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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 
230 South Dearborn 
Chicago, Illinois 60604 

Financial Management Group 

01/06/2025

Director: Emily Zalkovsky
State Medicaid/CHIP Director
Health and Human Services Commission
Mail Code: H100
Post Office Box 13247
Austin, Texas 78711

Dear Director Emily Zalkovsky, 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed Texas State 
Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B TN: #24-0035, which was submitted to CMS on 
December 20, 2024. The proposed amendment updates the ambulatory surgical center fee 
schedule, effective December 1, 2024.

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements including in 
sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903 as it relates to the identification of an 
adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by 
1902(a)(2), of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations. 

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of December 1, 2024. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the 
new state plan page. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Matthew Klein at 
214-767-4625 or via email at matthew.klein@cms.hhs.gov

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 
Director 
Division of Reimbursement Review 
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16. Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs) (Continued)

(f) Example 2:
1. Billed charges = $75.00
2. Medicaid published fee = $80.00
3. Lesser of billed charges or Medicaid published fee = $75.00,

which becomes the allowed amount.
4. Since the billed charges are not greater than the Medicaid fee

plus the 5.2 percent high-volume provider payment add-on (i.e.,
$80.00 + $4.16= $84.16), no high-volume provider payment
add-on is applied, resulting in the actual payment to the provider
of $75.00.

(g) Example 3:
1. Billed charges = $82.00
2. Medicaid published fee = $80.00
3. Lesser of billed charges or Medicaid published fee = $80.00, which

becomes the allowed amount.
4. Since the billed charges are not greater than the Medicaid fee plus

the 5.2 percent high-volume provider payment add-on (i.e.,
$80.00 + $4.16 = $84.16), only part of the high-volume provider
payment add-on is applied (i.e., up to the billed charges) resulting
in the actual payment to the provider of $82.00.

(h) Medicaid payments for ASC services do not exceed Medicare payments
for these same ASC services.

(i) The agency’s fee schedule was revised with new fees effective
December 1, 2024, and is effective for services provided on or after that
date. The fee schedule will be posted on the agency’s website by
March 15, 2025.

(j) All fee schedules are available through the agency’s website as
outlined on attachment 4.19-B, page 1.
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