# **Table of Contents**

State/Territory Name: North Dakota

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 23-0010

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

#### DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

June 26, 2023

Krista Fremming
Interim Director
Medical Services Division
ND Department of Health and Human Services
600 East Boulevard Avenue Dept. 325
Bismarck, ND 58505-0250

Re: North Dakota State Plan Amendment (SPA) 23-0010

Dear Ms. Fremming:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) ND-23-0010. This amendment proposes to update the provider qualifications for Personal Care Services.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social Security Act and implementing regulations 42 CFR 430.12(b). This letter is to inform you that North Dakota Medicaid SPA 23-0010 was approved on June 26, 2023, with an effective date of April 1, 2023.

If you have any questions, please contact Tyson Christensen at (816) 426-6440 or via email at Tyson.Christensen@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

James G. Scott, Director Division of Program Operations

**Enclosures** 

cc: LeeAnn Thiel

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE 2 3 — 0 0 1 0 ND
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT XIX XXI
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE  April 1, 2023
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars)
42 CFR 430.12(b)	a FFY 2023 \$ 0 b. FFY 2024 \$ 0
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT	8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)
Attachment to Page 10 of Attachment 3.1-A Attachment to Page 9 of Attachment 3.1-B	Attachment to Page 10 of Attachment 3.1-A (TN 22-0024) Attachment to Page 9 of Attachment 3.1-B (TN 22-0024)
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT	-!
Amends the State Plan to update the provider qualifications for Personal Care Services.	
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)	
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
O COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	Krista Fremming, Interim Director Medical Services Division
	5. RETURN TO
	rista Fremming, Interim Director ledical Services Division
12. TYPED NAME	D Department of Health and Human Services
	00 East Boulevard Avenue Dept 325
Interim Medical Services Director	ismarck ND 58505-0250
14. DATE SUBMITTED May 1, 2023	
FOR CMS USE ONLY	
The second secon	7. DATE APPROVED
May 2, 2023  PLAN APPROVED - ONE	June 26. 2023 E COPY ATTACHED
	9. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
April 1, 2023	
	1. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
James G. Scott	Director, Division of Program Operations
22. REMARKS	

Attachment to Page 10 of Attachment 3.1-A

## 26. Personal Care Services (continued)

State: North Dakota

The comprehensive assessment identifies the individual's needs and the personal care services that must be provided to address the individual's needs.

A comprehensive assessment must be completed by Aging Services case manager, or by a regional human service center developmental disabilities, or mental health case manager, or an individual home and community-based services case manager, initially before any personal care services can be authorized, and annually thereafter. The case manager also completes a comprehensive review of the individual's needs at least annually or when there is a significant change in the individual's needs. Personal care services must be provided in accordance with a care plan developed from the assessment of the individual's needs. The care plan authorized by the State Medicaid Agency approves the maximum number of hours of personal care services that an individual may receive during a month.

The State does not allow a physician to authorize, but can refer an individual to the State.

### PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS

Agencies must verify that they have procedures in place to accurately document the provision of furnished services and that they have trained the individuals furnishing services in their responsibility to report the furnished services properly and accurately.

Personal care service must be provided by an individual who is at least 18 years of age and who has provided evidence that he or she meets the standards established by the Department of Human Services for providing personal care services. Competency of meeting the standards can be verified by a health care professional and must be reestablished every thirty months or can be by virtue of licensure or certification as a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, physical therapist, occupational therapist, or certified nursing assistant.

The providers are not required to have a degree or a specific educational level. They are required to meet the standards of tasks commonly performed in the provision of personal care and the ability to perform tasks as verified by the health care professional or by virtue of licensure in North Dakota Administrative Code.

TN: 23-0010

Supersedes Approval Date: 06-26-2023 Effective Date: 04-01-2023

TN: <u>22-024</u>

Attachment to Page 9 of Attachment 3.1-B

## 26. Personal Care Services (continued)

State: North Dakota

The comprehensive assessment identifies the individual's needs and the personal care services that must be provided to address the individual's needs.

A comprehensive assessment must be completed by Aging Services case manager, or by a regional human service center developmental disabilities, or mental health case manager, or an individual home and community-based services case manager, initially before any personal care services can be authorized, and annually thereafter. The case manager also completes a comprehensive review of the individual's needs at least annually or when there is a significant change in the individual's needs. Personal care services must be provided in accordance with a care plan developed from the assessment of the individual's needs. The care plan authorized by the State Medicaid Agency approves the maximum number of hours of personal care services that an individual may receive during a month.

The State does not allow a physician to authorize, but can refer an individual to the State.

### PROVIDER QUALIFICATIONS

Agencies must verify that they have procedures in place to accurately document the provision of furnished services and that they have trained the individuals furnishing services in their responsibility to report the furnished services properly and accurately.

Personal care service must be provided by an individual who is at least 18 years of age and who has provided evidence that he or she meets the standards established by the Department of Human Services for providing personal care services. Competency of meeting the standards can be verified by a health care professional and must be reestablished every thirty months or can be by virtue of licensure or certification as a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, physical therapist, occupational therapist, or certified nursing assistant.

The providers are not required to have a degree or a specific educational level. They are required to meet the standards of tasks commonly performed in the provision of personal care and the ability to perform tasks as verified by the health care professional or by virtue of licensure in North Dakota Administrative Code.

TN: 23-0010

Supersedes Approval Date: 06-26-2023 Effective Date: 04-01-2023

TN: <u>22-024</u>