TN# 22-0027 Personal Care, 4.19B Page 4a,TN# 22-0027
	1 01301141 Octo, 4. 100 Fage 4a, 110# 22-0027
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT	
This State Plan Amendment proposes to update the fee schedule for certain MO HealthNet State Plan	
services due to an reimbursement rate increase appropriated by the State Legislature.	
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)	
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT SLV	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
O COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED	O THEN, AND ESTIMES.
O NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	
11. SIGNATURE OF STATE ASENCY OFFICIAL	15. RETURN TO
	MO HealthNet Division
12. TYPED NAME	P.O. Box 6500
Robert J. Knodell	Jefferson City, MO 65102
13. TITLE Director	
14. DATE SUBMITTED 8-10-23	
16 DATE RECEIVED	
16. DATE RECEIVED August 14, 2023	17. DATE APPROVED October 27, 2023
PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED	
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL	19. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
July 1, 2023	
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL Todd McMillion	21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL Director Division of Paintersement Posicion
	Director, Division of Reimbursement Review
22. REMARKS	
Pen and ink change authorized via email on 10/19/2023 to block 5 from 1902(a)(4) and 1902(a)(2)	
to 1905(a)(4)(B) and 1905(a)(24).	

State: Missouri

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of lab services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2019 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published at: https://dss.mo.gov/mhd/providers/pages/cptagree.htm.

FAMILY PLANNING

The state agency will pay for medical services which are identified as qualified Family Planning services. The payment will be in accordance with the standards and methods herein described as apply to the provider type represented.

The state payment for each service will be made on the lower of:

- (1) The provider's actual charge for the service, or;
- (2) The maximum allowable fee or rate as determined by the state agency.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of Family Planning services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2022 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published at https://dss.mo.gov/mhd/providers/pages/cptagree.htm.

EARLY AND PERIODIC SCREENING, DIAGNOSIS, AND TREATMENT (E.P.S.D.T.)

Reimbursement for EPSDT services provided in accordance with the provisions of section 6403 of PL. 101-239 and federal regulations as promulgated thereunder shall be made on the basis of reasonable allowance fee schedules or per-diem rates, if applicable, as determined by the, state agency, and in accordance with the standards and methods herein described as applicable to the service and provider type represented. The state payment for each service will be made on the lower of:

- (3) The provider's actual charge for the service, or;
- (4) The maximum allowable fee or rate as determined by the state agency.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of EPSDT services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2023, and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published at https://dss.mo.gov/mhd/providers/pages/cptagree.htm.

Reimbursement Methodology for Licensed Behavior Analysts and Licensed Psychologists:

- (A) MO HealthNet shall provide reimbursement to enrolled Licensed Behavior Analysts (LBAs) and Licensed Psychologists (LPs), who are currently licensed and in good standing with the state, for services provided within their scope of practice. Payment for services rendered by Licensed Assistant Behavior Analysts (LABAs) shall be made to the LBA supervising and employing these personnel. Payment for services rendered by technicians shall be made to the LBA or LP supervising and employing these personnel. If the LBA or LP operates through an agency or corporate entity, payment may be made to that agency or entity. Reimbursement for services shall not be made to or for services rendered by a parent, a legal guardian, or other legally responsible person.
- (B) Reimbursement for services is made on a fee-for-service basis. The maximum allowable fee for a unit of service has been determined by MO HealthNet to be a reasonable fee, consistent with efficiency, economy, and quality of care. Payment for covered services is the lower of the provider's actual billed charge (should be the provider's usual and customary charge to the general public for the service), or the maximum allowable amount per unit of service. Reimbursement shall only be made for services authorized by MO HealthNet or its designee.
- (C) Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of ABA services. The agency's fee.schedule was set as of July 1, 2022 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published at https://dss.mo.gov/mhd/providers/pages/cptagree.htm.

Effective Date

Approval Date

July 1, 2023 October 27, 2023

Effective Date July 1, 2023

Approval Date: October 27, 2023

State: Missouri

Personal Care Services

a. Personal Care Services (Agency Model):

Reimbursement for services is made on a fee-for-service basis The maximum allowable fee for a unit of service has been determined by MO HealthNet to be a reasonable fee, consistent with efficiency, economy, and quality of care. RN supervisory visits provided in Residential Care Facilities are billed by the provider at a separate rate per visit and do not duplicate services already provided by the facility. The state payment for each service shall be the lower of:

- (1) The provider's actual charge for the services; or
- (2) The established rate per service unit or visit as determined by the state agency.

The total monthly payment made on behalf of an individual cannot exceed sixty percent (60%) of the average statewide monthly cost for care in a nursing institution (excluding state mental intermediate care facilities).

The total monthly payment for personal care for individuals eligible for advanced personal care services may not exceed 100% of the average statewide monthly cost for care in a nursing institution (excluding state mental intermediate care facilities).

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of personal care services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2023, and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published at https://dss.mo.gov/mhd/providers/pages/cptagree.htm.

The fee schedule, as described, applies to all levels of personal care (basic, advanced, and RN supervisory visits). There is a variation in the rates paid according to the setting where services are delivered.

The amount of time associated with one unit of basic and advanced Personal Care is 15 minutes. The RN supervisory visit is a per visit unit. Any rate paid for furnishing personal care services to Medicaid beneficiaries does not include a cost consideration for room and board.

b. Personal Care Assistance (Consumer-Directed Model)

Reimbursement for services is made on a fee-for-service basis. The maximum allowable fee for a unit of service has been determined by MO HealthNet to be a reasonable fee, consistent with efficiency, economy, and quality of care. The total monthly payment for personal care assistance for individuals shall not exceed 60% of the average statewide monthly cost for care in a nursing institution (excluding state mental intermediate care facilities). The State payment for services shall be the lower of:

- (1) The vendor's actual charge for the services; or
- (2) The established rate per service unit as determined by the state agency.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of personal care services. The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of July 1, 2023, and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published at https://dss.mo.gov/mhd/providers/pages/cptagree.htm.

The amount of time associated with one unit of Personal Care Assistance is 15 minutes. The RN supervisory visit is a per visit unit. Any rate paid for furnishing personal care services to Medicaid beneficiaries does not include a cost consideration for room and board.