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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services  

601 E. 12th St., Room 355 

Kansas City, Missouri 64106  

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

 

June 27, 2022 

 

Cynthia MacDonald, Medicaid Director 

Minnesota Department of Human Services 

P.O. Box 64983 

St. Paul, MN 55164-0983 

 

Re:  Minnesota State Plan Amendment (SPA) 22-0015 

 

Dear Ms. MacDonald: 

 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan 

Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 22-0015.  Effective June 1, 2022, 

this amendment addresses third party liability and related Medicaid payments regarding medical 

support, prenatal care and pediatric services, described in attachment 4.22-B of Minnesota’s 

Medicaid State Plan. These changes are required by the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018, and the 

Medicaid Services Investment and Accountability Act of 2019. 

 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of 

the Social Security Act.  This letter is to inform you that Minnesota Medicaid SPA 22-0015 was 

approved on June 27, 2022, with an effective date of June 1, 2022. 

  

If you have any questions, please contact Sandra Porter at 312-353-8310, or via email at 

Sandra.Porter@cms.hhs.gov. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

James G. Scott, Director 

Division of Program Operations 

 

Enclosures 

 

cc: Patrick Hultman 

 Patricia Callaghan 

 Sheilagh Leary 
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STATE:  Minnesota Attachment 4.22-B 
Effective:   June 1, 2022 Page 1 
TN:  22-0015  
Approved:   ____________ 
Supersedes:  07-05, 97-25, & 95-08 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITIE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

Requirements for Third Party Liability - Payment of Claims 

(1) For cases active with the Department of Human Services Child Support
Enforcement Division to establish paternity and obtain medical support and
payment from, or derived from, the parents on behalf of a child:

The Department must pay the full amount of the claim and seek payment from
liable third parties, if liability is derived from absent parents with obligations to
pay medical support, and payment has not been made within 100 days.  However,
claims are cost avoided if one or more of the following conditions occur:

(a) No insurance paid amount is entered on the claim.
(b) No valid insurance denial reason code is entered on the claim.
(c) No documentation of non-payment is attached to the claim.

Documentation must include evidence that the claim was billed at least 30 days 
prior to the current submission and provider certification that no payment was 
received. 

(2) Threshold amounts

Following is the threshold amount used to determine whether to seek recovery of
payment from a liable third party:

Production of diagnosis and trauma follow-up - $100.00
Production of health insurance claims - $50.00

(3) Other guidelines for recovery

Following are the other guidelines used to determine whether to seek recovery of
payment from a liable third party:

(a) Workers’ compensation litigated cases are filed when medical and/or
subsistence expenses are $500.00 or greater.  This guideline reflects
the additional case preparation time and legal counsel required for the
intervention, settlement, and hearing processes.  Claims under this
dollar limit may be filed if the time limit on the Department’s ability
to file an intervention claim is nearing expiration and the nature of the
injury suggests that additional expenses may be incurred.
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STATE:  Minnesota Attachment 4.22-B 
Effective:   June 1, 2022 Page 2 
TN:  22-0015  
Approved:   ____________ 
Supersedes:  07-05, 97-25, & 95-08 

cont. Requirements for Third Party Liability Payment of Claims 

(b) Assigned automobile claims for minors or passengers in a vehicle
driven by an uninsured person are filed when medical expenses are
$200.00 or greater.  This guideline reflects increased cost factors of case
preparation.  Health insurance claims are followed up to produce system-
generated notices (1-3).  Claims in excess of $500.00 will produce 4+
notices, until a closing or payment amount is entered.

(4) Determination of cost-effectiveness in seeking recovery from third parties

The Department considers a variety of cost and success factors on a case-by-case 
basis to determine whether (i) recovery of a claim is not cost-effective, or (ii) it is 
more cost-effective to pursue an amount less than the full cost of care.  The 
factors considered include:   

(A) an estimate of the cost of pursuing the claim, including attorney time
required, travel and court fees, clerical and technical support expenses;

(B) the amount of the claim;

(C) factual and legal issues of liability as may exist between the Medicaid
recipient and the liable party, including issues of causation and comparative fault;

(D) total funds available for settlement such as insurance policy limits or other
factors relevant to the liable third party; and

(E) client involvement, such as cooperation or decision not to pursue the claim.

(5) In making the decision to seek recovery of payment, billings are accumulated by
dollar amount.  See number 2 above.

(6) Inpatient hospital coordination

Payment for inpatient hospital admission of patients who are simultaneously
covered by medical assistance and a liable third party other than Medicare is the
lesser of:

(a) the patient liability according to the provider/insurer agreement
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STATE:  Minnesota Attachment 4.22-B 
Effective:   June 1, 2022 Page 3 
TN:  22-0015  
Approved:   ____________ 
Supersedes:  07-05, 97-25, & 95-08 

cont. Requirements for Third Party Liability Payment of Claims 

(b) Covered charges minus the third party payment amount.

(c) The medical assistance rate established under this plan minus the third party
payment amount

A negative difference will not be implemented. 

Medical assistance payment will not be made when either covered charges are 
paid in full by a third party or the provider has an agreement to accept payment 
for less than charges as payment in full. 

(7) Payment by liable third parties:  Medical Assistance eligibility or Medical
Assistance benefits

Health insurers (including group health plans, HMOs and service benefit plans)
must not take into account a recipient’s medical assistance eligibility or a
recipient’s medical assistance benefits when enrolling the recipient or making any
payments for benefits to the recipient or on the recipient’s behalf.

(8) When processing claims for prenatal services, including labor and delivery and
postpartum care, the Department uses standard coordination of benefits cost  
avoidance to reject, but not deny the claim when a third party is likely liable for 
the claim. If, after the provider bills the liable third party and a balance remains or 
the claim is denied payment for a substantive reason, the provider can submit a 
claim to the SMA for payment of the balance, up to the maximum Medicaid 
payment amount established for the service in the state plan. 

(9) The Department makes payments without regard to third party liability for
pediatric preventive services unless a determination has been made related to 
cost-effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost avoidance within 90 days. 
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