# **Table of Contents**

## State/Territory Name: New Jersey

## State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 20-0013

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages



#### **Financial Management Group**

March 24, 2021

Jennifer Jacobs Assistant Commissioner Department of Human Services Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services State of New Jersey P.O. Box 712 Trenton, New Jersey 08625

RE: State Plan Amendment (SPA) TN 20-0013

Dear Ms. Jacobs:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State Plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 20-0013. Effective October 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021, this amendment authorizes a ten percent (10%) increasing adjustment to reimbursement rates for Class I, Class II and Class III nursing facilities.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30) and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR Part 447. This letter is to inform you that New Jersey 20-0013 is approved effective October 1, 2020. The CMS-179 and approved plan pages are enclosed.

If you have any questions, please contact Novena James-Hailey at (617) 565-1291 or Novena.JamesHailey@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

For

Rory Howe Acting Director

Enclosures

| DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES<br>CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES |   | FORM APPROVED<br>OMB NO. 0938-0193 |  |
|---|---|------------------------------------|--|
| TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF   | 1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:                            | 2. STATE                           |  |
| STATE PLAN MATERIAL   | 20-0013 MA NJ                                     | New Jersey                         |  |
| FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES                                       | 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TI                     |                                    |  |
|   | SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (I                            | MEDICAID)                          |  |
| TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR  | 4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE                        |                                    |  |
| CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES  | October 1, 2020                                   |                                    |  |
| DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES   |   |                                    |  |
| 5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):   |   |                                    |  |
| □ NEW STATE PLAN □ AMENDMENT TO BE O  | CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN                            | AMENDMENT                          |  |
| COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AME   |   | amendment)                         |  |
| 6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:   | 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT                          |                                    |  |
| Social Security Act Section 1902(a)(13)   | FFY 2021 \$ 12.1 M<br>FFY 2022 \$ 0               |                                    |  |
| 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:                                     | 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERS                      |                                    |  |
|   | OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):                    |                                    |  |
| Attachment 4.19-D Page 37-38  | new<br>Same                                       |                                    |  |
| Attachment 4.19-D Page 1  | Same  |                                    |  |
|   |   |                                    |  |
| 10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:<br>SFY 2021 Nursing Facility Reimbursement                  |   |                                    |  |
| 11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):  |   |                                    |  |
| GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT   | OTHER, AS SPEC                                    |                                    |  |
| COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED  | Not required, pursuan                             | t to 7.4 of the Plan               |  |
|   |   |                                    |  |
| 12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:   | 16. RETURN TO:                                    |                                    |  |
|   | lennifer Longer Joseho Acc                        | latant                             |  |
|   | Jennifer Langer Jacobs, Assistant<br>Commissioner |                                    |  |
| 0   | Division of Medical Assistance and Health         |                                    |  |
| 13. TYPED NAME: Carole Johnson  | Services  |                                    |  |
| 14. TITLE: Commissioner   | P.O. Box 712, #26                                 |                                    |  |
|   | Trenton, NJ 08625-0712                            |                                    |  |
| 15. DATE SUBMITTED:<br>12/31/20   | ,   |                                    |  |
| FOR REGIONAL OF   |   |                                    |  |
| 17. DATE RECEIVED: 12/31/2020   | 18. DATE APPROVED: 3/24/21                        |                                    |  |
| PLAN APPROVED – ON  |   |                                    |  |
| 19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:  | 20 SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OF                       | FICIAL:                            |  |
| 10/01/2020  |   | For                                |  |
| 21. TYPED NAME: Rory Howe   | 22. TITLE: Acting Director                        |                                    |  |
| 23. REMARKS:  |   |                                    |  |
|   |   |                                    |  |
|   |   |                                    |  |
|   |   |                                    |  |
|   |   |                                    |  |
|   |   |                                    |  |
|   |   |                                    |  |
|   |   |                                    |  |
|   |   |                                    |  |

#### Attachment 4.19-D Page 1

## NURSING FACILITY REIMBURSEMENT COST REPORT, RATE CALCULATION AND REPORTING SYSTEM FOR LONG-TERM CARE FACILITIES

## NURSING FACILITY REIMBURSEMENT

The State has in place a public process which complies with the requirements of Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social Security Act

