Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Mississippi

State Plan Amendment (SPA)#: 24-0014

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) Form CMS-179
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

November 27, 2024

Cindy H. Bradshaw Executive Director Mississippi Division of Medicaid 550 High Street, Suite 1000 Jackson, MS 39201

Re: Mississippi State Plan Amendment (SPA) 24-0014

Dear Executive Director Bradshaw:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 24-0014. This amendment allows the Division of Medicaid to reimburse certain diabetic equipment and supplies based on reimbursement methodology for drugs when provided through the pharmacy venue.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social Security Act and implementing regulations 42 CFR 447.201. This letter informs you that Mississippi's Medicaid SPA TN 24-0014 was approved on November 27, 2024, effective July 1, 2024.

If you have any questions, please contact Tandra Hodges at (404) 562-7409 or via email at Tandra. Hodges@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

James G. Scott, Director Division of Program Operations

Enclosures

cc: Robin Bradshaw

Sarah Tadlock Trip Polles

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT XIX XXI
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE July 1, 2024
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 42 C.F.R. § 447.201	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a FFY 24 \$ 65,309 b. FFY 25 \$ 259,984
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT Attachment 3.1-A Exhibit 7 Attachment 4.19-B Exhibit A Pages 10-12	8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) Attachment 3.1-A Exhibit 7 Attachment 4.19-B Exhibit A Pages 10-12
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT State Plan Amendment (SPA) 24-0014 is being submitted to allow the Division of Medicaid (DOM) to reimburse certain diabetic equipment and supplies according to the reimbursement methodology for drugs when provided through the pharmacy venue, effective July 1, 2024.	
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	
11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL	15. RETURN TO Drew L. Snyder
12. TYPED NAME Drew L. Snyder 13. TITLE	Miss. Division of Medicaid Attn: Robin Bradshaw 550 High Street, Suite 1000
Executive Director 14. DATE SUBMITTED	Jackson, MS 39201-1399
9/27/2024 FOR CMS USE ONLY	
16. DATE RECEIVED 09/27/2024	17. DATE APPROVED 11/27/2024
PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED	
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 07/01/2024	19. SIGNATURE OF ARREST INC. OFFICIAL
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL James G. Scott	21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL Director, Division of Program Operations
22. REMARKS	

State of Mississippi

DESCRIPTIONS OF LIMITATION AS TO AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED

applicable state and federal laws and requirements.

The Division of Medicaid covers medical supplies, equipment, and appliances prescribed by a physician, nurse practitioner, or physician assistant working in accordance with State law and prior authorized as specified by the Division of Medicaid in accordance with 42 C.F.R. § 440.70. Medical supplies, equipment, and appliances may be provided regardless of whether a beneficiary is receiving services from a home health agency.

For the initial ordering of certain medical equipment the prescribing physician or allowed non-physician practitioner must document that a face-to-face encounter occurred no more than six (6) months prior to the start of services. The face-to-face encounter must be related to the primary reason the beneficiary requires the medical equipment. If State law does not allow the non-physician practitioner to perform the face-to-face encounter independently, the non-physician practitioner must communicate the clinical findings of the face to-face encounter to the ordering physician. Those clinical findings must be incorporated into a written or electronic document included in the beneficiary's medical record.

Medical supplies, equipment, and appliances are covered if they:

- 1. Are relevant to the beneficiary's plan of care,
- 2. Are medically necessary,
- 3. Primarily serve a medical purpose,
- 4. Have therapeutic or diagnostic characteristics enabling a beneficiary to effectively carry out a physician's prescribed treatment for illness, injury, or disease, and
- 5. Are appropriate for use in the non-institutional setting where the beneficiary's normal life activities take place, other than a hospital; nursing facility; intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF/IID) unless the ICF/IID is not required to provide the home health service; or any setting in which payment is or could be made under Medicaid for inpatient service that include room and board.

The beneficiary's need for medical supplies, equipment and appliances must be reviewed by the beneficiary's physician or other licensed practitioner acting within their scope of practice authorized under state law annually.

Medical equipment and appliances must be provided through qualified DME providers. Medical supplies may be provided through a qualified home health agency or DME provider.

Diabetic equipment and supplies may also be provided by Mississippi Medicaid enrolled pharmacies.

The Division of Medicaid covers all medically necessary services for Early, Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT)-eligible beneficiaries without regard to service limitation and with prior authorization

TN No.: 24-0014 Date Received: 09/27/2024 Supersedes Date Approved: 11/27/2024 TN No.: 17-0001 Date Effective: 07/01/2024

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISIDING PAYMENT RATES-OTHER TYPES OF CARE

VIII. Durable Medical Equipment

A The payment for the purchase of new Durable Medical Equipment (DME) is the lesser of the provider's usual and customary charge or a fee from the statewide uniform fee schedule effective as of October 1, 2022 and updated July 1 of each year thereafter and effective for services provided on or after those dates. The Mississippi statewide uniform fee schedule will be calculated using eighty percent (80%) of the Medicare rural rate, if available, or the non-rural rate if there is no rural rate, on the Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) Fee Schedule in effect on January 1 of each year.

