# **Table of Contents**

# State/Territory Name: CT

# State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 21-0039

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

### **DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES**

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



#### **Financial Management Group**

March 15, 2022

Deidre S. Gifford, Commissioner Department of Social Services 55 Farmington Avenue, 9<sup>th</sup> Floor Hartford, CT 06105-3730

RE: Connecticut 21-0039

Dear Commissioner Gifford:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachments 4.19-A and 4.19-B of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 21-0039. Effective November 17, 2021, this amendment implements a 4% rate increase for behavioral health providers (including licensed clinical social workers, licensed marital and family therapists, licensed professional counselors, licensed alcohol and drug counselors, psychologists, private psychiatric residential treatment facility (PRTF) and chemical maintenance clinics).

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1923 and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.

This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment TN 21-0039 is approved effective November 17, 2021. The CMS-179 and the amended plan page(s) are attached.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Novena James-Hailey at (617) 565-1291 or <u>Novena.JamesHailey@cms.hhs.gov</u> or Jerica Bennet at jerica.bennett@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,



Rory Howe Director

Enclosures

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES		
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT IN XIX XXI	
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE November 17, 2021	
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION SSA Sec. 1905(a)(6),(9),(13),(16); 42 CFR 440.60,90,130(c),160	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a FFY 2022 \$ 7 154 886 b FFY 2023 \$ 9,001,269	
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT	ENT 8 PAGENUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)	
Attachment 4.19-A, Page 28(b) Attachment 4.19-B, Pages 1(a)ii, 1(a)iv, 1(c)i, 1(d)ii Supplement 1a to Attachment 4.19-B, Page 4	Attachment 4.19-A, Page 28(b) Attachment4.19-B, Pages 1(a)ii, 1(a)iv, 1(c)i, 1(d)ii Supplement 1a to Attachment 4.19-B, Page 4	
& private PRTFs and chemical maintenance clinics. Includes pra workers, licensed marital and family therapists, licensed professi 10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED		
ONO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL		
11 SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY-OFFICIAL	5. RETURN TO State of Connecticut Department of Social Service	
12. TYPED NAME		
Deidre S. Gifford, MD, MPH	5 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor Iartford, CT 06105	
13. TITLE	itention: Ginny Mahoney	
Commissioner 14. DATE SUBMITTED		
December 30, 2021		
	USE ONLY	
16. DATE RECEIVED December 29, 2021	17. DATE APPROVED	
	March 15, 2022	
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL	19. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	
November 17, 2021		
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	1. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	
Rory Howe	Director, Financial Management Group	
22. REMARKS		
Box #14: SPA submission date confirmed to be December 29, 2021		

## Attachment 4.19-A Page 28(b) STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State of Connecticut

Pursuant to 42 C.F.R. § 431.52, PRTF services shall be provided in an out-of-state setting if medically necessary and no suitable treatment option is found in Connecticut. Payments will be made to out-of-state private PRTF providers for the delivery of PRTF services at the approved Medicaid State Plan rate paid to such provider by the Medicaid program in the state in which the provider is located. If such a rate does not exist, PRTF statewide per diem\_payments will be made by the department at the PRTF statewide per diem rate listed in item d. below to out-of state providers for the PRTF services furnished to Connecticut clients while they are out-of-state.

#### d. Payment Rates

The PRTF statewide per diem rate effective May 1, 2019 was \$610.00 per day. Effective November 17, 2021, the PRTF statewide per diem rate was increased to \$634.40 per day.

### e. Quality Standards for Increased Rate

As a condition for the payment amount of \$610.00 per day detailed above, each PRTF must (1) ensure compliance with the following elements no later than September 1, 2019 and on an ongoing basis thereafter, and (2) provide the Department of Social Services with a report documenting these elements no later than October 1, 2019. If the PRTF fails to submit this report and/or the report fails to document compliance with all of these elements, then, effective on and after May 1, 2019 the per diem rate for the provider will revert to the rate in effect as of April 30, 2019. At any time, the Department may verify the PRTF's compliance through audits and other reviews. The required elements are as follows:

- 1. Evidence-Based Treatment: PRTFs must document the specific evidence-based treatments being delivered and the plan to ensure staff are trained in the model(s).
- 2. Therapeutic Recreation: PRTFs must describe the type and expected frequency of therapeutic recreation activities in their compliance report.
- 3. Family Therapy: PRTFs must demonstrate that family therapy is a component of all treatment plans and is occurring on a regular basis for every child. Family therapy may include any person that the child and the provider deem to be a healthy and caring individual in the child's life and one that will participate in the child's progress upon discharge from the PRTF.
- 4. Transition Care Coordination: The discharge planning process must be considered from the very earliest point of admission to a PRTF. PRTFs will be required to have Transition Care Coordinators conduct home visits and maintain contact with the family/caregiver and child post discharge from the PRTF for up to sixty (60) days to increase the likelihood of a successful transition. PRTFs will be required to identify a Transition Care Coordinator that will fulfill this role and document the hours per week in this role.

TN # <u>21-0039</u>		
Supersedes		
TN # <u>19-0015</u>		

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State <u>Connecticut</u>

- (6) Medical care or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. Fixed fee methodologies are summarized below.
  - (a) Podiatrists Podiatrists 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2016 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.
  - (b) Optometrists 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2016 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.
  - (c) Chiropractors 100% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2012 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for chiropractors can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.
  - (d) Other licensed practitioners -

(i) Psychologists – The current fee schedule was set as of November 17, 2021 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for psychologists can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>.
From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.

