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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES =

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

601 E. 12th St., Room 355
Kansas City, Missouri 64106
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

February 3, 2022

Stephanie Stephens

State Medicaid Director

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Mail Code: H100

Post Office Box 13247

Austin, TX 78711

Re: TX SPA 21-0046
Dear Ms. Stephens:

We have reviewed the proposed Texas State Plan Amendment (SPA) TX 21-0046, which was
submitted to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) on November 24, 2021.
The purpose of the amendment is to ensure that the Texas Medicaid State Plan complies with
the Bipartisan Budget Act (BBA) of 2018 and the Medicaid Services Investment and
Accountability Act (MSIAA) of 2019, affecting the BBA of 2013, that modified third party
liability (TPL) requirements related to special treatment of certain types of care and
payment.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment on
February 2, 2022, with an effective date of December 1, 2021. We are enclosing the
approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state plan pages.

If you have any additional or need further assistance, please contact Ford Blunt of my staff at
(214) 767-6381 or by email at Ford.Blunt@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,
Digitally signed by
James G. Scott -S
‘- Date: 2022.02.03
— 15:39:18 -06'00"
James G. Scott, Director
Division of Program Operations



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES OMB NO. 0938-0193
1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 2. STATE:
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 21-0046 TEXAS

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTNVE DATE
December1,2021

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Circle One):
O NEW STATE PLAN O

AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

X AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:

Title XIX of the SSA
42 CFR §433.138
42 USC §433.139

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:

a. FFY 2022 -$116,674
b. FFY 2023 -$99,173
c. FFY 2024 - $84,297

SEE ATTACHMENT

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR
ATTACHMENT:

SEE ATTACHMENT TOBLOCKS 8 & 9

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):

SEE ATTACHMENT TOBLOCKS 8 & 9

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

The proposed amendment will ensure that the Texas Medicaid State Plan is in compliance with the Bipartisan Budget Act
(BBA) of 2018 and the Medicaid Services Investment and Accountability Act (MSIAA) of 2019, affecting the BBA of 2013, that
modified third party liability (TPL) requirements related to special treatmentof certain types of care and payment.

11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One):

[0 GOVERNORS OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT

[0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED
[0 NO REPLY RECENVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

[ OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Sent to Governor’'s Office this date.
Comments, if any, willbe forw arded upon receipt.

12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICAL:
Emily Zalkovsky Bste3571507 58054 000

13. TYPED NAME
Emily Zalkovsky

14. TITLE

Deputy State Medicaid Director (on behalf of Stephanie
Stephens, State Medicaid Director)

15. DATE SUBMITTED:
November 24,2021

16. RETURN TO:

Stephanie Stephens

State Medicaid Director

Post Office Box 13247, MC: H-100
Austin, Texas 78711

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY

17. DATE RECEIVED:
November 24, 2021

18. DATE APPROVED:
February 2, 2022

PLAN APPROVED — ONE COPY ATTACHED

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:
December 1, 2021

20. SIG IONAL OFFICIAL:
Digitally signed by James G. Scott -S
Date: 2022.02.03 15:41:17 -06'00'

21. TYPED NAME:
James G. Scott

22 TMLE
Director, Division of Programs Operations

23. REMARKS:

FORM CMS -179 (07-92)




Attachment to Blocks 8 & 9 of CMS Form 179

Transmittal Number 21-0046

Number of the Number of the Superseded
Plan Section or Attachment Plan Section or Attachment
Attachment 4.22-A Attachment 4.22-A

Page 1 (TN 15-0007)

Page 2 (TN 15-0007)

Pages 2a-m delete pages (TN 15-0007)

Page 3 delete page (TN 15-0007)

Page 4 delete page (TN 15-0007)

Page 5 delete page (TN 15-0007)
Attachment 4.22-B Attachment 4.22-B

Page 1 (TN 15-0007)

Page 2 (TN 15-0007)

Page 2a-m delete page (TN 15-0007)

Page 3 — delete page (TN 15-0007)

Page 4 delete page (TN 15-0007)

Page 5 delete page (TN 15-0007)



TN:

State of Texas
Attachment 4.22-A
Page 1

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE/TERRITORY: TEXAS

Requirements for Third Party Liability
Identifying Liable Resources

(a) The Texas Medicaid agency meets all requirements of 42 CFR 433.138 for identification of
liable third parties.(1) Section 433.138(d) -- The Texas Medicaid agency is apprised of potential
third party resources from various sources. These referrals are used to identify and verify legally
liable third party resources. Information regarding third party resources is incorporated into the
eligibility case file.

