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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services  
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106  

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

 
February 27, 2024 
 
Julie Marquardt 
Assistant Commissioner and Minnesota Medicaid Director  
Minnesota Department of Human Services 
540 Cedar Street 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0983 
 
Re:  Minnesota State Plan Amendment (SPA) 24-0006 
 
Dear Director Marquardt: 
 
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan 
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number 24-0006. This amendment provides 
assurances in Attachment 4.22-B related to third party liability, under the Consolidated 
Appropriations Act of 2022. In addition, the state is restoring a statement related to long term care 
insurance, originally approved under SPA 09-001, but was missing from the submission of page 3 
under previously-approved SPA 22-0015. 
 
We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act. This letter is to inform you that Minnesota Medicaid SPA 24-0006 was 
approved on February 27, 2024, with an effective date of January 1, 2024. 
  
If you have any questions, please contact Sandra Porter at 312-353-8310, or via email at 
Sandra.Porter@cms.hhs.gov. 
 

Sincerely  
 
 
 

James G. Scott, Director 
Division of Program Operations 

 
Enclosures 
 
cc:  Patricia Callaghan, MN DHS 

Alexandra Zoellner, MN DHS 
Melorine Mokri, MN DHS 
Patrick Hultman, MN DHS 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MED ICAID SERVICES 
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 



DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE 

2 4 - 0 0 0 6 MN -- ---- --
3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL 

SECURITY ACT (e_) XIX 0 XXI 
4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 

January 1, 2024 

FORM APPROVED 
0MB No. 0938--01 93 

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) 
a FFY 2024 $ 0 

1902(a)(25)(I) as amended by the CAA and Title XIX of Soc Sec Act 
b. FFY 2025 $ 0 

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 

State Plan page 69a 
Attachment 4.22-B, page 3; new page 4 

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT 

Third party payers and prior authorization 

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) 

® GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 

0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 

0 NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUB MITT AL 

OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) 

State Plan page 69a 
Attachment 4.22-B, page 3 

0 OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 

15. RETURN TO 

Patrick Hultman 

12 _ TYPED NAMt:. -----t Minnesota Department of Human Services 
Patrick Hultman Federal Relations Unit 

---------------------540 Cedar Street, PO Box 64983 
13. TITLE Saint Paul, MN 55164 

Deputy Medicaid Director 
14. DATE SUBMITTED 

January 2, 2024 

16. DATE RECEIVED 

FOR CMS USE ONLY 
17. DATE APPROVED 

Januai 2 2024 Febmai 27 2024 
PLAN APPROVED· ONE COPY ATTACHED 

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 

Januai 1 2024 
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

James G. Scott 
22. REMARKS 

FORM CMS-179 (09/24) Instructions on Back 

erations 



69a 

Revision:     HCFA-PM-94-1  (MB) 
February 1994 

State:             Minnesota 

MN 24-0006 
Supersedes:  __________        Approval Date:  ____________ Effective Date:  01/01/24 
TN 07-05, 01-02, 94-15 & 90-10 

4.22 (continued) 
Citation 
42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(ii)(A) _X_ (c)  Providers are required to bill liable third parties 

when services under the plan are furnished to an  
individual on whose behalf child support enforcement is 
being carried out by the State IV-D agency. 

(d) Attachment 4.22-B specifies the following:

42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C) (1) The methods used in determining a provider’s
compliance with the third party billing requirements at
§433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C).

42 CFR 433.139(f)(2) (2) The threshold amount or other guideline used in
determining whether to seek recovery of reimbursement
from a liable third party, or the process by which the agency
determines that seeking recovery of reimbursement would
not be cost effective.

42 CFR 433.139(f)(3) (3) The dollar amount or time period the State uses to
accumulate billings from a particular liable third party in
making the decision to seek recovery of reimbursement.

42 CFR 447.20 (e) The Medicaid agency ensures that the provider
furnishing a service for which a third party is liable follows
the restriction specified in 42 CFR 447.20.

1902(a)(25(I)(f) The Medicaid agency ensures that laws are in effect that bar 
liable third-party payers from refusing payment for an item 
or service solely on the basis that such item or service did 
not receive prior authorization under the third-party payer’s 
rules. These laws comply with the provisions of section 202 
of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2022.  

42 CFR 433.151(a) (f) The Medicaid agency has written cooperative agreements
for the enforcement of rights to and collection of third party



Attachment 4.22-B 
Page  3 

STATE:  Minnesota 
TN:  24-0006 
Effective:  January 1, 2024        
Approved:   
Supersedes: 22-15; 09-01; 07-05; 97-25; 95-08 

cont. Requirements for Third Party Liability Payment of Claims 

(b) Covered charges minus the third-party payment amount.

(c) The medical assistance rate established under this plan minus the third-party
payment amount

A negative difference will not be implemented. 

Medical assistance payment will not be made when either covered charges are 
paid in full by a third party or the provider has an agreement to accept payment 
for less than charges as payment in full. 

(7) Payment by liable third parties: Medical Assistance eligibility or Medical
Assistance benefits

Health insurers (including group health plans, HMOs and service benefit plans)
must not take into account a recipient’s medical assistance eligibility or a
recipient’s medical assistance benefits when enrolling the recipient or making any
payments for benefits to the recipient or on the recipient’s behalf.

Providers are required to bill liable third parties for services furnished under a
long-term care insurance policy.

The state has in effect laws for the following:
(a) A responsible third party (other than providers of Medicare coverage under

parts A, B, C or D) that requires prior authorization for an item or service must
accept the state’s authorization that the service is covered under the State plan
(or waiver of such plan) for such individual, as if such authorization were the
prior authorization made by the third party;

(b) A responsible third party (other than providers of Medicare coverage under
parts A, B, C or D) must not deny a claim submitted by the State solely based
on a failure to obtain prior authorization from the third party for an item or
service; and

(c) A responsible third party must respond to any inquiry regarding a health care
claim that is submitted not later than three years after the provision of such item
or service to specify that the third party must respond within 60 days of
receiving the inquiry.

(8) When processing claims for prenatal services, including labor and delivery and
postpartum care, the Department uses standard coordination of benefits cost
avoidance to reject, but not deny the claim when a third party is likely liable for
the claim. If, after the provider bills the liable third party and a balance remains or
the claim is denied payment for a substantive reason, the provider can submit a
claim to the SMA for payment of the balance, up to the maximum Medicaid
payment amount established for the service in the state plan.
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STATE:  Minnesota 
TN:  24-0006 
Effective:  January 1, 2024 
Approved:   
Supersedes:  

(9) The Department makes payments without regard to third party liability for
pediatric preventive services unless a determination has been made related to
cost-effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost avoidance within 90 days.