Approval Date March 15, 2022 Effective Date 11/17/2021

TN # <u>21-0039</u> Supersedes TN # <u>21-0035</u>

- (v) Licensed behavioral health practitioners to include licensed clinical social workers, licensed marital and family therapists, licensed professional counselors, and licensed alcohol and drug counselors. The fee schedule for licensed behavioral health practitioners can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." The agency's rates were set as of November 17, 2021 and are effective for services on or after that date. Rates are the same for private and governmental providers and are published at <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>.
- (vi) Physician assistants 90% of the department's fees for physicians, as referenced in (5) above, except for physician-administered drugs and supplies, which are reimbursed at 100% of the physician fees.

Physician assistants working in a physician group or a solo physician practice are eligible to participate in the Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) initiative detailed in (5) above under Physician's Services as part of the physician group or solo physician practice under the Physician's Services section of the State Plan in Section (5) above.

TN # <u>21-0039</u> Supersedes TN # <u>19-0003</u> Approval Date March 15, 2022

Effective Date <u>11/17/2021</u>

## Attachment 4.19-B Page 1(c)i STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State of <u>Connecticut</u>

(e) <u>Behavioral Health Clinics</u>: (e.1) **Private Behavioral Health Clinics.** Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of behavioral health clinic services. The agency's fee schedule rates for private behavioral health clinic services were set as of November 17, 2021 and are effective for services on or after that date. Fees for services provided to individuals 18 years of age and over will be 95% of the published fee. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>https://www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.

Effective January 1, 2012 the Department established a separate fee schedule for private behavioral health clinics that meet special access and quality standards and such fees are higher than the fees available to clinics that do not meet such special standards. These clinics must accept all (100%) telephonic and walk-in referrals that present during business hours. All referrals must be screened by a trained intake worker or clinician and triaged to determine whether the referral is emergent, urgent or routine. A clinician must evaluate a client who presents at the clinic with an emergent condition within two (2) hours. Clients that undergo telephonic or walk-in screening and are determined to be in urgent need of services must be offered an appointment for an urgent face-to-face clinical evaluation with a clinician to take place within two (2) calendar days of the screening. Clients that undergo telephonic or walk-in screening and are determined to have routine needs must be offered an appointment for a routine face-to-face clinical evaluation with a clinician to take place within 14 calendar days of the screening. These clinics must have at least nine (9) extended hours per week beyond routine business hours of 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM. Providers that are designated Enhanced Care Clinics and have a valid Letter of Agreement with the Department that holds them accountable to the quality standards and access standards receive the enhanced rate for all routine outpatient services provided. The state monitors the access standards on a routine basis and provides access standard reports to the providers on a quarterly basis. The state has established a process for providers to submit corrective action plans (CAPs) if they do not meet the access standards for any reason except in increase in volume in excess of 20% compared to the same quarter of the previous year. All Enhanced Care Clinics must electronically register appointments made with the Administrative Services Organization (ASO).

 0039
 Approval Date March 15, 2022
 Effective Date 11-17-2021

 es
 0007

TN # <u>21-0039</u> Supersedes TN # 21-0007

# STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State <u>Connecticut</u>

1. Chemical maintenance clinic providers shall be reimbursed based on the following provider-specific reimbursement schedule (and in accordance with the provisions detailed above):

CHEMICAL MAINTENANCE PROVIDER	WEEKLY RATE	
NAME	FOR 7 DOSES	
APT FOUNDATION INC	\$103.47	
CHEMICAL ABUSE SERVICES AGENCY	\$92.09	
COMMUNITY HEALTH RESOURCES, INC		
A/K/A COMMUNITY PREVENTION AND	\$101.02	
ADDICTION SVCS		
COMMUNITY SUBSTANCE ABUSE CENTERS	\$100.12	
INC	\$100.12	
CONNECTICUT COUNSELING CENTERS INC	\$94.74	
HARTFORD DISPENSARY	\$92.09	
LIBERATION PROGRAMS INC	\$92.09	
NEW ERA REHABILITATION CENTER	\$92.09	
REGIONAL NETWORK OF PROGRAMS	\$99.83	
MINIMUM RATE; RATE FOR NEW CHEMICAL		
MAINTENANCE CLINICS (Newly licensed on or	\$92.09	
after February 1, 2018) and RATE FOR BORDER \$92.09		
PROVIDERS		

TN # <u>21-0039</u> Supersedes TN # <u>19-0024</u> Approval Date March 15, 2022

Effective Date <u>11/17/2021</u>

Supplement 1a to Attachment 4.19-B Page 4

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT STATE <u>CONNECTICUT</u>

#### 13. c. Preventive Services

#### Services to Treat Autism Spectrum Disorders Pursuant to EPSDT

Fees for services to treat autism spectrum disorders pursuant to EPSDT were set as of November 17, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedules can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download" and select the fee schedule applicable to the qualified provider. Fees are the same for governmental and private providers.

TN # <u>21-0039</u> Supersedes TN # <u>19-0003</u> Approval Date March 15, 2022

Effective Date <u>11-17-2021</u>