## **Table of Contents**

**State/Territory Name: Colorado** 

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 20-0017

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

#### DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 Baltimore, MD 21244-1850



### **Financial Management Group**

September 18, 2020

Tracy Johnson Medicaid Director Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing 1570 Grant Street Denver, CO 80203-1818

Re: Colorado 20-0017

Dear Ms. Johnson,

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 20-0017. Effective for services on or after July 1, 2020, this amendment updates the methodology for existing, supplemental payments for nursing facilities (NFs). Specifically, the modifications made under this amendment will ensure that payments made to qualifying NFs, for state fiscal year (SFY) 2020-2021, are not unintentionally reduced as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the subsequent reduction in the number of Minimum Data Set (MDS) assessments being completed.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30) and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are pleased to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment TN 20-0017 is approved effective July 1, 2020. The CMS-179 and the amended plan pages are attached.

If you have any questions, please contact Christine Storey at (303) 844-7044.

Sincerely,

For Rory Howe Acting Director

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE:		
OF STATE DI ANIMATERIAL	20 – 0017	COLORADO		
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION:			
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECU	JRITY ACT (MEDICAID)		
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE:			
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	July 1, 2020			
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):				
NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED	AS A NEW PLAN X AMENDM	MENT		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AM	IENDMENT (Separate transmittal for each am	endment)		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:			
Social Security Act Section 1905(a)(4)(A) / 42 CFR 440.155	a. FFY 2019-20: \$ 0 b. FFY 2020-21: \$ 0			
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEI ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):	DED PLAN SECTION OR		
Attachment 4.19-D – Nursing Facility Benefits – Supplemental Medicaid Payment for Class 1 Nursing	Attachment 4.19-D – Nursing Fa	-		
Facility Providers – Cognitive Performance Scale	Supplemental Medicaid Payment for Class 1 Nursing Facility Providers – Cognitive Performance Scale			
Supplemental Payment, Preadmission Screening and Resident Review II Resident Supplemental Medicaid	Supplemental Payment & Pread			
Payment, and Preadmission Screening and Resident	Resident Review II Resident Su	• •		
Review II Facility Supplemental Medicaid Payment – Page	Payment, and Preadmission Sc Review II Facility Supplemental	•		
35 & 36 of 66	35 & 36 of 66 (TN# 19-0003)	mouloula r aymont - r ago		
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:				
Adds to the Cognitive Performance Scale Supplemental Payment section a new provision, effective April 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2020, permitting a one-time revision for State Fiscal Year 2020-2021 to pull Minimum Data Set (MDS) data that is most recent and unaffected by Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) emergency procedure. The Amendment also adds to the Preadmission Screening and Resident Review II Resident Supplemental Medicaid Payment and Preadmission Screening and Resident Review II Facility Supplemental Medicaid Payment sections a new provision, effective April 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2020, permitting a one-time revision State Fiscal Year 2020-2021 to pull data from the previous 365 calendar days, ending March 1, 2020, to account for COVID-19 delays for MDS submissions.				
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):				
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT X OT	HER, AS SPECIFIED			
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED GO	vernor's letter dated 11 October, 2019			
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL				
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:			
	Colorado Department of Health 1570 Grant Street Denver, CO 80203-1818	Care Policy and Financing		
13. TYPED NAME:	Attn: Lauren Reveley			
Tracy Johnson				
14. TITLE:				
Medicaid Director	_			
15. DATE SUBMITTED: June 29, 2020				
FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY				
17. DATE RECEIVED	18. DATE APPROVED 9/18/20			

PLAN APPROVED – ONE COPY ATTACHED			
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL  For		
21. TYPED NAME  Rory Howe	22. TITLE Acting Director, FMG		
23. REMARKS	really billoctor, I mo		

FORM CMS-179 (07/92)

Instructions on Back

# STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM STATE OF COLORADO

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D Page 35

- 5. A CPS score of 4, 5, or 6 shall be determined based on a Medicaid resident's score on the CPS used in the RUG-III classification system reported on the MDS assessment.
- 6. A Medicaid resident shall be included if they have an active MDS assessment on a nursing facility provider's most recent April roster.
  - a. Effective April 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2020, a one-time revision will be exercised for State Fiscal Year 2020-2021 to pull MDS data that is most recent and unaffected by Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) emergency procedures.
- 7. For non-state administered nursing facility providers the amount shall be divided by twelve and reimbursed monthly via Automated Clearing House (ACH) transaction or check. For state administered nursing facility providers the amount shall be divided by four and reimbursed quarterly via intergovernmental transfer.

