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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid 
Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106  

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

February 28, 2023
 
Susan Birch, Director 
Dr. Charissa Fotinos, Medicaid Director
Health Care Authority 
PO Box 45502 
Olympia, WA 98504-5010 
 
Re: Washington State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 22-0032 
 
Dear Susan Birch and Dr. Fotinos: 
 
We reviewed your proposed Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal 
number (TN) WA 22-0032. This amendment updates the requirements in the Medicaid State 
Plan for licensed mental health professionals who provide outpatient mental health services to 
clients eighteen years of age and younger. 
 
We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations at 1902(a) of the Act. This letter is to 
inform you that Washington Medicaid SPA TN 22-0032 is approved, February 28, 2023, with an 
effective date of October 1, 2022. 
 
If you have any questions, please contact Edwin Walaszek at 212-616-2512 or via email at 
Edwin.Walaszek1@cms.hhs.gov.

  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
      Ruth A. Hughes, Acting Director 

  Division of Program Operations

Enclosures

cc: Ann Myers-ann.myers@hca.wa.gov
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
 

State  WASHINGTON     

AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL 
CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

____________________________________________________________________________ 
TN# 22-0032    Approval Date: 2/28/2023 Effective Date: 10/1/2022 
Supersedes TN# 20-0029 

6. Other Practitioners Services
 
 Medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed 

practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law 
 
 a. Podiatrists’ services   

(1) Foot care is covered only for specific medical conditions that must be treated by a podiatrist.
 
(2) Reimbursement is according to Attachment 4.19-B III. Physicians’ Services.  

 
b. Optometrists’ services 

(1) The Medicaid agency covers medically necessary eye examinations, refractions, and fitting fees 
every 24 months for asymptomatic adults 21 years or older.  

 
(2) Exceptions will be considered for all individuals based on medical necessity.  
 
(3) For clients under 21 years of age, services will be provided in accordance with EPSDT 

requirements at 1905(r), subject to determination of medical necessity and prior authorization by 
the Medicaid agency.  

 
 c. Other practitioners’ services  

(1) All other practitioners covered by the Medicaid agency include, but are not limited to, the following 
licensed practitioners: pharmacists, naturopathic physicians (services are limited to physician-
related primary care services), physician assistants, advanced registered nurse practitioners 
including certified registered nurse anesthetists, psychologists, dental hygienists, denturists, 
chiropractors (for EPSDT only), opticians, and licensed non-nurse midwives,  These practitioners 
are limited to services within their scope of practice and specialty area.  

 Pharmacy interns and pharmacy technicians may furnish services in accordance with 
their professional scope of practice in accordance with state law. 

 Pharmacies are qualified providers of COVID-19 vaccinations per the HHS COVID-19 
PREP Act Declaration and authorizations. 

 
(2) Counselors, social workers, and other practitioners are covered as specified in other sections of 

the State Plan and as approved by the Medicaid agency. 
 

(3) Mental health outpatient services may be provided by the following providers licensed by the 
state under 42 CFR 440.060(a): Licensed Psychologists; Licensed Psychiatric Advanced Nurse 
Practitioners; Licensed Independent Clinical Social Workers; Licensed Advance Social Workers; 
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists; and Licensed Mental Health Counselors. 

 
To diagnose and treat clients eighteen years of age and younger, the practitioner must be listed 
above and must:  
a. Meet state requirements for a Children’s Mental Health Specialist; or 
b. Be working under the supervision of a licensed practitioner listed above who meets the 

state requirement for a Children’s Mental Health Specialist. 
 

 Mental health payment rates methodology is in accordance with Attachment 4.19-B. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
 

  State  WASHINGTON 

AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE 
MEDICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S):  ALL   

____________________________________________________________________________ 
TN# 22-0032    Approval Date:  2/28/2023 Effective Date: 10/1/2022 
Supersedes TN# 20-0029 

6. d.Other practitioners’ services
  

(1) All other practitioners covered by the department include, but are not limited to, the following licensed 
practitioners: pharmacists, naturopathic physicians (services are limited to physician-related primary 
care services), physician assistants, advanced registered nurse practitioners including certified 
registered nurse anesthetists, psychologists, dental hygienists, denturists, chiropractors (for EPSDT 
only), opticians, and licensed non-nurse midwives,  These practitioners are limited to services within 
their scope of practice and specialty area. 

 Pharmacy interns and pharmacy technicians may furnish services in accordance with their 
professional scope of practice in accordance with state law. 

 Pharmacies are qualified providers of COVID-19 vaccinations per the HHS COVID-19 PREP Act 
Declaration and authorizations. 

 
(2) Counselors, social workers, and other practitioners are covered as specified in other sections of the 

State Plan and as approved by the department. 
 

(3) Mental health outpatient services may be provided by the following providers licensed by the state 
under 42 CFR 440.060(a): Licensed Psychologists; Licensed Psychiatric Advanced Nurse Practitioners; 
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Workers; Licensed Advanced Social Workers; Licensed Marriage 
and Family Therapists; and Licensed Mental Health Counselors. 

 
To diagnose and treat clients eighteen years of age and younger, the practitioner must be listed above 
and must:  
a. Meet state requirements for a Children’s Mental Health Specialist; or 
b. Be working under the supervision of a licensed practitioner listed above who meets the state 

requirement for a Children’s Mental Health Specialist. 
 
Mental health payment rate methodology is in accordance with Attachment 4.19-B. 

 
(4)  The Medicaid agency does not cover services provided by: 

 Acupuncturists 
 Christian Science practitioners or theological healers 
 Herbalists 
 Homeopathists 
 Masseuses 
 Masseurs 
 Sanipractors 

 
(5) Licensed non-nurse midwives  

To participate in home births and in birthing centers, midwives must be an agency-approved provider. 
  

(6) Psychologists. 
 Psychological testing must be medically necessary, prior authorized, in an outpatient setting, and 

is limited to 2 units per client.  
 Neurobehavioral status examinations require prior authorization. 
 Neuropsychological testing requires prior authorization. 
 Prior authorization is required for additional services that are medically necessary. 




