**DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES** Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

October 26, 2023

Kim Bimestefer, Executive Director Department of Health Care Policy & Financing 1570 Grant Street Denver, CO 80203

Re: Colorado State Plan Amendment (SPA) 23-0030

Dear Kim Bimestefer:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 23-0030. This amendment proposes to eliminate limits on adult dental services, which were previous capped at \$1,500 per year per member.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This letter is to inform you that Colorado Medicaid SPA 23-0030 was approved on October 25, 2023 with an effective date of July 26, 2023.

If you have any questions, please contact Michala Walker at 816-426-6503 or via email at Michala.Walker@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

James C. Scott Director

James G. Scott, Director Division of Program Operations

cc: Alex Lyons Jami Gazerro

CENTERSTOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	
	<u> </u>
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE July 26, 2023 July-1,-2023 July 26, 2023
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION Social Security Act, Section 1902(a)(30)(A)	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a FFY 2023 \$ 847,422 b. FFY 2024 \$ 3,461,415
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT	8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A – Limitations to Care and Services – Item 10 – Dental Services	OR ATTACHMENT ( <i>If Applicable</i> ) Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A – Limitations to Care and Services – Item 10 – Dental Services (TN 21-0010)
Attachment 4.19-B – Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates Other Types of Care – Item 10 – Dental Services (page 1 of 3)	Attachment 4.19-B – Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates Other Types of Care – Item 10 (21-0010)
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT Eliminates limit on adult dental services, previously capped at \$1,500 per adult Medicaid member.	
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	• OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Governor's letter dated 5 April 2023
11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL	15. RETURN TO
	Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing
12. TYPED NAME Adela Flores-Brennan	1570 Grant Street Denver, CO 80203-1818
13. TITLE	Attest Alex Luces
Medicaid Director	Attn: Alex Lyons
14. DATE SUBMITTED August 1, 2023	
FOR CMS USE ONLY	
16. DATE RECEIVED	17. DATE APPROVED
August 1, 2023	October 25, 2023
PLAN APPROVED - O	NE COPY ATTACHED
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL	19. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
July 26, 2023	
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
James G. Scott	Director, Division of Program Operations
22. REMARKS Box 4: Changes authorized by state on 10/24/23	

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

## STATE OF COLORADO

Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A

# LIMITATIONS TO CARE AND SERVICES

#### 10 Dental Services

Dental services for adults ages 21 and over are limited to the following categories of service and may require prior authorization:

- a. Routine diagnostic and preventive services:
  - I. Prophylaxis
    - i. Adult cleaning, two per twelve months
  - 2. Examinations
  - 3. Radiographs
    - i. Bitewings, one set (2-4 films) per twelve months.
    - ii. Intra-oral; complete series, one per sixty months.
    - iii. Panoramic image; with or without bitewings, one per sixty months.
- b. Restorative services
- c. Endodontic services
- d. Periodontal services
- e. Oral/maxillofacial surgery
- f. Adjunctive general services

For clients under 21 years of age, dental services are provided in accordance with the Early, Periodic, Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) service category. See Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A, section 4b.

Dental services for adults 21 years of age and older, including services for the immediate relief of severe pain, alleviation of acute infection, or necessary because of trauma, are not limited per adult Medicaid recipient per state fiscal year. Medically necessary services reimbursed under the Medical and Surgical Services Furnished by a Dentist benefit at Attachment 4.19-B, Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates – Other Types of Care, Item 5.b. Medical and Surgical Services Furnished by a Dentist, are also not limited per adult Medicaid recipient per state fiscal year.

#### STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

### STATE OF COLORADO

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B Page 1 of 3

# METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES – OTHER TYPES OF CARE

#### 10. Dental Services

- a. Dental services for adults age 21 and over shall be reimbursed at the lower of the following:
  - 1. Submitted charges or
  - 2. Dental services fee schedule as determined by the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing.
- b. Dental services for adults accessing services through the state's Home and Community-Based Services for Persons with Developmental Disabilities (HCBS-DD) and Supported Living Services (HCBS-SLS) waivers shall be based on a separate fee schedule found on the official website of the Department of the Health Care Policy and Financing at <a href="http://www.colorado.gov/hcpf">www.colorado.gov/hcpf</a>.
- c. Dental services for adults 21 years of age and older, including for services for the immediate relief of severe pain, alleviation of acute infection, or necessary because of trauma, are not limited per adult Medicaid recipient per state fiscal year. Dentures (see 4.19-B section 12.b) are not subject to limitation and are available to clients when medically necessary. Medically necessary services reimbursed under the Medical and Surgical Services Furnished by a Dentist benefit at Attachment 4.19-B, Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates Other Types of Care, Item 5.b. Medical and Surgical Services Furnished by a Dentist, are also not limited per adult Medicaid recipient per state fiscal year.

Except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The rates are effective for services on or after the date listed on the Attachment 4.19-B Introduction Page.