The Texas Medicaid agency performs data matches with third parties in order to identify health
insurance coverage. This information, including information for individuals on whose behalf
medical child support enforcement is being carried out by the Texas State title I[V-D agency, is
entered into the State’s third-party database and used to process claims in accordance with third
party payment procedures.

(2) Section 433.138(d)(1) -- The responsibilities of the State Wage Information Collection
Agency (SWICA) as defined in 42 CFR 435.4 are administered by the Texas Workforce
Commission (TWC). The State Medicaid eligibility data base is matched against the TWC wage
file and against the TWC monthly unemployment pay file at least quarterly. Medicaid accretions
that occur between the quarterly scheduling are periodically run against the TWC files. Worker-
initiated wage and unemployment inquiries are run against the TWC files as needed, and
Medicaid eligibility files are matched monthly against the Social Security Administration (SSA)
wage and earnings files as specified in 42 CFR 435.948(a). The TWC and SSA matches provide
information on Medicaid recipients that are employed and their employers. These matches
include employed absent or custodial parents of recipients and their employers.

(3) Section 433.138(d)(3) -- The Texas State I[V-A Program determines Title XIX eligibility and
secures information on Medicaid recipients that are employed and their employer(s) on a
continuous basis.

(4) Section 433.138(d)(4) -- The Texas Medicaid agency contracts with a vendor that conducts
weekly and monthly data matching by utilizing a national data warehouse where multi-state
casualty claims are recorded. If a match is made, the vendor notifies the responsible casualty
insurance carrier of the State’s intent to recover from the insurance settlement.

Section 433.138(d)(5) -- Documentation has been submitted to the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) Regional Office VI that demonstrates the agency has made a

21-0046 Approval Date: _02/02/22

Supersedes TN: __15-0007 Effective Date: _12/01/21



TN:

State of Texas
Attachment 4.22-A
Page 2

reasonable attempt to perform a match with the State Motor Vehicle Accident Report files that
are maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). No match is conducted with
the State Motor Vehicle Accident Report files because neither the names nor the social security
numbers (SSNs) are maintained by the DPS for conducting such a match.

(5) Section 433.138(e) -- The Texas Medicaid agency takes action monthly to identify paid
claims of $1.00 or more for Medicaid recipients that were involved in an accident where there is
a potential liable third party. Research is performed to determine the legal liability of third
parties in order to pursue recovery.

(b) The Texas Medicaid agency meets all requirements of 42 CFR 433.138(g) for follow-up
procedures for identification of liable third parties.

(1) Section 433.138(g)(1)(i) — Within 45 days from the date the data exchange is received, or as
otherwise specified in 42 CFR 435.952(d), the Texas Medicaid agency follows up (if
appropriate) on such information to identify legally liable third party resources and incorporates
such information into the eligibility case file and into its third party database and third party
recovery unit so that claims may be processed under the third party liability payment procedures
specified in 433.139(b) through ().

(2) Section 433.138(g)(2) — Within 60 days, the Texas Medicaid agency will follow up on
health insurance information to identify legally liable third party resources and incorporate this
information into the eligibility case file and into its third party database and third party recovery
unit so the agency may process claims under the third party liability payment procedures
specified in 433.139(b) through (f).

(3) All health insurance updates are entered into the Medicaid Management Information System
(MMIS) within ten (10) work days of receipt and into the Texas Automated Recovery System
(TARS) for post payment recovery monthly.

