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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

601 E. 12th St., Room 355 

Kansas City, Missouri 64106 

 
Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 
 
 

December 12, 2022 

 

Sarah Aker, Medicaid Director 

Department of Social Services 

Richard F. Kneip Building 

700 Governors Drive 

Pierre, SD 57501-2291 

 

RE: TN 22-0013 

 

Dear Ms. Aker: 

 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has completed our review of South 

Dakota’s State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal #22-0013, submitted on September 30, 2022.  

The SPA increases the nonemergency services’ limit to $2,000 per fiscal year to align with the 

administrative rule change and clarifies the prior authorizations requirements to align with current 

practice.   

 

CMS approved SPA #22-0013 on December 12, 2022, with an effective date of                     

September 12, 2022.  Enclosed is a copy of the CMS-179 summary form, as well as the approved 

pages for incorporation into the South Dakota State Plan. 

 

If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please contact Mandy Strom at 

mandy.strom@cms.hhs.gov  or (303)844-7068. 

 

Sincerely,  

James G. Scott, Director 

Division of Program Operations 

 

Enclosures 

 

cc:  Matthew Ballard, South Dakota Medicaid  

Renae Hericks, South Dakota Medicaid 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH ANO HUMAN SERVICES 
CENTERS FOR MEDtCARE & MEOICAIO SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2.STATE 

FORMAPPROVEO 
OMBNo. 0838-0193 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 2 2 - 0 0 1 3 S D 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL ---- - - -- - - --

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDIC~RE & MEDICAID SERVICES 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TlllE OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT @ XIX () XXI 

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR 4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DA TE 
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 

September 12, 2022 DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) 

Social Secutiry Act 1905(a)(10) and 42 CFR 440.1 00 
a FFY 2022 $ 0 
b. FFY 2023 $ 30670 

7. PAGE NUMBER OF Tl-IE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 

Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A, Page 16 OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) 

Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A, Page 21 Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A, Page 16 (TN 12-5) 
9t1pplerne11 t to Attachment 4.19-B, Page 16 • Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A, Page 21 (TN 08-3) 

Sopple111e11t to Attachment 4.19-B, Page 16 (TN 12-10) • 

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT 

Clarifies prior authorization requirements and increases the nonemergency services limit to $2,000 per fiscal year to align with 
the administrative rule change. 

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) 

® GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 

8 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

0 OTHER, /lS SPECIFIED: 

15. RETURN TO 

QEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
DIVISION OF MEDICAL SERVICES 

1 <'!. 1 r t-"l:: LJ l'll-'IIVlt: / 1 700 GOVERNORS DRIVE 
_L_au_r_ie_R_._G_il_l .,.../ ______________ -. PIERRE, SD 57501-2291 
13. lln.E 
Cabi eaetary 
14. DATE SUBMITTED 
September 30, 2022 

FORM CMS 170 (00/24) Instructions on Back 



Page 16 

SUPPLEMENT TO ATTACHMENT 3.1-A 

10. Dental Services

Dental services for adults age 21 and over are limited to the following categories of service:

a. Routine diagnostic and preventive services:

(1) Prophylaxis visits are limited to twice per state fiscal year;

(2) Examination visits are limited to twice per state fiscal year; and

(3) Radiographs:

i. Bitewings are limited to twice per state fiscal year;

ii. Full mouth or panoramic films are covered if medically necessary and

are limited to once in a five-year period.

b. Routine restorative services:

(1) Restoration of decayed or fractured teeth with amalgam fillings or composite

fillings - one time in 12 months for composites or amalgams;

(2) Stainless steel and temporary crowns;

(3) Emergency treatment by report;

(4) Oral surgery; and

(5) General anesthesia or sedation.

c. Endodontic services:

(1) Root canal therapy; and

(2) Re-treatments.

d. Periodontal services including root planing and scaling and maintenance therapy.

e. Major services, which are beyond routine and restorative:

(1) Build-ups, posts, and cores (posts and cores are a benefit in only the same teeth

qualifying for root canal therapy);

(2) Recementation of cast restorations is limited to once per lifetime of recipient; and

(3) Permanent crowns are limited to placement on anterior teeth.

The limitations provided above may be exceeded based on medical necessity if authorized by the 

State. 

Dental services for adults 21 years of age and older are limited to a total of $2,000  per adult Medicaid 

recipient per state fiscal year. The following services may be exempt from the limit: 

a. Some preventive services, including two exams, two cleanings, and two sets of bitewings.

b. Emergent dental services medically necessary to immediately alleviate severe pain, acute

infection, or trauma.

c. General anesthesia and sedation associated with treatment for immediate relief of severe

pain, acute infection, or trauma.

d. Problem focused evaluations and related radiographs associated with treatment for

immediate relief of severe pain, acute infection, or trauma (not all problem focused

evaluations are considered emergent).  Other services associated with treatment for

immediate relief of severe pain, acute infection, or trauma as describes in the Emergent

Care section of this manual.

e. Dentures, partial dentures and interim dentures. (Replacement of interim partial dentures

are not exempt from the maximum)

f. Alveoloplasty in conjunction with approved dentures.

The $2,000 limit may be exceeded if medically necessary with a prior authorization. 

TN # 22-0013 

SUPERSEDES Approval Date Effective Date 9/12/22 

TN # 12-5 

12/12/2022
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SUPPLEMENT TO ATTACHMENT 3.1-A 

12b. Dentures 

Dentures are covered according to the following criteria and limits: 

a. Immediate dentures and initial placement of all initial complete dentures do not require prior
authorization. Prior authorization is required for replacement of dentures within 5 years 
of initial placement; 

b. Initial and replacement of partial dentures are limited to recipients with no more than eight
posterior teeth in occlusion (not limited to natural teeth). Replacement or a recipient’s 
partial dentures is covered once in a five-year period; 

c. Denture relines and rebases, for either complete or partial dentures, are covered once in a
five-year period; 

d. Adjustments of complete or partial dentures are limited to two adjustments per denture per
12-month period and only after six months have elapsed since initial placement of
denture or partial denture;

e. Interim prostheses (flippers) are covered only once in a five-year period and if the existing
denture/partial is no longer serviceable; and

f. Tissue conditioning is only covered the recipient is eligible for rebase, reline, or new
prosthesis.

All dentures, partial dentures, and interim prostheses must be billed on the date of placement. 

TN # 22-0013 
SUPERSEDES Approval Date Effective Date 9/12/22 
TN # 08-3 

12/12/22
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B 

PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES 

10. Dental Services

The agency will reimburse dental services at the lesser of the established fee schedule rate or the
provider’s usual and customary charge. The fee schedule is published on the agency’s website at 
https://dss.sd.gov/medicaid/providers/feeschedules/. Unless otherwise noted in the plan the rates are 
the same for all governmental and private providers. 

The agency pays an enhanced rate for select services for children birth to age 6 and for services 
for developmentally disabled patients. The enhanced rates are published on the fee schedule on the 
agency’s website at https://dss.sd.gov/medicaid/providers/feeschedules/. The sum of the regular fee 
schedule amount and the enhanced payment may not exceed the provider’s usual and customary fee. In 
order to qualify for the enhanced rates providers must meet requirements established by the agency. 

TN # 22-0013 
SUPERSEDES Approval Date Effective Date 9/12/22 
TN # 12-10 
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