### Preadmission Screening and Resident Review II Resident Supplemental Medicaid Payment

The Department shall make a supplemental Medicaid payment to nursing facility providers who serve residents with severe mental health conditions that are classified at Level II by the Medicaid program's Preadmission Screening and Resident Review (PASRR) tool.

(Medicaid PASRR II Resident Count\* Days in Prior Calendar Year) \* (2.00% \* Statewide Average MMIS Per Diem Reimbursement Rate)

- 1. Annually, the Department shall calculate the payment by multiplying a PASRR II per diem rate by Medicaid PASRR II days.
- 2. The PASRR II per diem rate shall equal 2.00% of the statewide MMIS per diem reimbursement rate as of July 1 of the state fiscal year.
- 3. Medicaid PASRR II days shall be the count of Medicaid PASRR II residents multiplied by the days in the calendar year ending prior to the state fiscal year.
- 4. A Medicaid PASRR II resident shall be determined based on the most recently completed MDS assessment occurring during the previous 365 days ending May 1 of the prior state fiscal year.
  - a. Effective April 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2020, a one-time revision will be exercised for State Fiscal Year 2020-2021 to pull data from the previous 365 calendar days ending March 1, 2020 to account for COVID-19 delays for MDS submissions
- 5. For non-state administered nursing facility providers the amount shall be divided by twelve and reimbursed monthly via ACH transaction or check. For state administered nursing facility providers the amount shall be divided by four and reimbursed quarterly via intergovernmental transfer.

#### Preadmission Screening and Resident Review II Facility Supplemental Medicaid Payment

The Department shall pay a supplemental Medicaid payment to facilities that offer specialized behavioral services to residents who have severe behavioral health needs. These services shall include enhanced staffing, training, and programs designed to increase the resident's skills for successful community reintegration.

TN No	20-0017	Approval Date <u>9/18/20</u>	
Supersedes T	N No. <u>19-0003</u>	Effective Date	7/1/2020

# STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM STATE OF COLORADO

ATTACHMENT 4.19-D Page 36

If specialized behavioral services nursing facility provider then: (Medicaid PASRR II Resident Count \* Days in Prior Calendar Year) \* (2.00% \* Statewide Average MMIS Per Diem Reimbursement Rate)

- 1. Annually, the Department shall determine those nursing facility providers with a specialized behavioral services program. A nursing facility provider has a specialized behavioral services program if they can demonstrate annually that they provide additional staff training/credentialing, therapeutic groups and work programs, life skills training, community reintegration efforts, and a Memorandum of Understanding with local mental health providers in March of the prior state fiscal year.
- 2. For those nursing facility providers with a specialized behavioral services program, the Department shall calculate the payment by multiplying a PASRR II per diem rate by Medicaid PASRR II days.
- 3. The PASRR II per diem rate shall equal 2.00% of the statewide MMIS per diem reimbursement rate as of July 1 of the state fiscal year.
- 4 Medicaid PASRR II days shall equal the count of PASRR II residents on May 1, multiplied by the days in the calendar year ending prior to the state fiscal year.
- 5. A Medicaid PASRR II resident shall be determined based on the most recently completed MDS assessment occurring during the previous 365 days ending May 1 of the prior state fiscal year.
  - a. Effective April 1, 2020 and ending June 30, 2020, a one-time revision will be exercised for State Fiscal Year 2020-2021 to pull data from the previous 365 calendar days ending March 1, 2020 to account for COVID-19 delays for MDS submissions.
- 6. For non-state administered nursing facility providers the amount shall be divided by twelve and reimbursed monthly via ACH transaction or check. For state administered nursing facility providers the amount shall be divided by four and reimbursed quarterly via intergovernmental transfer.

#### Medicaid Utilization Supplemental Medicaid Payment

The Department shall pay a nursing facility provider a supplemental Medicaid payment for care and services rendered to Medicaid residents.

- 1. Annually, the Department shall calculate the percentage of Medicaid patient days to total patient days.
- 2. The percentage of Medicaid patient days shall then be multiplied by the Provider Fee.
- 3. Percentage of Medicaid patient days shall be Medicaid patient days divided by total patient days.
- 4. Medicaid patient days shall be from the MMIS for the calendar year prior the state fiscal year. Total patient days shall be from the nursing facility provider for the calendar year.

TN No	<u>20-0017</u>	Approval Date <u>9/18/20</u>	
Supersedes TN No	). <u>19-0003</u>	Effective Date 7/1/	2020