Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: North Carolina

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 21-0026

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

January 25, 2022

Dave Richard Deputy Secretary, NC Medicaid North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services 2501 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-2501

Re: North Carolina State Plan Amendment 21-0026

Dear Mr. Richard:

We reviewed your proposed Medicaid State Plan Amendment, NC 21-0026, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on December 6, 2021. This amendment modifies the policy for Third Party Liability (TPL) regarding neonatal claims and complies with the TPL requirements authorized under both the Bipartisan Budget Act (BBA) of 2018 and the Medicaid Services Investment and Accountability Act (MSIAA) of 2019.

CMS approved NC 21-0026 on January 20, 2022, with an effective date of October 1, 2021.

If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please contact William Pak at (404) 562-7407 or via email at William.Pak@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Ruth A. Hughes, Acting Director Division of Program Operations Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION		FORM APPROVED OMB NO. 0938-0193
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 21-0026	2. STATE NC
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECUR	ITY ACT (MEDICAID)
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE October 1, 2021	
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE 0	CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	AMENDMENT
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AME		n amendment)
	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	
CFR 433.138	a. FFY 2021 \$0.00 b. FFY 2022 \$0.00	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: Attachment 4.22-B, Pages 1-2 Section 4, Pages 69-70	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPER OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable): Attachment 4.22-B, Pages 1-2 Section 4, Pages 69-70	SEDED PLAN SECTION
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: Third Party Liability (TPL) Cost Avoidance for Neonatal Cla	aims	
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	⊠ OTHER, AS SPEC	CIFIED: Secretary
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
	Office of the Secretary	
13. TYPED NAME:	Department of Health and Human S	ervices
Mandy Cohen, MD, MPH	2001 Mail Service Center	
14. TITLE: Secretary	Raleigh, NC 27699-20014	
15. DATE SUBMITTED: December 6, 2021		
FOR REGIONAL OF	FFICE USE ONLY	
17. DATE RECEIVED: December 6, 2021	18. DATE APPROVED: January 20, 2	022
PLAN APPROVED – ON		
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: October 1, 2021		
21. TYPED NAME: Ruth A. Hughes	22. TITLE: Acting Director, Division	of Program Operations
23. REMARKS: Pen and ink changes made to Box 8 and Box 9 wit	h approval of the state on January 13, 202	2.

Revision:	HCFA-PM-90-2	(BPD)	Attachment 4.22-B
	January 1990		Page 1
			OMB No:0938-0193

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State/Territory: North Carolina

Requirements for Third Party Liability -Identifying Liable Resources

(1)If a provider has billed a third party and has not received payment, the provider will be required to submit proof that he or she has attempted to bill the third party within 90 days and has not received payment. The provider must indicate, in writing, either on the hardcopy claim form or a separate form that he had billed the third party and has not received payment. The TPL unit will verify with the insurance carrier the availability of third party payments and if the payments are available, the TPL unit will bill the third party for reimbursement to the Medicaid program. If the absent or custodial parent is to make medical support payments, in cash, through the clerk of courts office, the TPL unit will bill the absent or custodial parent for medical services on a routine schedule, not to exceed every sixty (60) days if there has been Medicaid payments on behalf of the child(ren). The TPL unit will allow up to (100) days to pay claims related to medical support enforcement. For those absent parents who are court ordered to provide health insurance, the TPL unit will pay and chase the Medicaid claims. If the provider uses electronic billing, the TPL unit will do selective monitoring to verify provider compliance with this regulation. This will be done by selecting a sample of recipients with TPL available and securing the paid claim history for the proceeding three (3) months for these recipients and verify with the third party carrier the information the provider furnished on his claim form.

TN No. <u>21-0026</u> Supersedes TN No. 91-49

Approval Date 01/20/2022 Eff. Date 10/01/2021

Revision: HCFA-PM-90-2

January 1990

Attachment 4.22-B Page 2 OMB No:0938-0193

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State/Territory: North Carolina

Requirements for Third Party Liability -Identifying Liable Resources

- (2) The State of North Carolina will cost avoid claims for prenatal services. Prenatal services include labor, delivery and postpartum care services. Preventive pediatric services including EPSDT for those recipients that have major medical insurance coverage the state will pay and chase these claims unless the state has made a determination related to cost effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost avoidance for up to (90) days. The state collects all known third-party liability prior to making payments on claims. The TPL unit will accumulate these claims for a period of six (6) months and bill the major medical carriers for payment. The first billing will be done in January, 1992 for claims paid May 7, 1991 to December 31, 1991. After that, they will be billed to the insurance carrier each July and January for the preceding six (6) months.
- (3) North Carolina does not use a threshold for TPL claims processing. We cost avoid all claims, except those for which we have a waiver, when there is health insurance indicated on the TPL data base and recipient eligibility file.
- (4) All claims for a recipient related to trauma diagnosis code between 800.00 and 999.99 are accumulated for a period of one (1) month and a questionnaire is mailed to that recipient at the end of the month requesting information related to a possible accident and any and all information regarding the liable party and/or the recipient's attorney. See Attachment 3 in the North Carolina TPL Action Plan for a sample copy of the questionnaire.

