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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services

230 South Dearborn

Chicago, Illinois 60604

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

November 25, 2024

John Connolly, Assistant Commissioner
State Medicaid Director

State of Minnesota, Department of Human Services
540 Cedar Street PO Box 64983
ST. Paul, MN 55167-0983

RE: TN 25-0005
Dear Director Connolly:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed Minnesota state
plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B 25-0005, which was submitted to CMS on
September 16, 2024. This plan amendment updates rates for Personal Care Services.

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements including in
sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903 as it relates to the identification of an
adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by
1902(a)(2), of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations.

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an
effective date of January 1, 2025. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the
new state plan pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Debi Benson at
312-886-0360 or via email at Deborah.Benson@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

TO!! MCMJ Lon

Director
Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures
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STATE: MINNESOTA
Effective: January 1, 2025 ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
TN:25-05 Page 74
Approved: November 25, 2024
Supersedes: 23-24 (22-23, 21-23, 19-14,17-14,16-13,15-11,13-23,11-18,09-28,08-17,07-08,06-19, 06~
08,05-21,04-22,02-20)
26. Personal care services.

Payment is the lower of the submitted charge or the rate from the chart below.

Service 42034 7/1/2015| 7/1/2016 8/1/2017| 7/1/2019| 10/1/2021| 1/1/2024| 1/1/2025
provided on
or after

Personal $4-16 $4.27 $4.28 $4.35 $4.45 $4.90 $5.95 $6.21
Care 1:1
unit

Personal $3 12 $3.20 $3.21 $3.26 $3.34 $3.68 $4.47 $4.67
Care 1:2
unit

Personal S$274 $2.81 $2.82 $2.86 $2.93 $3.23 $3.92 $4.09
Care 1:3
unit

Supervision | $+3% $7.50 $7.52 S7.64 $7.82 $11.71 $13.26 $13.84
of Personal
Care unit

NOTE: 1 unit = 15 minutes

Shared care: For two recipients sharing services, payment is one and one-half
times the payment for serving one recipient. For three recipients sharing
services, payment must not exceed two times the payment for serving one
recipient. This paragraph applies only to situations in which all recipients were
present and received shared services on the date for which the service is billed.

PCA Choice option: Payment is the same as that paid for personal care assistant
services.

Enhanced payment for services provided to persons with complex needs: Effective
for services provided on or after July 1, 2019, the Department will increase the
payment rates above by 7.5 percent for personal care assistant services provided
to a recipient whose assessment indicates the need for at least 12 hours of
personal care services per day. Effective for services provided on or after
January 1, 2022, this enhanced payment applies to rates for personal care
assistant services provided to a recipient whose assessment indicates the need
for at least 10 hours of personal care services per day.
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STATE: MINNESOTA
Effective: January 1, 2025

TN:25-05

Approved: November 25, 2024

Supersedes: 11-18 (09-28, 07-08, 06-19, 06-08,
04-22, 02-20)

26. Personal Care Services (continued)

Rate Enhancements:

05-21,

ATTACHMENT 4.19-B
Page 74a

Payment for personal care assistant services is 107.5 percent of the base rate for

services provided to a recipient whose assessment identifies at least 10 hours

of personal care services per day.

In order for providers to receive the increased payment rate,

the personal care

assistant providing services must have completed

training approved by the

Commissioner.

This increase does not apply to supervision of a personal care

assistant.

A rate enhancement is also paid based on the experience of support workers

according to the following formula

(and applies to the 1:1,

1:2, and 1:3 shared

care rates). Workers must provide more than 1000

cumulative hours of PCA or CFSS

services under sections 1905(a) for PCA, 1915 (c)

for extended PCA and extended

CFSS, and under sections 1915(i) and 1915 (k) for

CFSS. The calculation is based

on the cumulative hours worked beginning on July

1, 2017. Where the 107.5

percent rate enhancement and the enhancement for worker experience applies, the
107.5 percent amount is the base for calculating this additional enhancement.
The enhancement is as follows:

(1) for workers who have provided between 1,001 and 2,000 cumulative hours, the
amount is 2.17 percent;

(2) for workers who have provided between 2,001 and 6,000 cumulative hours, the
amount is 4.36 percent;

(3) for workers who have provided between 6,001 and 10,000 cumulative hours, the

amount is 7.35 percent; and

(4)

for workers who have provided more than 10,000 cumulative hours,

the amount

is 10.81 percent.






