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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

601 E. 12th St., Room 355

Kansas City, Missouri 64106

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

May 5, 2023

Kevin Bagley

Director

Division of Medicaid & Long-Term Care
Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services
301 Centennial Mall South

Lincoln, NE 68509

Re: NE-23-0001 State Plan Amendment (SPA) 23-0001
Dear Mr. Bagley:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) NE-23-0001. This amendment
proposes to add practitioners authorized to order home health services in accordance with CMS-
5531-1FC.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title X1X of
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations 1135 of the Social Security Act. This letter
is to inform you that Nebraska Medicaid SPA 23-0001 was approved on May 4, 2023, with an
effective date of January 1, 2023.

If you have any questions, please contact Tyson Christensen at 816-426-6440 or via email at
tyson.christensen@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerel

James G. Scott, Director
Division of Program Operations

Enclosures

cc: Dawn Kastens
Catherine Gekas-Steeby



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH ANDHUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES OMB No. 0938-0133
1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER | 2. STATE
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF [2[s _[o[o[o] [nE
APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL
SERVICES SECURITY ACT B XX O XXl
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR 4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES January 1, 2023
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN
SERVICES
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATICN 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars)
Title XIX ofthe Social Security Act
1135 of the Social Security Act a FFY2023 $0

h FFY2024 $0

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 8. PAGENUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR
Att. 3.1-A, Iltem 7a, Pg 1; Att. 4.19-B, ltem 7, Pg 1a ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)
Aft. 3.1-A, ltem 7a, Pg 1; Att. 4.19-B, Item 7, Pg 1a

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT
Home Health APRN

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)

GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT @ OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
O COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED Governor has waived review
O NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL
11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL 15. RETURN TO
Dawn Kastens
Division of Medicaid & Long-Term Care
12. TYPED NAME Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services
Kevin Bagley 301 Centennial Mall South
13. TITLE Lincoln, NE 68509

Director, Division of Medicaid & Long-Term Care

14. DATE SUBMITTED
February 7, 2023

FOR CMS USE ONLY

16. DATE RECEIVED 17. DATE APPROVED
February 7, 2023 May 4, 2023

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL

January 1, 2023
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
James G. Scott Director, Division of Program Operations

22. REMARKS

FORM CMS-179 (09/24)



ATTACHMENT 3.1-A

ltem 7a, Page 1

Applies to Both Categorically
and

Medically Needy

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State Nebraska

LIMITATIONS - HOME HEALTH NURSING SERVICES

1. Home health agency services must be prior authorized by Nebraska Medicaid.

2. Coverage for all home health agency services is based on medical necessity, and must
be:
a. necessary to continuing a medical treatment plan;
b. prescribed by a licensed physician, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or
clinical nurse specialist;
c. recertified by a licensed physician, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or
clinical nurse specialist at least every 60 days in accordance with licensure; and

3. Nebraska Medicaid does not cover skilled nursing visits provided by student nurses who
are enrolled in a school of nursing and are not employed by the home health agency
unless the student is accompanied by a registered nurse who is an employee of the home
health agency.

4. Nebraska Medicaid limits skilled nursing visits for teaching and training on an individual
basis, based on medical necessity and the ability of the client, parent or caregiver to
perform the task independently. The client must have a medical condition which has been
diagnosed and treated by a physician. There must be a physician's order for the specific
teaching and training.

TN No. NE 23-0001
Supersedes Approval Date 5/4/2023 Effective Date 1/1/2023
TN No. NE 14-011



ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Item 7, Page 1a

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State Nebraska
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES

HOME HEALTH SERVICES

A nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or clinical nurse specialist can order home health services
and certify the home health agency’s plan of care. Extended Services are performed by a home
health or private-duty nursing service provider when the client’s needs cannot be appropriately met
within the Brief Service limitation of two hours or less.

Medicaid applies the following payment limitations to nursing services (RN and LPN) for adults
age 21 and older:

a. Per diem reimbursement for nursing services for the care of ventilator-dependent
clients are paid at the lower of:
1. The provider's submitted charge;
2. The allowable amount for each respective procedure in the Nebraska Medicaid
Home Health Agency Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service; or
3. The average ventilator-dependent per diem of all Nebraska nursing facilities which
are providing that service. This average per diem shall be computed using nursing
facility's ventilator rates which are effective July 1 of each year, and are applicable
for that state fiscal year period.

b. Per diem reimbursement for all other in-home nursing services are paid at the lower
of:
1. The provider's submitted charge;
2. The allowable amount for each respective procedure in the Nebraska Medicaid
Home Health Agency Fee Schedule in effect for that date of service; or
3. The Extensive Services 2 case-mix reimbursement level. This average shall be
computed using the Extensive Services 2 case-mix nursing facility rates which are
effective July 1 of each year, and applicable for that state fiscal year period.

Under special circumstances, the per diem reimbursement may exceed this maximum for a
short period of time - for example, a recent return from a hospital stay. However, in these cases,
the 30 day average of the in-home nursing per diems shall not exceed the maximum above.
(The 30 days are defined to include the days which are paid in excess of the maximum plus
those days immediately following, totaling 30.) When services which are reimbursed per a fee
schedule, except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the
same for both governmental and private providers. The agency’s rates were set as of July 1,
2022, and are effective for home health services on or after that date. All rates are published at:
http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Medicaid-Provider-Rates-and-Fee-Schedules.aspx. From the landing
page, scroll down to the fee schedule for the specific program and year.

TN # NE 23-0001
Supersedes Approval Date _5/4/2023 Effective Date 1/1/2023
TN # NE 22-0012