 TN No. 21-0026

 Supersedes
 Approval Date 01/20/2022
 Eff. Date 10/01/2021

 TN No. 91-49
 Eff. Date 10/01/2021
 Eff. Date 10/01/2021

(BPD)

Revision:	HCFA-PM-94-1 FEBRUARY 1994	(MB)		
	State/Territory:	North	Caro	lina
Citation	4	.22 <u>Third P</u>	arty	Liability
42 CFR 433	.137	(a)	The of:	Medicaid agency meets all requirements
1902(a)(25) Act.)(H) and (I)		(1) (2) (3) (4)	42 CFR 433.145 through 433.148.
42 CFR 433	.138(f)	(b)	ATT	ACHMENT 4.22-A -
			(1)	The frequency with which the data exchanges required in §433.138(d)(1), (d)(3) and (d)(4) and the diagnosis and trauma code edits required in §433.138(e) are conducted;
42 CFR 433 and (2)(ii)	.138(g)(l)(ii))		(2)	Describes the methods the agency uses for meeting the follow-up requirements contained in §433. 138 (g)(1)(i) and (g)(2)(i);
42 CFR 433 and (iii)	.138(g)(3)(i)		(3)	Describes the methods the agency uses for following up on information obtained through the State motor vehicle accident report file data exchange required under \$433.138(d)(4) (ii) and specifies the time frames for incorporation into the eligibility case file and into its third party data base and third party recovery unit of all information obtained through the follow up that identifies legally liable third party resources; and
42 CFR 433 through (i:	.138(g)(4)(i) ii)		(4)	The methods the agency uses for following up on paid claims identified under \$433.138(e) and specifies the time frames for incorporation into the eligibility case file and into its third party data base and third party recovery unit of all information obtained through the follow up that identifies legally liable third party resources.

TN No. <u>21-0026</u> Supersedes TN No. <u>94-11</u>

Approval Date $\underline{01/20/2022}$

Effective Date 10/01/2021

69

Revision:	HCFA-PM-94-1 FEBRUARY 1994	(MB)		
State/Terr	itory: <u>North</u>	n Caro	lina	
Citation				
42 CFR 433 (ii) (A)	.139(b)(3) <u>X</u>	(c)	liab cover to ar suppo	iders are required to bill le third parties when services red under the plan are furnished n individual an whose behalf child ort enforcement is being carried by the State IV-D agency.
		(d)	-	CHMENT 4.22-B specifies the owing:
42 CFR 433	.139(b)(3)(ii)(C))	(1)	The method used in determining a provider's compliance with the third party billing requirements at §433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C).
42 CFR 433	.139(f)(2)		(2)	The guideline used in determining whether to seek recovery of reimbursement from liable third party, or the process by which the agency determines that seeking recovery of reimbursement would not be cost effective.
42 CFR 433	.139(f)(3)		(3)	The dollar amount or time period the State uses to accumulate billings from a particular liable third party in making this decision to seek recovery of reimbursement.
42 CFR 447	.20	(e)	the p which	Medicaid agency ensures that provider furnishing a service for h a third party is liable follows restrictions specified in 42 CFR 20.

Revision: HCFA-PM-94-1 (MB) FEBRUARY 1994		
State/Terr	itory:	North Carolina
Citation	4.22	(continued):
42 CFR 433.151(a)	(f)	The Medicaid agency has written cooperative agreements for the enforcement of rights to and collection of third party benefits assigned to the State as a condition of eligibility for medical assistance with the following: (Check as appropriate.)
		<u>X</u> State title IV-D agency. The requirements of 42 CFR 433.152 (b) are met.
		Other appropriate State agency(s)
		Other appropriate agency(s) of another State
		X Courts and law enforcement officials.
1902(a)(60) of the Act	(g)	The Medicaid agency assures that the State has in effect the laws relating to medical child support under section 1908 of the Act.
1906 of the Act	(h)	The Medicaid, agency specifies the guidelines used in determining the cost effectiveness of an employer-based group health plan by selecting one of the following.
		The Secretary's method as provided in the State Medicaid Manual, Section 3910.
		X The State provides methods for Determining cost effectiveness on ATTACHMENT 4.22-C.

Eff. Date <u>10/01/2021</u>