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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Se1vices 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missomi 64106 

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

March 1, 2024 

Susan Birch, HCA Director and Interim Medicaid Di.J:ector 
Health Care Authority 
PO Box45502 
Olympia, WA 98504-5010 

Re: Washington State Plan Amendment (SPA) 24-0006 

Dear Director Birch: 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICi\lD & CHIP SERVICES 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Se1v ices (CMS) reviewed yom Medicaid State Plan 
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 24-0006. This amendment 
proposes to increase the total compensated amount on all claim types to $250.00 in accordance 
with Title 42, Chapter IV, Subchapter C, Pait 433 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statuto1y requirements in 1902a of the 
Social Security Act, 42 CFR Part IV Sub C Sect 433. This letter is to inform you that 
Washington Medicaid SP A 24-0006 was approved on March 1, 2024, with an effective date of 
Januaiy 1, 2024. 

If you have any questions, please contact Edwin Walaszek at 212-616-2512 or vi.a email at 
Edwin. Walaszekl@cms.hhs.gov 

Sincerely, 
Digitally signed by James G. 
Scott-S 
Date: 2024.03.01 12:30:30 
-06'00' 

Jan1es G. Scott, Director 
Division of Program Operations 

cc: Ann Myers, Section Manager & State Plan Coordinator, Health Cai·e Authority 



DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STA TE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE 

2 4 _ Q 0 0 6 WA 
-- - --- --

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT (e) XIX 0 XXI 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 
January 1, 2024 

FORM APPROVED 
0MB No. 0938-0193 

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) 
a FFY 2024 $ 0 1902a of the Social Security Act 42 CFR Part IV Sub C Sect 433 
b. FFY ~9;:!§ 2025 $ 0 

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 

Attachment 4.22-8 page 2 

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT 

Third Party Liability Updates 

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) 

0 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 

0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 

0 NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUB MITT AL 

E AGENCY OFFICIAL 

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) 

Attachment 4.22-8 page 2 (TN# 20-0017) 

@ OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Exempt 

15. RETURN TO 

_ _ ____________ ...,. State Plan Coordinator 
1 . TYPED NAME PO8 42716 

_s_u_sa_n_E_._8_ir_c_h,_M_8_A_,_8_S_N_, _R_N __________ .... o lympia, WA 98504-2716 
13. TITLE 
Director and Acting Medicaid Director 
14. DATE SUBMITTED 
February 20, 2024 

16. DATE RECEIVED 

Februa 20 2024 

FOR CMS USE ONLY 
17. DATE APPROVED 

March 1, 2024 
PLAN APPROVED · ONE COPY A TTACHED 

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 

January 1, 2024 
19. SIG OVING OFFICIAL 

20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

James G. Scott 

22. REMARKS 

2/27/24:State authorizes the following pen and ink changes: 
-Box 6.B: Change 2925 to 2025 

Digitally signed by James G. Scott -S 
Date: 2024.03.01 12:30:56 -06'00' 

21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

Director, Division of Program Operations 

FORM CMS-179 (09/24) Instructions on Back 



REVISION:         ATTACHMENT 4.22-B 
          Page 2 
 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
 

   State   WASHINGTON     
              
 

TN#  24-0006   Approval Date: 3/1/2024  Effective Date: 1/1/2024 
Supersedes 
TN#  20-0017 

Requirement for Third Party Liability – Payment of Claims 
 

1. The method to determine compliance with requirements of Section 433.139(b)(3)(ii)(c) is as 
follows: The State Plan as referenced herein requires providers to bill third parties. In a case 
where medical support is being enforced by the state Title IV-D Agency, the provider will be 
required to submit written documentation that he has billed the third party and has not received 
payment from the third party. It must be at least 100 days from the date of service before the 
state will pay. 

 
The Medicaid agency pays for medical services and seeks reimbursement from a liable third party 
when the claim is for preventive pediatric services as covered under the early and periodic screening, 
diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) program contained in Section 433.139(b)(3)(i).  If the preventive 
pediatric service is identified in the MMIS as cost-avoidance based on cost-effectiveness or access to 
care, section 53102(a)(1) of the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 warrants cost-avoidance for 90 days. 

 
State laws are in effect that require third parties to comply with the provisions of 1902(a)(25)(I) of 
the Social Security Act, including those which require third parties to provide the state with 
coverage, eligibility, and claims data. 

 
2. Claims for medical services, unless identified under existing state regulations regarding recovery 

of Agency-paid claims from clients’ primary insurance carriers, are cost-avoided when a third 
party liability (TPL) policy exists within the MMIS (the state’s Medicaid payment system known as 
ProviderOne) that matches the benefit coverage-type and service date.  Claims paid by the 
Agency prior to the TPL policy being entered into the MMIS are pursued for recovery through an 
invoice submitted to the primary insurance carrier.  The cost-effectiveness threshold to pursue 
recovery on a health insurance claim is monitored by the MMIS and invoices claims to the 
primary carrier if the total claim paid amount is $15.00 or more.  

 
Generally, casualty insurance claims are pursued for recovery.  Paid claims related to an 
accident/Injury on a Medicaid client are manually reviewed.  The cumulative paid amount on the 
claim(s) must exceed $ 250.00 to open a casualty case file on the injured client.  Additionally, 
MMIS automatically reviews the paid amount on an accident- or injury-related claim and initiates 
a Treatment Questionnaire (TQ) letter to the client if the total claim payment is $ 250.00 or more. 

 
3. The agency will seek recovery from the third party within 60 days after the end of the month in 

which payment was made. This does not apply to exceptions for Good Cause or Confidential 
Services cases. Good Cause and Confidential Services cases include Title IV-D domestic 
violence cases and certain clients with STD/HIV, pregnancy, or abortion-related 
services/diagnosis. The agency will also seek recovery within 60 days of the date the agency 
learns of the existence of a third party or when benefits become available. Claims identified under 
4.22-B page 1 (1.) should follow the specified 90 to 100 day waiting period before initiating 
recovery. 

 
4. When the Agency has determined a sum certain receivable amount has been validated and the 

third party fails to make payment, after 90 days the Agency refers the case to the Department of 
Social and Health Services’ Office of Financial Recovery for formal collection activities. These  