If there is no DMEPOS fee, the provider will be reimbursed a fee determined by the Division of Medicaid, as needed, based on the lower of the Division of Medicaid's average/established fee or the average of the fees from other states, when available, or determine the fee from cost information from providers and/or manufacturers, survey information from national fee analyzers, or other relevant feerelated information.

- B. If there is no DMEPOS fee or a fee determined by the Division of Medicaid, the provider will be reimbursed a fee calculated through the following manual pricing:
 - 1. Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) minus twenty percent (20%), or
 - 2. If there is no MSRP, then the provider's invoice received from a wholesaler or manufacturer plus twenty percent (20%).
- C. The payment for rental of DME is made from a Mississippi statewide uniform fee schedule based on ten percent (10%) of eighty percent (80%) of the Medicare DMEPOS in effect January 1 of that year or Mississippi Medicaid established fee as described in letter A or B not to exceed ten (10) months. After rental benefits are paid for ten (10) months, the DME becomes the property of the Mississippi Medicaid beneficiary unless otherwise authorized by the Division of Medicaid through specific coverage criteria.
- D. The payment for purchase of used DME is made from a Mississippi statewide uniform fee schedule based on fifty percent (50%) of eighty percent (80%) of the Medicare DMEPOS in effect January 1 of that year or Mississippi Medicaid established fee as described in letter A or B.
- E. The payment for repair of DME is the cost of the repair, not to exceed fifty percent (50%) of eighty percent (80%) of the Medicare DMEPOS in effect January I of that year or Mississippi Medicaid established fee as described in letter A or B.
- F. Any durable medical equipment not listed on the fee schedule may be requested for coverage by submitting documentation to the Division of Medicaid's UM/QIO who will determine medical necessity on a case-by-case basis.
- G. Certain diabetic equipment will be reimbursed according to Attachment 4.19-B, Pages 12a. through 12a.1.1 when provided by a Mississippi Medicaid enrolled Pharmacy.

TN No. 24-0014 Supersedes TN No. 22-0027 Date Received: 09/27/2024
Date Approved: 11/27/2024
Date Effective: 07/01/2024

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM State of Mississippi

Attachment 4.19-B Exhibit A, Page 11

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES-OTHER TYPES OF CARE

DME for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) beneficiaries, if medically necessary, which exceed the limitations and scope for Medicaid beneficiaries, as covered in this Plan, are reimbursed according to the methodology in the above paragraphs.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of DME. All rates are published at www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/fee-schedules-and-rates/#.

TN No. <u>24-0014</u> Supersedes TN No. <u>22-0027</u> Date Received: 09/27/2024
Date Approved: 11/27/2024
Date Effective: 07/01/2024

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES-OTHER TYPES OF CARE

Medical Supplies

- A. The payment for the purchase of Medical Supplies is the lesser of the provider's usual and customary charge or a fee from a Mississippi statewide uniform fee schedule effective as of October 1, 2022 and updated July 1 of each year thereafter and effective for services provided on or after those dates. The statewide uniform fee schedule will be calculated using eighty percent (80%) of the rural rate, if available, or the non-rural rate if there is no rural rate, on the Medicare Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics, and Supplies (DMEPOS) Fee Schedule in effect on January 1 of each year.
- B. If there is no DMEPOS fee, the provider will be reimbursed a fee determined by the Division of Medicaid, as needed, based on the lower of the Division of Medicaid's average/established fee or the average of the fees from other states, when available, or determine the fee from cost information from providers and/or manufacturers, survey information from national fee analyzers, or other relevant feerelated information.
- C. If there is no DMEPOS fee or a fee determined by the Division of Medicaid, the provider will be reimbursed a fee calculated through the following manual pricing:
 - 1. Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) minus twenty percent (20%), or
 - 2. If there is no MSRP, then the provider's invoice received from a wholesaler or manufacturer plus twenty percent (20%).
- D. Any medical supplies not listed on the Mississippi Medicaid fee schedule may be requested for coverage by submitting documentation to the Division of Medicaid's UM/Q1• who will determine medical necessity on a case-by-case basis.
- E. Certain diabetic supplies will be reimbursed according to Attachment 4.19-B, Pages 12a. through 12a.1.1 when provided by a Mississippi Medicaid enrolled Pharmacy.

Medical Supplies for EPSDT beneficiaries, if medically necessary, which exceed the limitations and scope for Medicaid beneficiaries, as covered in this Plan, are reimbursed according to the methodology in the above paragraphs.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of medical supplies. All rates are published at www.medicaid.ms.gov/providers/fee-schedules-and-rates/#.

TN No. <u>24-0014</u> Supersedes TN No. 22-0027

Date Received: 09/27/2024
Date Approved: 11/27/2024
Date Effective: 07/01/2024