Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Texas

State Plan Amendment (SPA) : 23-0022

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

Approval Letter
 CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
 Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600 Chicago, Illinois 60601



Financial Management Group

September 15, 2023

Director: Stephanie Stephens State Medicaid/CHIP Director Health and Human Services Commission Mail Code: H100 Post Office Box 13247 Austin, Texas 78711

RE: Texas TN 23-0022

Dear Director: Emily Zalkovsky,

We have reviewed the proposed Texas State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B, TX#23-0022, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on June 19, 2023. The proposed amendment updates Ambulatory Surgical Center reimbursement methodology and fee schedules.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an effective date of June 1, 2023. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state plan page.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Monica Neiman at: Monica.Neiman@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,



Todd McMillion Director Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	Gills 140, 0000 0100
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE June 1, 2023
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION Social Security Act §§1902(a)(30); 42 CFR §447.201(b).	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a FFY 2023 \$ 469,359 b. FFY 2024 \$ 1,189,469
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT	8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)
Attachment 4.19-B Pages 7 (f), and 7 (g)	Attachment 4.19-B Pages 7 (f) (TN 07-028), and 7 (g) (TN 22-0038)
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT The proposed amendment updates Ambulatory Surgical Center reimbursement methodology and fee schedules.	
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	✓ OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Sent to Governor's Office this date. Comments, if any, will be forwarded upon receipt.
11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL 12. TYPED NAME Stephanie Stephens	15. RETURN TO Stephanie Stephens State Medicaid Director
13. TITLE State Medicaid Director	Post Office Box 13247, MC: H-100 Austin, Texas 78711
14. DATE SUBMITTED June 19, 2023	
FOR CMS	USE ONLY
16. DATE RECEIVED June 19, 2023	17. DATE APPROVED September 15, 2023
PLAN APPROVED - O	NE COPY ATTACHED
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL June 1, 2023	19. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL Todd McMillion	21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL Director, Division of Reimbursement Review
22. REMARKS	

16. Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs)

- (a) Subject to specifications conditions and limitations established by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) or its **designee**, payment for ambulatory surgical center (ASC) facility services provided by freestanding ASCs will be made at a percentage of the Medicare Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) fee schedule. For ASC facility services not found on the Medicare OPPS fee schedule, HHSC will apply the reimbursement methodologies as outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1. Procedure codes for durable medical equipment, supplies, drugs/biologicals, and other such services covered in an ASC are **reimbursed** in accordance with the specific reimbursement methodology applicable to each such procedure.
- (b) HHSC or its designee reimburses high-volume public and private Medicaid ASCs an additional 5.2 percent in recognition of their vital contribution to the Texas Medicaid program. To be eligible for the high-volume provider payment add-on. an ASC must have been among those ASCs statewide who received Medicaid payments during the qualification period of state fiscal year (SFY) 2004 In the top 95 percent of all Medicaid payments made to ASCs during that qualification period.
- (c) High-volume ASCs receive a 5.2 percent add-on payment for all Medicaid ASC facility services. Payments made to ASCs for durable medical equipment, supplies. drugs/biologicals and other such services are covered in an and therefore are not subject to the high-volume provider payment add-on.
- (d) Payment to a high-volume ASC for a facility service is made based on the lesser of the provider's billed charges or the published Medicaid fee, with that amount becoming the allowed amount. Since Medicaid cannot pay a provider more than its billed charges, if the billed charges are greater than the published Medicaid fee plus the 5.2 percent high-volume provider payment add-on, the Medicaid fee plus the 5.2 percent high-volume provider payment add-on is the actual payment to the provider.
- (e) Example 1:
 - (1) Billed charges = \$100.00
 - (2) Medicaid published fee = \$80.00
 - (3) Lesser of billed charges or Medicaid published fee =\$80.00 which becomes the allowed amount.
 - (4) Since the billed charges are greater than the Medicaid fee plus the 5.2% high-volume provider payment add-on (i.e., \$80.00 + \$4.16 = \$84.16), the actual payment to the provider is \$84.16.

16. Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs) (Continued)

- (f) Example 2:
 - 1. Billed charges = \$75.00
 - 2. Medicaid published fee = \$80.00
 - 3. Lesser of billed charges or Medicaid published fee = \$75.00, which becomes the allowed amount.
 - Since the billed charges are not greater than the Medicaid fee plus the 5.2 percent high-volume provider payment add-on (i.e., \$80.00 + \$4.16= \$84.16), no high-volume provider payment add-on is applied, resulting in the actual payment to the provider of \$75.00.
- (g) Example 3:
 - 1. Billed charges = \$82.00
 - 2. Medicaid published fee = \$80.00
 - 3. Lesser of billed charges or Medicaid published fee = \$80.00, which becomes the allowed amount.
 - 4. Since the billed charges are not greater than the Medicaid fee plus the 5.2 percent high-volume provider payment add-on (i.e., \$80.00 + \$4.16 = \$84.16), only part of the high-volume provider payment add-on is applied (i.e., up to the billed charges) resulting in the actual payment to the provider of \$82.00.
- (h) Medicaid payments for ASC services do not exceed Medicare payments for these same ASC services.
- (i) The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees effective June 1, 2023, and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule will be posted on the agency's website on June 15, 2023.
- (j) All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as outlined on attachment 4.19-B, page 1.