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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-14-26 
Baltimore, Maryland   21244-1850 
 
Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services 

                   Medicaid Benefits and Health Programs Group 
 
June 12, 2024 
 
Julie Marquardt 
Assistant Commissioner and Minnesota Medicaid Director 
Minnesota Department of Human Services 
540 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0983 
 

Dear Julie Marquardt: 

The CMS Division of Pharmacy team has reviewed Minnesota’s state plan amendment (SPA)  
24-0011, received in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services OneMAC application  
on March 28, 2024.  This amendment proposes to expand coverage for prescription contraceptives to 
up to a 12-month supply.  
 
Based on the information provided and consistent with the regulations at 42 CFR 447.20, we are 
pleased to inform you MN-24-0011 is approved with an effective date of January 1, 2024.  Our review 
was limited to the material necessary to evaluate the SPA under applicable federal laws and 
regulations.   
 
We are attaching a copy of the updated CMS-179 form, as well as the pages approved for 
incorporation into Minnesota’s state plan.  If you have any questions regarding this state plan 
amendment, please contact Lisa Shochet at 410-786-5445 or lisa.shochet@cms.hhs.gov. 

 
 
Sincerely, 

Cynthia R. Denemark, R.Ph. 
Director, Division of Pharmacy 

 
 
 
cc: Patrick Hultman, Deputy Medicaid Director, Minnesota Department of Human Services 

Chad Hope, Pharm.D, Minnesota Department of Human Services 
Sandra Porter, Minnesota State Lead, CMS 





6. More than one professional dispensing fee per calendar month for a
maintenance drug for a recipient is allowed if:

a) the record kept by the pharmacist or dispensing physician documents that
there is a significant chance of overdose by the recipient if a larger
quantity of drug is dispensed, and if the pharmacist or dispensing
physician writes a statement of this reason on the prescription; or

b) the drug is clozapine.
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12.a. Prescribed drugs. (continued) 

2. A prescribed drug must be dispensed in the quantity specified on the
prescription unless the pharmacy is using unit dose dispensing, the specified
quantity is not available in the pharmacy when the prescription is dispensed,
or the specified quantity exceeds a 34-day supply.

3. The dispensed quantity of a prescribed drug must not exceed a 34-day supply,
unless authorized by the Department. Refill prescriptions for a 90-day supply
of maintenance drugs in specific therapeutic classes identified by the
Department may be dispensed without prior authorization. Contraceptive drugs
may be dispensed in quantities not exceeding a three-month up to a 12-month
supply do not require without prior authorization.

Retrospective billing is a billing practice in which the pharmacy bills only 
for the quantity of medication actually used by the recipient during the 
retrospective billing cycle established by the pharmacy. A retrospective 
billing cycle must be between 30 and 34 days in length. 

4. An initial or refill prescription for a maintenance drug shall be dispensed
in not less than a 30-day supply unless the pharmacy is using unit dose
dispensing, or is billing retrospectively for a quantity dispensed to a
resident in a long-term care facility via unit dose or an automated
dispensing system. No additional professional dispensing fee shall be paid
until that quantity is used by the recipient. The pharmacy dispensing drugs
to a resident in a long-term care facility must credit the state for the
actual acquisition cost of all unused drugs that are eligible for reuse if
the pharmacy Is not using a retrospective billing process.

5. Except as provided in item (6), coverage of the professional dispensing
fee for a particular pharmacy or dispensing physician for a drug for a
recipient is limited to one professional dispensing fee per 30- to 34-
day supply, or 90 day supply as described in #3.



6. More than one professional dispensing fee per calendar month for a
maintenance drug for a recipient is allowed if:

a) the record kept by the pharmacist or dispensing physician documents that
there is a significant chance of overdose by the recipient if a larger
quantity of drug is dispensed, and if the pharmacist or dispensing
physician writes a statement of this reason on the prescription; or

b) the drug is clozapine.
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2.  A prescribed drug must be dispensed in the quantity specified on the
prescription unless the pharmacy is using unit dose dispensing, the specified
quantity is not available in the pharmacy when the prescription is dispensed,
or the specified quantity exceeds a 34-day supply.

3.  The dispensed quantity of a prescribed drug must not exceed a 34-day supply,
unless authorized by the Department. Refill prescriptions for a 90-day supply
of maintenance drugs in specific therapeutic classes identified by the
Department may be dispensed without prior authorization. Contraceptive drugs
may be dispensed in quantities not exceeding a three month up to a 12-month
supply do not require without prior authorization.

Retrospective billing is a billing practice in which the pharmacy bills only
for the quantity of medication actually used by the recipient during the
retrospective billing cycle established by the pharmacy. A retrospective
billing cycle must be between 30 and 34 days in length.

4.  An initial or refill prescription for a maintenance drug shall be dispensed
in not less than a 30-day supply unless the pharmacy is using unit dose
dispensing, or is billing retrospectively for a quantity dispensed to a
resident in a long-term care facility via unit dose or an automated
dispensing system. No additional professional dispensing fee shall be paid
until that quantity is used by the recipient. The pharmacy dispensing drugs
to a resident in a long-term care facility must credit the state for the
actual acquisition cost of all unused drugs that are eligible for reuse if
the pharmacy is not using a retrospective billing process.

5.  Except as provided in item (6), coverage of the professional dispensing
fee for a particular pharmacy or dispensing physician for a drug for a
recipient is limited to one professional dispensing fee per
30 to 34-day supply, or 90 day supply as described in #3.