21-0046 Approval Date: _02/02/22

Supersedes TN: _ 15-0007 Effective Date: _12/01/21



State of Texas
Attachment 4.22-B
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
STATE/TERRITORY: TEXAS

Requirements of Third Party Liability
Payment of Claims

The Texas Medicaid agency or designee meets all requirements of 42 CFR 433.139.

(1) Section 1902(a)(25)(E) -- Claims for prenatal services, including labor and delivery and
postpartum care are processed using standard coordination of benefits cost avoidance.

(2) 42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(1) -- Claims related to preventive pediatric services, including early

and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment services will be paid and not denied due to the
existence of a third party unless the Medicaid agency has made a determination related to cost-
effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost avoidance for up to 90 days.

(3) Section 433.139(b)(3)(ii) — -- Claims related to individuals on whose behalf medical child
support enforcement is known to be carried out by the State title IV-D agency will be paid and
not denied due to the existence of a third party. The Texas Medicaid agency retains the flexibility
to make payments without regard to potential third party liability for up to 100 days for claims
related to child support enforcement beneficiaries.

(4) Reimbursement for paid claims related to preventive pediatric services and to individuals on
whose behalf medical child support enforcement is known to be carried out by the State title V-
D agency will be pursued through the Texas Automated Recovery System (TARS) process.
Procedures for seeking reimbursement will be initiated within sixty (60) days after the end of the
month in which the health insurance carrier is identified, or within sixty (60) days after the end
of the month in which payment was made.

(5) Section 433.139(a) and (b)(1) -- Providers are required to seek reimbursement from a liable
third party that the provider knows about before billing the Texas Medicaid agency. When a
provider submits a claim to the Texas Medicaid agency when probable liability of third party
insurance exists, the claim is cost avoided. Through this process, the claim is denied and returned
to the provider to determine the amount of liability. Once third party liability has been
determined, the claim will be paid to the extent that payment is allowed under the Texas
Medicaid agency’s payment schedule.

(6) Section 433.139(a) and (f) -- Post payment recovery of claims paid by the Texas Medicaid
agency prior to the establishment of third party liability is pursued through the TARS process.

TN: 21-0046 Approval Date: _02-02-2022
Supersedes TN: __15-0007 Effective Date: _ 12-01-2021




State of Texas
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Procedures for seeking reimbursement will be initiated within sixty (60) days after the end of the
month in which the health insurance carrier is identified, or within sixty (60) days after the end
of the month in which payment was made.

Requests for reimbursement will be initiated on all claims meeting cost effectiveness criteria.
Claims for $100.00 or more will be pursued within sixty (60) days following the month of
Medicaid payment. Claims for less than $100.00 will be accumulated until the amount reaches
$100.00 or until six (6) months have elapsed (whichever comes first). If after six (6) months the
accumulation has not reached $100.00, all accumulated claims will be billed. Initiation of post
payment recovery activity of all claims will, however, begin during the month cycle when the
$100.00 accumulation is reached.

A minimum dollar amount to be accumulated and minimum dollar amounts for follow-up on
unresolved recovery attempts will be applied to ensure reasonable cost effectiveness of the third
party reimbursement effort.

If no response is received by the twelfth (12th) month after the date of initial billing, the case
will be closed and no further action taken.

When the provider has billed a third party prior to billing Medicaid and certifies that payment
has not been received within 110 days after billing the third party, Medicaid will consider the
claim for reimbursement.

(7) Section 433.139(a) -- When Medicare eligibility is established retroactively, claims that were
paid by Medicaid are also identified. Eligible Medicaid claims are adjusted to deny the service
and an Account Receivable is set up to recoup the Medicaid payment from the provider. The
provider is notified to bill Medicare for the services. Medicaid services not covered by Medicare
are not included in this process.

(8) Section 42 CFR 447.20 -- The Medicaid agency ensures that the provider furnishing a service
for which a third party is liable follows the restrictions specified in 42 CFR 447.20.

TN: _21-0046 Approval Date: __02-02-2022
Supersedes TN: __15-0007 Effective Date: _ 12-01-2021






