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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 

Financial Management Group 

Eunice Medina 
Interim Director, Department of Health & Human Services 
Post Office Box 8206 
1801 Main Street 
Columbia, SC 29202-8206 

RE:  TN 24-0025 

Dear Director Medina: 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed 
South Carolina state plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-D SC-24-0025, which was 
submitted to CMS on December 23, 2024. This plan amendment increases per diem payment for 
services provided to ventilator-dependent Medicaid beneficiaries residing in a ventilator-dependent 
wing of a contracting South Carolina Medicaid nursing facility to a total per diem rate of $708 per 
member, per day. 

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements, including in 
sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903 as it relates to the identification of an 
adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by 
1902(a)(2) of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations. 

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of November 21, 2024. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the 
new state plan pages.  

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact James Francis at 857-
357-6378 or via email at James.Francis@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely, 

Rory Howe 
Director 
Financial Management Group 

Enclosures 

January 14, 2025

 
      

      





ATTACHMENT 4.19-D 
Page 26 
Revised 11/21/24 

SC: 24-0025 
EFFECTIVE DATE:11/21/24 
APPROVAL DATE:  
SUPERSEDES: SC 21-0013 

Ventilator Unit Reimbursement Program 

Effective for services provided on or after November 21, 2024, 
the South Carolina Department of Health and Human Services will 
update its per diem payment for services provided to ventilator 
dependent Medicaid beneficiaries residing in a ventilator 
dependent wing of a contracting South Carolina Medicaid nursing 
facility. To qualify for this reimbursement, the wing must 
consist of a minimum of 20 nursing facility beds that are 
dedicated solely to the provision of ventilator dependent 
services. Effective for services provided on and after November 
21, 2024, the vent rate will equal $708.00 per Medicaid patient 
day.  

The ventilator unit rate will be used to reimburse nursing 
facilities for their base operational costs as well as the 
individual costs incurred in providing services to these 
individuals such as: 

1. Staff time (both by skilled professional and nurse aides)
to perform actual procedures or provide additional care;

2. Necessary supplies, specialized equipment such as lifts,
special beds ventilators, etc. needed to provide the care,
and/or nutritional supplements; and

3. Staff education required to be able to provide for the
beneficiary with vent needs.

Nursing facilities that provide services to Ventilator Unit 
individuals will be required to step down cost applicable to 
this service in accordance with Section I (C) of Attachment 4.19-
D upon submission of their annual cost report. 

J. Payment for Out-of-State Long Term Care Facilities

In order to provide services to the South Carolina Medicaid
patients awaiting placement into a nursing facility, the agency
will contract with out-of-state facilities at the other states'
Medicaid reimbursement rate. The agency will use the out-of-
state facility's survey conducted by their survey and
certification agency for our survey and certification purposes.
Placement of a South Carolina Medicaid recipient into an out-
of-state facility will only occur if a bed is unavailable in
South Carolina. No year end South Carolina Medicaid long term
care cost report will be required from the participating out-
of-state facilities.
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