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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106 

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

March , 2021 

Susan Birch, Director 
MaryAnne Lindeblad, Medicaid Director 
Health Care Authority
PO Box 45502
Olympia, WA 98504-5010 

Dear Ms. Birch and Ms. Lindeblad: 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has completed its review of the enclosed 
State Plan Amendment (SPA), Transmittal Number WA-20-0029. This SPA clarifies that
pharmacists are able to provide and bill for services according to their scope of practice by adding 
them to the list of “Other Licensed Practitioners” in the Medicaid State Plan. This is not a change in
policy or practice; it is for clarification purposes only.

This SPA is approved effective November 1, 2020. Enclosed is a copy of the CMS-179 
summary form, as well as the approved pages for incorporation into the Washington State 
Plan.

If you have any questions, please contact Nikki Lemmon at 303-844-2641 or via email at
nicole.lemmon@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

James G. Scott, Director
Division of Program Operations 

Enclosure 

cc:
Ann Myers, HCA
Donna Sullivan, HCA
Amal Saleh, HCA
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REVISION ATTACHMENT 3.1-A
Page 20

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State  WASHINGTON

AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL
CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

_______________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________
TN # 20-0029   Approval Date Effective Date 11/1/2020
Supersedes
TN # 13-05

6. Other Practitioners Services

Medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed
practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law

a. Podiatrists’ services
(1) Foot care is covered only for specific medical conditions that must be treated by a podiatrist.

(2) Reimbursement is according to Attachment 4.19-B III. Physicians’ Services.

b. Optometrists’ services
(1) The Medicaid agency covers medically necessary eye examinations, refractions, and fitting fees

every 24 months for asymptomatic adults 21 years or older.

(2) Exceptions will be considered for all individuals based on medical necessity.

(3) For clients under 21 years of age, services will be provided in accordance with EPSDT
requirements at 1905(r), subject to determination of medical necessity and prior authorization by
the Medicaid agency.

d. Other practitioners’ services
(1) All other practitioners covered by the Medicaid agency include, but are not limited to, the following

licensed practitioners: pharmacists, naturopathic physicians (services are limited to physician-
related primary care services), physician assistants, advanced registered nurse practitioners
including certified registered nurse anesthetists, psychologists, dental hygienists, denturists,
chiropractors (for EPSDT only), opticians, and licensed non-nurse midwives,  These practitioners
are limited to services within their scope of practice and specialty area.

Pharmacy interns and pharmacy technicians may furnish services in accordance with
their professional scope of practice in accordance with state law.
Pharmacies are qualified providers of COVID-19 vaccinations per the HHS COVID-19
PREP Act Declaration and authorizations.

(4) Counselors, social workers, and other practitioners are covered as specified in other sections of
the State Plan and as approved by the Medicaid agency.

(5) Mental health outpatient services may be provided by the following providers licensed by the
state under 42 CFR 440.060(a): Licensed Psychologists; Licensed Psychiatric Advanced Nurse
Practitioners; Licensed Independent Clinical Social Workers; Licensed Advance Social Workers;
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists; and Licensed Mental Health Counselors.

The practitioners listed above who want to diagnose and treat clients eighteen years of age and
younger must have a minimum of two years’ experience in the diagnosis and treatment of clients
eighteen years of age and younger, including one year of supervision by a mental health
professional trained in child and family mental health.

Mental health payment rates methodology is in accordance with Attachment 4.19-B.



REVISION ATTACHMENT 3.1-B
Page 21

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State  WASHINGTON

AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE
MEDICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S) ALL

_______________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________
TN # 20-0029   Approval Date Effective Date 11/1/2020
Supersedes
TN # 13-05

6. d. Other practitioners’ services

(1) All other practitioners covered by the Medicaid agency include, but are not limited to, the following
licensed practitioners: pharmacists, naturopathic physicians (services are limited to physician-related
primary care services), physician assistants, advanced registered nurse practitioners including
certified registered nurse anesthetists, psychologists, dental hygienists, denturists, chiropractors (for
EPSDT only), opticians, and licensed non-nurse midwives,  These practitioners are limited to services
within their scope of practice and specialty area.

Pharmacy interns and pharmacy technicians may furnish services in accordance with their
professional scope of practice in accordance with state law.
Pharmacies are qualified providers of COVID-19 vaccinations per the HHS COVID-19 PREP
Act Declaration and authorizations.

(2) Counselors, social workers, and other practitioners are covered as specified in other sections of the
State Plan and as approved by the department.

(3) Mental health outpatient services may be provided by the following providers licensed by the state
under 42 CFR 440.060(a): Licensed Psychologists; Licensed Psychiatric Advanced Nurse
Practitioners; Licensed Independent Clinical Social Workers; Licensed Advanced Social Workers;
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists; and Licensed Mental Health Counselors.

The practitioners listed above who want to diagnose and treat clients eighteen years of age and
younger must have a minimum of two years’ experience in the diagnosis and treatment of clients
eighteen years of age and younger, including one year of supervision by a mental health professional
trained in child and family mental health.

Mental health payment rate methodology is in accordance with Attachment 4.19-B.

(4) The Medicaid agency does not cover services provided by:
• Acupuncturists
• Christian Science practitioners or theological healers
• Herbalists
• Homeopathists
• Masseuses
• Masseurs
• Sanipractors

(5) Licensed non-nurse midwives
To participate in home births and in birthing centers, midwives must be an agency-approved provider.

(6) Psychologists.
• Psychological testing must be medically necessary, prior authorized, in an outpatient setting,

and is limited to 2 units per client.
• Neurobehavioral status examinations require prior authorization.
• Neuropsychological testing requires prior authorization.
• Prior authorization is required for additional services that are medically necessary.




