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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28

Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

December &, 2021

Brett Friedman

Acting State Medicaid Director

New York State Department of Health

99 Washington Ave- One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1432
Albany, NY 12210

Reference: TN 17-0015
Dear Mr. Friedman:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 17-0015. Effective January 1, 2017, this amendment
proposes add-on payments to Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual
Disabilities (ICF/IID) providers for state required minimum wage increase. This amendment also
makes provisions for ICF/IID ownership and control payments for specified circumstances
effective August 1, 2017.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the
implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447.

This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment 17-0015 is approved effective January
1,2017. The CMS-179 and the amended plan pages are attached.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Novena James-Hailey at
(617) 565-1291 or Novena.JamesHailey@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Rory Howe
Director

Enclosures
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Attachment 4.19-D
Part II - ICF/IID

New York
22(c)

c. Minimum Wage Adjustment - Effective January 1, 2017, and every January 1 thereafter until the minimum
wage reaches the state statutorily described per hour wage as shown below, a minimum wage add-on will be
developed and applied to all ICF/IID rates.

31-Dec- | 31-Dec- | 31-Dec- 31-Dec-19 31-Dec- 31-Dec-
Minimum Wage Region 16 17 18 20 21
New York City $11.00 $13.00 $15.00 $15.00 $15.00 $15.00
Nassau, Suffolk &
Westchester $10.00 $11.00 $12.00 $13.00 $14.00 $15.00
Remainder of State $9.70 $10.40 $11.10 $11.80 $12.50 $13.20

The minimum wage adjustment will be developed and implemented as follows:

1.

2.

Minimum wage costs will mean the additional costs incurred beginning January 1, 2017 and thereafter,
as a result of New York State statutory increases to minimum wages.

The 2017 facility specific minimum wage add-on will be developed based on collected survey data
received and attested to by ICF/IID providers. If a facility does not submit a survey, the minimum wage
add-on will be calculated based on the facility’s Consolidated Fiscal Report wage data from the 2014
ICF/IID cost report data. In the subsequent year, the Department will survey providers, utilizing the
methodology employed in year one. Once the costs are included in a CFR utilized in a base year, such
reimbursement will be excluded from the add-on. If a facility fails to submit both the attested survey
and the CFR cost report, the facility’s minimum wage add-on will not be calculated.

a.

TN

Mlnlmum wage cost development based on survey data collected.

Survey data will be collected for facility specific wage data.

Facilities will report by wage bands, the total count of FTEs and total hours paid to all employees
(contracted and non-contracted staff) earning less than the statutory minimum wage applicable
for each region.

Facilities will report an average fringe benefit percentage for the employees directly affected by
the minimum wage increase.

. The minimum wage costs are calculated by multiplying the total hours paid by the difference

between the statutory minimum wage and the midpoint of each wage band where the facility
has reported total hours paid. To this result, the facility’s average fringe benefit percentage is
applied and added to the costs.

Mlnlmum wage cost development based on the CFR cost report data.

The average hourly wages of employees where the reported average hourly wage is below the
regional statutory minimum wage are identified.

The total payroll hours of the employees identified are then multiplied by the regional statutory
minimum wage resulting in a projected payroll. The actual payroll as reported in the cost report
is then subtracted from the projected payroll resulting in the expected wage costs increase.
The facility’s fringe benefit costs directly affected by the wage increase are identified, and the
average fringe benefit percentage is calculated.

. The fringe benefit percentage is applied to the increased wage costs and added resulting in the

minimum wage costs.

December 8, 2021
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3. The facility specific cost amount will be adjusted by a factor calculated by dividing the
facility’s average dollar per hour under minimum wage by the regional average. The
resulting amount will be divided by patient days to arrive at a rate per diem add-on, which
will be applied to only Medicaid days for purposes of Medicaid reimbursement.

4. In subsequent years, untilthe minimum wage is completely implemented statewide, the
Department will survey facilities utilizing the methodology employed in year one. If a facility
fails to submit the minimum wage survey, the calculation for minimum wage costs will
default to the personnel wage data reported on the facility’s latest available CFR cost report.
If a facility fails to submit both the survey and the CFR cost report, its minimum wage add-
on will not be calculated. Once the minimum wage costs are included in the development of
the ICF/IID rate, the minimum wage add-on will be excluded from the rate.

