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Department of Health & Human Services 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 
Baltimore, Maryland   21244-1850 

Financial Management Group

September 13, 2021 

Lynnette R. Rhodes, Esq.  
Executive Director, Medical Assistance Plans  
Department of Community Health  
2 Peachtree St., 36th Floor Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3159 

RE: State Plan Amendment (SPA) 21-0007 

Dear Ms. Rhodes:   

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan 
submitted under transmittal number 21-0007. Effective July 1, 2021, this amendment proposes to 
increase the rates for specialized nursing home mechanical ventilator care. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the 
implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We have found that the proposed 
reimbursement methodology complies with applicable requirements and therefore have approved 
them with an effective date of July 1, 2021. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended 
approved plan pages. 

If you have any questions, please contact Fredrick Sebree at Fredrick.sebree@cms.hhs.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Rory Howe 
Acting Director 

For







Attachment 4.19-D 
Page 34 

State: Georgia 

TN No. 21-0007 
Supersedes Approval Date:_________________ Effective Date: July 1, 2021 
TN No. 20-0009 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES- 

NURSING FACILITY SERVICES 

2. Nursing Facility Rate Determination for Ventilator Dependent Residents

(1) Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2019, the nursing facility per diem for a

ventilator dependent resident will be $540.55.

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2020, the nursing facility per diem for a

ventilator dependent resident will be $556.77.

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2021, the nursing facility per diem for a

ventilator dependent resident will be $589.62.

(2) The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent residents shall be

maintained separately (as a distinct part) of each facility’s annual cost report beginning

November 13, 2009.

(3) Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care services and will

be all-inclusive.

(4) No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be allowed until

the service is prior authorized by the Department’s Medical Management Contractor.

(5) The resident’s clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to determine if the

resident’s medical condition continues to warrant services at the ventilator dependent

nursing facility rate. Prior authorization through the Department’s Medical Management

Contractor spans a 90-day maximum time period.  The nursing facility is required to

resubmit requests for continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA.  If a resident no

longer requires the use of a ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional

reimbursement beyond the Georgia Medicaid nursing home per diem rate determined for

the facility.

September 13, 2021
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State: Georgia 

TN No.  21-0007 
Supersedes Approval Date:_________________ Effective Date: July 1, 2021 
TN No. 20-0009 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES- 

NURSING FACILITY SERVICES 

NURSING FACILITY RATE DETERMINATIONS FOR VENTILATOR DEPENDENT 

RESIDENTS 

(1) Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2019, the nursing facility per diem for a

ventilator dependent resident will be $540.55.

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2020, the nursing facility per diem for a

ventilator dependent resident will be $556.77.

Effective for dates of service on and after July 1, 2021, the nursing facility per diem for a

ventilator dependent resident will be $589.62.

(2) The per diem costs of providing services to the ventilator dependent residents shall be

maintained separately (as a distinct part) of each facility’s annual cost report beginning

November 13, 2009.

(3) Ventilator dependent per diem rates will cover all skilled nursing care services and will

be all-inclusive.

(4) No additional amount above the current nursing facility daily rate shall be allowed until

the service is prior authorized by the Department’s Medical Management Contractor.

(5) The resident’s clinical condition shall be reviewed every 90 days to determine if the

resident’s medical condition continues to warrant services at the ventilator dependent

nursing facility rate. Prior authorization through the Department’s Medical Management

Contractor spans a 90-day maximum time period.  The nursing facility is required to

resubmit requests for continued stay prior to expiration of the current PA.  If a resident no

longer requires the use of a ventilator, the provider shall not receive additional

reimbursement beyond the Georgia Medicaid nursing home per diem rate determined for

the facility.

September 13, 2021




