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February 8, 2023

Ana Novais, Acting Secretary

Executive Office of Health and Human Services
State of Rhode Island

3 West Road, Virks Building

Cranston, R102920

RE: Rhode Island 22-0019
Dear Acting Secretary Novais:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State
plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 22-0019. Effective January 1, 2023, this
amendment proposes a behavioral health per-diem add-on rate for specified nursing facility
residents.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30) and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.

This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment TN 22-0019 is approved effective
January 1, 2023. The CMS-179 and the amended plan page(s) are attached.

As described in the state’s letter to CMS dated April 29, 2022 regarding its Hospital Licensing
Fee (HLF) and in CMS’s response letter dated May 19, 2022, please note that CMS’s approval of
this State Plan Amendment (SPA) whose non-federal share source may include the HLF relates
only to the requested change in payment methodology, not the source of non-federal share.
Approval of this SPA does not relieve the state of its responsibility to comply with
federal laws and regulations, and to ensure that claims for federal financial participation are
consistent with all applicable requirements.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Novena James-Hailey at
(617) 565-1291 or Novena.JamesHailey(@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Rory Howe
Director
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Attachment 4.19-D
Page 11

D. Rate Add-ons

Add-on for Discharges to Nursing Facilities of Complex Behavioral Health Patients

Nursing facilities can receive a behavioral health per-diem add-on of $175 for particularly complex
residents who have been hospitalized for six months or more; meet nursing facility level of care criteria;
and, have been approved for specialized serviced through a Level II Preadmission Screening and
Resident Review (PASRR).

The $175 add-on rate is in addition to the RUG payment base rate and is not influenced by the annual
inflationary adjustments detailed in Section B “Adjustments to Base Rate”

To receive the $175 rate add-on, a Medicaid-certified and Rhode Island Department of Health licensed
nursing facility may apply for the certification of an NFSPU that will remain a distinct and separate unit
within its facility. The NFSPU must be dedicated exclusively to individuals who live with
serious/serious and persistent mental illness (SMI and SPMI) and who (a) meet the NFSPU eligibility
requirements; and (b) have been approved for admission to the NFSPU.

Facilities with an NFSPU must demonstrate that the overall treatment and mission of its psychiatric
rehabilitation program addresses major domains of functioning and skill development including defined
psychiatric rehabilitation principles detailing specific rehabilitation techniques and methods, and the
type/level of staff utilized to provide each service to the residents and the evidence-based practices
supporting such principles. Facilities must also provide a therapeutic environment for referred
individuals that meets and addresses the clinical needs of NFSPU residents including an array of
individual and group therapeutic activities, including:

e Daily therapeutic and skill-training groups
Therapeutic recreation programming
Community safety and life skills training
Substance use and self-help groups
Crisis intervention services

These items are included in the $175 per diem rate and should not be considered specialized services
mandated by a PASRR Level II screening. _If the PASRR II screening recommends specialized services
in addition to the NFSPU placement, the nursing facility is required to work with a licensed behavioral
health provider to ensure the recommended specialized services are provided to the individual. The
NFSPU itself is not a specialized service.

Facilities with an NFSPU are required to submit frequent reports to EOHHS detailing the status of
NFSPUs EOHHS reserves the right to conduct on-site reviews and the review of any clinical records
and documentation without prior notice to the nursing facility. Participating facilities must annually
recertify with EOHHS to continue to operate a NFSPU.

Detailed facility requirements can be found in the NFSPU Certification Standards.

E. Periodic Rate Review
be developed with the nursing homes. However, nursing homes will still be required to submit cost
reports annually. A similar review will be conducted every three years.
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Rates for Newly Constructed Facilities

Newly constructed facilities will be paid a rate determined in the manner described for all facilities
under these Principles. The initial Fair Rental Value component shall be calculated using the
methodology described on pages 15-18. The Tax component will use an occupancy rate equal
to 98% of the statewide average.

Appeals Process

Any provider who is not in agreement with the reimbursement rate assigned for the applicable rate
period, may within fifteen (15) days from the date of notification of rate assignment file a written
request for a review conference to be conducted by the Medicaid Director, or other designee assigned
by the Secretary of the Executive Office of Health and Human Services. This written request must
identify the rate assignment issue(s). The Medicaid Director or designee shall schedule a review
conference within fifteen (15) days of receipt of the request. As a result of the review conference, the
Medicaid Director or designee may modify the rate of reimbursement. The Medicaid Director or
designee shall provide the provider with a written decision within thirty (30) days from the date of the
review conference.

Appeals beyond the Medicaid Director or the designee appointed by the Secretary of the Executive
Office of Health and Human Services will be in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act.
The provider must file a written request for an Administrative Procedures Act hearing no later than
fifteen (15) days of the decision noted in the paragraph above.

Appeal Requests For Prospective Rate Increments

The Executive Office of Health and Human Services may consider the granting of a prospective rate
that reflects demonstrated cost increases in excess of the rate that has been established by the
application of the percentage increase, that are the result of:

1.  Demonstrated errors made during the rate determination process.

2. Significant increases in operating costs resulting from the implementation of new or
additional programs, services, or staff specifically mandated by the Rhode Island Department
of Health.

3. Significant increases in operating costs resulting from capital renovations, expansion, or
replacement required for compliance with fire safety codes and/or certification requirements
of the Rhode Island Department of Health.

4.  Extraordinary circumstances including, but not limited to, acts of God, provided that such
increases will be rescinded immediately upon cessation of the extraordinary circumstance.
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