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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services

230 South Dearborn

Chicago, Illinois 60604

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

November 25, 2024

John Connolly, Assistant Commissioner

State Medicaid Director

State of Minnesota, Department of Human Services
540 Cedar Street PO Box 64983

ST. Paul, MN 55167-0983

RE: TN 25-0004
Dear Director Connolly:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed Minnesota state
plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B 25-0004, which was submitted to CMS on
September 16, 2024. This plan amendment adds a rate enhancement related to work experience for
1915(k) Community First Services and Supports (CFSS).

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements including in
sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903 as it relates to the identification of an
adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by
1902(a)(2), of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations.

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an
effective date of January 1, 2025. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new
state plan pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Debi Benson at
312-886-0360 or via email at Deborah.Benson(@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Todd McMillion
Director
Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates

1. Services Provided Under Section 1915(i) of the Social Security Act. For each
optional service, describe the methods and standards used to set the associated payment rate.
(Check each that applies, and describe methods and standards to set rates):

I | HCBS Case Management

O | HCBS Homemaker

0 | HCBS Home Health Aide

HCBS Personal Care

HCBS Personal Care Assistance payment under the agency-provider model with service
unit allocation is the lower of the submitted charge, or the state agency established rate,
up to the number of units authorized in the participant’s approved service allocation:

Personal Care 1:1 unit $6.21
Personal Care 1:2 unit $4.67
Personal Care 1:3 unit $4.09

NOTE: One unit is equal to 15 minutes.

Participants receiving services under the agency-provider model who then transfer to the
budget model, will have any remaining service units converted to a service budget as
described above.

Shared care:

For two participants sharing services, payment is one and one-half times the payment for
serving one participant. For three participants sharing services, payment must not exceed
two times the payment for serving one participant. This paragraph applies only to
situations in which all participants were present and received shared services on the date
for which the service 1s billed.

The rate methodology consisted of:

* A base wage index was established using Minnesota-specific wages taken from job
descriptions and standard occupational classification codes from the BLS Occupational
Handbook.
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* A competitive workforce factor multiplier was applied to the direct staffing wage to
address the difference in average wages for direct care staff and other occupations with
similar education, training, and experience requirements, as identified by the BLS
Occupational Handbook.

» The average wages were adjusted to differentiate between shared and individual
staffing.

» Shared staffing was taken into account, when staff are available to provide services to
more than 1 person and individual staffing, when direct care staff are available to solely
provide support as a 1-to-1 interaction with a specific individual.

*» These wage expenses were multiplied by factors for relief staffing, ancillary staff needs,
employee-related taxes and benefits, and client programming.

Budget Model:

Under the budget model, an amount equal to the participant’s authorized service units
multiplied by the amount listed above for a 1:1 unit is authorized for use by the
participant.

Shared care: For 1:2 and 1:3 shared care under the budget model, services are billed
according to the shared care rates outlined above.

Rate Enhancements

An enhanced rate of 107.5 percent of the rate paid for CFSS must be paid for services
provided to persons who qualify for ten or more hours of CFSS per day when provided by
a support worker who meets the training requirements.

A rate enhancement is also paid based on the experience of support workers according to
the following formula (and applies to the 1:1, 1:2, and 1:3 rates). Workers must provide
more than 1000 cumulative hours of PCA or CFSS services under sections 1905(a) for
PCA, 1915(c) for extended PCA and extended CFSS, and under sections 1915(1) and
1915(k) for CFSS. The calculation is based on the cumulative hours worked beginning
on July 1, 2017. When the 107.5% rate enhancement and the enhancement for worker
experience applies to the same worker, the 107.5% amount 1s the base for calculating this
additional enhancement.

The enhancement is as follows:

(1) for workers who have provided between 1,001 and 2,000 cumulative hours, the
amount 1s 2.17 percent;

(2) for workers who have provided between 2,001 and 6,000 cumulative hours, the
amount is 4.36 percent;
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(3) for workers who have provided between 6,001 and 10,000 cumulative hours, the
amount is 7.35 percent; and

(4) for workers who have provided more than 10,000 cumulative hours, the amount is
10.81 percent.

| HCBS Adult Day Health
1 | HCBS Habilitation
] | HCBS Respite Care

For Individuals with Chronic Mental Illness, the following services:

1 | HCBS Day Treatment or Other Partial Hospitalization Services

1 | HCBS Psychosocial Rehabilitation

O | HCBS Clinic Services (whether or not furnished in a facility for CMI)
X | Other Services (specify below)

Personal Emergency Response Systems (PERS): Personal emergency response systems
include three parts. Each part has its own limit per service agreement year:

* Purchase of the PERS equipment, including necessary training or instruction on
use of the equipment ($1,500 maximum)

» Installation, setup and testing of the PERS equipment ($500 maximum)

* Monthly monitoring fees ($110 monthly maximum).
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The CFSS participant receives up to $3,000 total of personal emergency response
equipment and related services per service agreement year.

Individual Directed Goods and Services: When a participant chooses to purchase
goods and services through CFSS, the cost for the goods and services is covered using
the particpant’s service budget.

Limitations:

Goods and Services must not exceed an individual’s budget allocation.

Financial Management Services: Financial Management Services (FMS) providers
must provide their service rates to the state agency as a part of the contracting process.
They are required to notify the state agency immediately of any changes to their
established rates. FMS providers must make public the maximum rate(s) for their services
and a public site with approved providers and rates is maintained by DHS at
https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/people-with-disabilities/services/home-
community/programs-and-services/fms.jsp. The rate and scope of FMS is negotiated
between the participant or the participant’s representative and the FMS provider, and
mncluded in the service delivery plan. FMS provider fees must be on a fee-for-service
basis and not a percentage of the participants’ service budget, and may not include set up
fees, base rates or other similar charges.