| Section 1  | Purpose and scope   | Page 2 |
|------------|---|--------|
| Section 2  | Cost report preparation and timing of submission            | 2      |
| Section 3  | Rate classes  | 4      |
| Section 4  | Resident rosters and case mix index calculation             | 4      |
| Section 5  | Fringed costs   | 6      |
| Section 6  | Inflation   | 7      |
| Section 7  | Case mix rate components                                    | 7      |
| Section 8  | Limit and price database                                    | 10     |
| Section 9  | Limit and price calculation                                 | 11     |
| Section 10 | Direct care and operating and administrative rate component | 13     |
| Section 11 | Fair rental value rate allowance                            | 14     |
| Section 12 | Adjustments and pass-throughs                               | 17     |
| Section 13 | Total adjusted case mix rate                                | 17     |
| Section 14 | Full cost rates   | 21     |
| Section 15 | Special Care Nursing Facility (SCNF) rates                  | 24     |
| Section 16 | Phase in of case mix rates                                  | 25     |
| Section 17 | Appeals process   | 25     |
| Section 18 | Transfer of ownership and new facilities                    | 26     |
| Section 19 | Effect of Federal rules incorporated by reference           | 27     |
| Section 20 | Final audited rate calculation                              | 27     |
| Section 21 | Payment Limitations   | 28     |
| Section 22 | Payments for Medical Assistance Recipients 20-0013-N        | 29-38  |

#### **CONTENTS**

TN: 20-0013 Supersedes TN: 19-0010 20-0013-MA (NJ) Effective Date: October 1, 2020 Approval Date: 3/24/21

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT NURSING HOME REIMBURSEMENT

## STATE: New Jersey

## NURSING HOME REIMBURSEMENT

a. From October 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021, the reimbursement rate for Class I, Class II, and Class III nursing facilities shall be equal to the rate received on September 30, 2020, plus a 10 percent adjustment. Each facility shall use no less than 60 percent of the rate adjustment provided under this section for the sole purpose of increasing wages or supplemental pay for certified nurse aides providing direct care. The remainder of the rate adjustment shall be used for other costs related to coronavirus disease 2019 preparedness and response, including enhancing infection control measures, cleaning, reconfiguration of the facility to support cohorting, procurement of personal protective equipment, testing, or other staff wages and needs.

b. To ensure compliance with the provisions of this section, any facility receiving the rate adjustment pursuant to this section shall provide:

(1) wage and cost data in a manner and form prescribed by the Commissioner of Human Services; and

(2) attestations from the facility owner of adherence to the following infection control protocols, which shall be submitted in a manner and form as shall be prescribed the Commissioner of Health, and which may be required on an ongoing basis:

(a) the facility has an outbreak response plan in place which shall be made available to the public through the facility's Internet website and include effective communication methods for conveying information concerning outbreaks of infectious diseases consistent with guidance issued by the Department of Health;

(b) the facility has used the personal protective equipment burn ratecalculator made available by the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and:

> (i) if the facility is not part of a system with eight or more facilities, the facility has at least a two-month supply of personal protective equipment on hand,

> (ii) if the facility is part of a system of eight or more facilities, the facility has at least a one-month supply of personal protective equipment on hand;

(c) the facility has registered with the Department of Health, authorized the

TN <u>20-0013</u>

Supersedes TN <u>NEW</u>

Approval Date: 3/24/21\_\_\_\_\_

Effective Date: October 1, 2020

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT NURSING HOME REIMBURSEMENT

## STATE: New Jersey

department to access data, and is providing required information; and
(d) the facility has implemented a respiratory protection program that complies with the respiratory protection standard for employees established by the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration, including fit testing and training in donning and doffing personal protective equipment.

c. A facility that fails to meet any requirement listed above shall be subject to a retroactive penalty not to exceed the total value of the rate adjustment. Any attestation required under paragraph (2) of subsection b. of this section that is filed after a deadline established by the Department of Health or June 30, 2021, whichever is earlier, shall be considered a failure to meet the requirements of this section.

A facility that fails to meet the requirements around enhanced compensation for certified nurse aides shall be subject to a penalty up to 6 percent of the facility's rate effective September 30, 2020 multiplied by the total volume of Medicaid days from October 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021, including both fee-for-service and managed care. Additionally, a facility that fails to meet the requirements around adherence to infection control protocols shall be subject to a penalty up to 4 percent of the facility's rate effective September 30, 2020 multiplied by the total volume of Medicaid days from October 1, 2020 to June 30, 2020 multiplied by the total volume of Medicaid days from October 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021, including both fee-for-service and managed care. A facility that fails to meet both of the aforementioned requirements shall be subject to a penalty up to 10 percent of the facility's rate effective September 30, 2020 multiplied by the total volume 30, 2020 multiplied by the total volume of Medicaid days from October 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021, including both fee-for-service and managed care. A facility that fails to meet both of the aforementioned requirements shall be subject to a penalty up to 10 percent of the facility's rate effective September 30, 2020 multiplied by the total volume of Medicaid days from October 1, 2020 to June 30, 2020 multiplied by the total volume of Medicaid care.

TN 20-0013

Supersedes TN <u>NEW</u>

Approval Date: <u>3/24/21</u>

Effective Date: October 1, 2020