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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 

Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 

Financial Management Group 

 

Emily Zalkovsky 

State Medicaid Director 

Post Office Box 13247, MC: H-100 

Austin, Texas 78711 

RE:  TN 25-0018 

Dear Director Zalkovsky: 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed Texas state 

plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-D TX 25-0018, which was submitted to CMS on May 

29, 2025.  This plan amendment updates the payment rate and rate methodology for the Pediatric Care 

Facility Special Reimbursement Class of Nursing Facilities. 

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements, including in 

sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903 as it relates to the identification of an adequate 

source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by 1902(a)(2), of the 

Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations. 

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an 

effective date of April 1, 2025. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state 

plan pages. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Tom Caughey at 

517-487-8598 or via email at Tom.caughey@cms.hhs.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Rory Howe 

Director 

Financial Management Group 

Enclosures 

August 18, 2025
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VII. Reimbursement Methodology for Pediatric Care Facilities

(4) Pediatric care facility – One of the two categories of facilities described below.
To become a member of the pediatric care facility class, a contracted provider
must send a request in writing by certified mail to the HHSC Provider Finance
Department.
(A) An entire facility that has maintained an average daily census of 80

percent or more children for the six-month period prior to its entry into
the pediatric care facility class based on the entire licensed facility. To
remain a pediatric care facility, the entire facility must maintain an
average daily census of 80 percent or more children.

(B)  A distinct unit of a facility that has maintained an average daily census
of 85 percent or more children for the six-month period prior to its entry
into the pediatric care facility class based on the distinct unit of the
facility. To remain a pediatric care facility, a distinct unit of a facility
must maintain an average daily census of 85 percent or more children.

(c) Payment rate determination. Payment rates will be determined in the
following manner.

(1) Payment rate methodology. The payment rate methodology for this class of
services aligns to the nursing and non-therapy ancillary components
contained in the federal per diem rate for rural Medicare skilled nursing
facilities for the most recent federal fiscal year as published in the Federal
Register, adjusted by applying the highest case-mix index (CMI). Payment
rates determined in this manner will be:
(A) based on available funds and subject to legislative appropriations; and
(B) paid uniformly for all Medicaid residents of a qualifying pediatric care

facility.
(2) Cost reports. Cost reports for pediatric care facilities are governed by the

requirements specified in II and III. A nursing facility that contains a
pediatric care facility distinct unit must complete two cost reports: one report
for the distinct pediatric care facility unit and one report for the remainder of
the facility.

(3) Additional reimbursements. A pediatric care facility will not be
eligible for additional reimbursements from either of the following
sources.
(A) The ventilator-dependent or the children-with-tracheostomies

supplemental reimbursements.
(B) Enhanced rates from the Direct Care Staff Enhancement program.
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VII. Reimbursement Methodology for Pediatric Care Facilities

(d) Effective April 1, 2025, for pediatric care facilities, the rate will be equal to the
rate in effect on March 31, 2025, plus 103 percent. This rate was posted on the
agency’s website at https://pfd.hhs.texas.gov/long-term-services-
supports/pediatric-care-facility-special-reimbursement-class on March 14,
2025.
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