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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355
Kansas City, Missouri 64106

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

Womazetta Jones, Secretary 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services State of Rhode Island 
3 West Road 
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

Re: Rhode Island State Plan Amendment (SPA) 21-0023 

Dear Secretary Jones: 

We reviewed your proposed Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal 
number (TN) 21-0023.  The purpose of this SPA is to ensure Third Party Liability compliance 
with the Bipartisan Budget Act (BBA) of 2018 (Pub. L. 115- 123) and the Medicaid Services 
Investment and Accountability Act (MSIAA) of 2019 (Pub. L. 116-16), affecting the BBA of
2013.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of
the Social Security Act and the Bipartisan Budget Act (BBA) of 2018 (Pub. L. 115- 123) and the 
Medicaid Services Investment and Accountability Act (MSIAA) of 2019 (Pub. L. 116-16), 
affecting the BBA of 2013. This letter is to inform you that Rhode Island Medicaid SPA 
Transmittal Number 21-0023 approved effective
December 1, 2021.

If you have any questions, please contact Joyce Butterworth at 857-338-0554 or via email at
Joyce.Butterworth@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely

James Scott, Director
Division of Program Operations 

cc: Kristin Sousa, Acting Medicaid Director
Kathryn Thomas, Senior Economic and Policy Analyst
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OMB No; 0938-0193

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

TN No: 21-0023
Supersedes TN No: 87-15

Approval Date:
Effective Date: December 1, 2021 

Requirements for Third Party Liability- 
Payment of Claims  

The Rhode Island Medical Assistance Program seeks reimbursement in 
all instances regardless of amount involved except in specific 
circumstances in accordance with federal law as detailed below: 

1. Rhode Island will use a standard coordination of benefits
cost avoidance when processing claims for prenatal services,
including labor and delivery, and postpartum care claims. If
the State Medicaid Agency has determined a third party is
liable for a prenatal claim, the agency will reject the claim
and return the claim to the provider requesting the provider
seek payment from the legally responsible third party.

The provider must bill the liable third party for the cost of
care. If after the provider bills the liable third party and
a balance remains, or the claim is rejected for a substantial
reason, the provider can resubmit the claim to the State
Medicaid Agency for payment of the balance up to the maximum
Medicaid payment amount established in the fee schedule
authorized by the state plan for the service billed.

2. Effective XX, 2021 The State Medicaid Agency shall make
payments without regard to third party liability for claims
related to pediatric preventive services unless the State
Medicaid Agency has made a determination related to cost-
effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost avoidance
for 90 days in paying the claim.

3. Effective XX, 2021 the State Medicaid Agency may pay a claim
related to child support enforcement without regard to third
party liability for up to 100 days after a claim is
submitted.
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433.137(a)
50 FR 46652
55 FR 1423

433.138(f)
52 FR 5967

433.138(g)(l)(ii)
And (2)(ii)
52 FR 5967

433.138(g)(3)(i)
And (iii)
52 FR 5967

433.138(g)(4)(i)
Through (iii)
52 FR 5967

433.139(b)(3)
(i)(A)
55 FR 1423

433.139(f)(2)
50 FR 46652

433.139(f)(2)

4.22 Third Party Liability

(a) The Medicaid agency meets all requirements of 42 CFR 433.138 and
433.139.

(b) ATTACHMENT 4.22-A
(1) Specifies the frequency with which the data exchanges
required in §433.138(d)(1), (d)(3) and (d)(4) and the diagnosis
and trauma code edits required in § 433.138(a) are conducted

(2) Describes the methods the agency uses for meeting the
followup requirements contained in §433.138(g)(l)(i) and (g)
(2)(i);

(3) Describes the methods the agency uses for following up on
information obtained through the State motor vehicle accident
report file data exchange required under §433.138(d)(4) (ii) and
specifies the time frames for incorporation into the eligibility
case file and into its third party data base and third party
recovery unit of all information obtained through the followup
that identifies legally liable third party resources; and

(4) Describes the methods the agency uses for following up on
paid claims identified under 433.138€  (methods include a
procedure for periodically identifying those trauma codes that
yield the highest third party collections and giving priority to
following up on those codes) and specifies the time frames for
incorporation into the eligibility case file and into its third party
data base and third party recovery unit of all information
obtained through the followup that identifies legally liable third
party resources.

(c) Providers are required to bill liable third parties when services
covered under the plan are furnished to an individual on whose behalf
child support enforcement is being carried out by the State IV-D agency.

(d) ATTACHMENT 4.22-B specifies the following:

(1) The method used in determining a provider’s compliance
with the third party billing requirements at 433.139(b)(3)(iii)(C).
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(2) The threshold amount or other guideline used in determining
whether to seek recovery of reimbursement from a liable third
party, or the process by which the agency determines that
seeking recovery of reimbursement would not be cost effective.

(3) The dollar amount or time period the State uses to
accumulate billings from a particular liable third party in making
the decision to seek recovery of reimbursement.

(4) The cost avoidance procedures the State uses in regards to
processing claims for prenatal services.

(5) The specific circumstances in which the State will not seek
third party reimbursement.

(e) The Medicaid agency ensures that the provider furnishing a service
for which a third party is liable follows the restrictions specified in 42
CFR 447.20.
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1906 of the Act

(f) The Medicaid agency has written cooperative agreements for the
enforcement of rights to and collection of third party benefits assigned to
the State as a condition of eligibility for medical assistance with at least
one of the following:
(Check as appropriate.)
_X State title IV-D agency.  The requirements of 42 CFR 433.152(b)

are met.
___ Other appropriate State agency(s)—
___ Other appropriate agency(s) of another State—
___ Courts and law enforcement officials.

(g) The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of 42 CFR 433.153
and 433.154 for making incentive payments and for distributing third
party collections.

(h) The Medicaid agency specifies the guidelines used in determining
the cost effectiveness of an employer-based group health plan by
selecting one of the following.
___ The Secretary’s method as provided in the State Medicaid Manual,
Section 3910.
_X The State provides methods for determining cost effectiveness on
Att. 4.22-C




