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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106 

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

 
  April 27, 2022 
 
Jennifer Langer Jacobs 
Assistant Commissioner 
NJ Department of Human Services 
Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services 
PO Box 712, Mail Code #26 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0712 

 
Re: New Jersey State Plan Amendment (SPA) #NJ-22-0010 

Dear Ms. Jacobs: 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan 
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) #NJ-22-0010. This amendment 
proposes to include assurances that the state complies with third party liability rules as 
authorized under both the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 and the Medicaid Services Investment 
and Accountability Act of 2019. 

 
We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in section 
1905(a)(25)(E) of the Social Security Act as implemented at 42 CFR §433.135 -§433.154. This 
letter is to inform you that New Jersey Medicaid SPA #NJ-22-0010 was approved on April 27, 
2022 with an effective date of January 1, 2022. 

 
If you have any questions, please contact Terri Fraser at 410-786-5573 or via email at 
Terri.Fraser@cms.hhs.gov. 

 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 

Ruth A. Hughes, Acting Director 
Division of Program Operations 

 
 

cc: Nicole McKnight 
Terri Fraser 
Andrea Ormiston 

CENTERS FO R MEDICARE & MEDICA ID SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 



DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE 

2 2 - 0 0 1 0 NJ -- ---- --
3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL 

SECURITY ACT @ XIX Q XXI 
4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 

January 1, 2022 

FORM APPROVED 
0 MB No. 0938--0193 

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) 

Social Security Act 1902(a)(25)(E) 
a FFY 2022 $ 0 
b. FFY 2023 $ 0 

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) 

Pege 69 Section 4 page 69 and 69a Same 
Scpple111e11t 2 to AtteehmeRl 4.z!z! Page ~ Attachment 4.22-B Page 1b New 

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT 

State Plan Amendment to update the Third Party Liability (TPL) section of the State Plan to comply w ith current law. 

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) 

0 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 

0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 

0 NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

FFICIAL 

® OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 

15. RETURN TO 

Jennifer Langer Jacobs, Assistant Commissioner 
-------------------------t Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services 

12. TYPED NAME 
Sarah Adelman P.O. Box 712, Mail Code #26 
---------------------Trenton, NJ 08625-0712 

13. TITLE 
Acting Commissioner, Department of Human Services 

14. DATE SUBMITTED 
3/29/22 

16. DATE RECEIVED 
3/29/22 

FOR CMS USE ONLY 
17. DATE APPROVED 

4/27/22 

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED 
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 

1/ 1/22 

20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

Ruth A. Hughes 

22. REMARKS 

21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

Acting Director, Division of Program Operations 

4/25/22 - State requested P&I changes to the CMS-179 to align with revisions made to the submission during the review process. 

FORM CMS-179 (09/24} Instructions on Back 



TN: #22-0010        Approval Date 

Supersedes TN: #95-42   Effective Date  

Revision: HCFA-PM-94-1 (MB) 69 
FEBRUARY 1994 

State/Territory:  New Jersey 
Citation 

4.22 Third Party Liability 

42 CFR 433.137 (a) The Medicaid agency meets all requirements of:

(1) 42 CFR 433.138 and 433.139,
(2) 42 CFR 433.145 through 433.148,

1902(A)(25)(H) and (I) (3) 42 CFR 433.151 through 433.154,
Of the act (4) Sections 1902(a)(25)(H) and (I) of the Act.

(5) Section 1902(a)(25)(E) of the Act.

42 FR 433.138(f) (b) ATTACHMENT 4.22-A

(1) Specifies the frequency with which the data exchanges
required in 433.138(d)(1), (d)(3) and (d)(4) and the
diagnosis and trauma code edits required in 433.138(e)
are conducted;

42 CFR 433.138(g)(1)(ii) (2) Describes the methods the agency uses for
and (2)(ii) meeting the follow up requirements contained in

433.138(g)(1)(i) and (g)(2)(i);

42 CFR 433.138(g)(3)(i) (3) Describes the methods the agency uses for
and (iii) following up on information obtained through the State

motor vehicle accident report file data exchange required
under 433.138(d)(4)(ii) and specifies the time frames for
incorporation into the eligibility case file and into its third
party database and third party recovery unit of all
information obtained through the follow up that identifies
legally liable third party resources; and

42 CFR 433.138(g)(4)(i) (4) Describes the methods the agency uses for
through (iii)  following up on paid claims identified under

433.138(e) (methods include a procedure for periodically
identifying those trauma codes that yield the highest third
party collections and giving priority to following up on those
codes) and specifies the time frames for incorporation into
the eligibility case file and into its third party database and
third party recovery unit of all information obtained through
the follow up that identifies legally liable third party
resources.



TN: #22-0010        Approval Date 

Supersedes TN: #95-42   Effective Date  

Revision: HCFA-PM-94-1 (MB) 69a 
FEBRUARY 1994 

State/Territory:   New Jersey 
Citation 

42 CFR 433.130(b)(3)   X (c) Providers are required to bill liable third parties when
(ii)(A)      services covered under the plan are furnished to an

individual on whose behalf child support enforcement is
being carried out by the State IV-D agency.

(d) ATTACHMENT 4.22-B specifies the following:
42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C) 

(1) The method used in determining a provider’s
compliance with the third party billing requirements at
433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C),

42 CFR 433.139(f)(2) (2) The threshold amount or other guideline used in
determining whether to seek recovery of reimbursement
from a liable  third party, or the process by which the
agency determines that sending recovery of
reimbursement would not be cost effective,

42 CFR 433.139(f)(3) (3) The dollar amount or time period the State uses to
accumulate billings from a particular liable third party in
making the decision to seek recovery of reimbursement.

42 CFR 447.20 (e) The Medicaid agency ensures that the provider furnishing a
service for which a third party is liable follows the
restrictions specified in 42 CFR 447.20.



TN: #22-0010   Approval Date  

Supersedes TN:  NEW  Effective Date  

Attachment 4.22-B 
      Page 1b 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State/Territory:  New Jersey 

Third Party Liability - 
Bipartisan Budget Act (BBA) of 2018 and Medicaid Services Investment and 

Accountability Act (MSIAA) of 2019 

Effective February 9, 2018, the BBA of 2018 amended section 1902(a)(25)(E) of the Act 
to require a state to use standard coordination of benefits cost avoidance instead of “pay 
and chase” when processing claims for prenatal services, including labor and delivery 
and postpartum claims.  Therefore, if the State Medicaid Agency (SMA) has determined 
that a third party is likely liable for a prenatal claim it must reject, but not deny, the claim 
and return it back to the provider noting the third party that Medicaid believes to be legally 
responsible for payment. 

Effective October 1, 2019, the BBA of 2018 amended section 1902(a)(25)(E) of the Act 
to require a state to make payments without regard to third party liability  for pediatric 
preventative services unless the state has made a determination related to cost-
effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost avoidance for up to 90 days.  If the 
state has made a determination related to cost effectiveness and access to care, SMAs 
can no longer pay and chase for pediatric preventive services and must cost avoid for up 
to 90 days, if warranted.  

The MSIAA of 2019 allows for payment up to 100 days instead of 90 days after a claim is 
submitted for claims related to medical support enforcement.  Therefore, New Jersey will 
extend up to 100 days for claims related to child support enforcement beneficiaries. 