5. Minimum Wage Reconciliation - After the end of each calendar year, the Department of
Health will survey providers to obtain the following information for the purpose of
reconciling annual minimum wage reimbursement. The state will release the reconciliation
survey by the end of March and providers will have two weeks to complete the survey or
request an extension if a provider determines it is unable to complete the survey within that
time. Approval of extensions, and the time of the extension, is at the discretion of the
state. If the reconciliation survey is not submitted within the two weeks or within the
extension time frame, should one be granted, the provider’s minimum wage add-on for the
calendar year covered by the survey will be recouped.

a. Total annual minimum wage funding paid to the provider (as determined from the
minimum wage add-on to claims paid for services rendered in the prior calendar year)
for the Medicaid share of the minimum wage law increase requirement. (This
information will be supplied by the Department of Health.) Medicaid’s share is the
percentage of minimum wage costs that are attributable to Medicaid services based on
the proportion of Medicaid services to a provider’s total services.

b. Medicaid’s share of the total amount the provider was obligated to pay to bring salaries
up to the minimum wage for the calendar year. (This information will be completed by
the provider.)

¢. Minimum wage funds to be recouped or additional funds to be received by the
provider. (This information will be completed by the provider.) This will be the
difference between the amount paid to the provider for the Medicaid share of the
minimum wage law increase requirement and the corresponding amount the provider
determined it was actually obligated to pay.

d. The state agency will review providers’ submissions for accuracy and reasonableness,
following which it will process associated payments and recoupments via retroactive per
unit rate adjustments as quickly as practical thereafter.

6. The agency’s Chief Executive Officer or Chief Financial Officer must sign an Attestation
verifying the data that is supplied in the survey.

TN #17-0015 Approval Date December 8, 2021
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(13) Rate Corrections

i. Arithmetic or calculation errors will be adjusted accordingly in instances that would result in an annual
change of $5,000 or more in a provider’s annual reimbursement for ICFs/IID.

ii. Inorder to request a rate correction in accordance with paragraph i. of this section, the provider must
send to the Department of Health its request by certified mail, return receipt requested, within ninety
days of the provide receiving the rate computation or within 90 days of the first day of the rate period
in question, whichever is later.

(14) Specialized Populations Funding

i. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Attachment, rates for individuals identified by OPWDD as
qualifying for specialized populations funding will be as follows:

ii. For individuals initially identified as qualifying for specialized populations funding, a fee schedule can
be found using the link below:

https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/rates/mental_hygiene/2014rates.htm
iii. The tax assessment as described in paragraph (6) will be applied to these rates.

(15) Changes in Ownership and Control

i. The following will be effective beginning August 1, 2017. Where a non-state governmental provider or
voluntary provider ceases to operate an ICF/IID due to:

(a) a limitation, suspension, revocation or surrender of that provider’s operating certificate;
(b) bankruptcy or other financial or operational distress; or
(c) dissolution of the provider under State Law;

and there arises an emergency situation of a loss of services to individuals, OPWDD will transfer
operation of the affected provider’s ICF/IID services to another non-governmental provider or
voluntary provider at a temporarily enhanced reimbursement rate as described below.

In those emergency situations, the voluntary provider assuming the transferred services will be
reimbursed at a rate which is the higher of the two providers’ rates (hereafter “higher of rate”). The
higher of rate will be in effect until a full year’s costs of providing services to the individual(s)
impacted by the transfer of services is reflected in the assuming provider’s base year CFR. If the
assuming provider does not currently operate an ICF/IID but qualifies for the higher of rate, the rate
will be the higher of the affected provider’s rate or the regional average rate for the ICF/IID services.

ii. In situations where a non-state governmental provider or voluntary provider ceases to operate an
ICF/IID due to circumstances other than those specified in paragraphs (15)(i)(a), (15)(i)(b), (15)(i)(c)
or there is no emergency situation of a loss of services to individuals, any provider assuming the
operation of those services will not be eligible for a temporarily enhanced reimbursement rate. The
assuming provider will use their rate as calculated for all of the individuals for which they are taking
over services. If the assuming provider does not currently operate an ICF/IID, the assuming provider
will receive the affected provider’s rate for the ICF/IID services.

TN #17-0015 Approval Date December 8, 2021
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