Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Michigan

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: MI 24-0012

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



Financial Management Group

September 26, 2024

Meghan Groen Senior Deputy Director State of Michigan, Department of Community Health 400 South Pine Street Lansing, Michigan 48933

RE: TN 24-0012

Dear Director Groen:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed Michigan state plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-D MI 24-0012, which was submitted to CMS on August 15, 2024. This plan amendment provides authority to assess a late-file penalty to nursing facilities who do not submit a complete and acceptable cost report within the timeframes established by MDHHS.

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements, including in sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903 as it relates to the identification of an adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by 1902(a)(2), of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations.

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an effective date of October 1, 2024. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state plan page.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Tom Caughey at 517-487-8598 or via email at <u>Tom.caughey@cms.hhs.gov.</u>

Sincerely,

Rory Howe Director Financial Management Group

Enclosures

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE 24 0012 MI
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIXOF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	3. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE October 1, 2024
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 42 CFR 447	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a. FFY 2025 \$0 b. FFY 2026 \$0
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT Attachment 4 19-D Section I Page 1	 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTIONOR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) Attachment 4 19-D Section I Page 1 (TN 19-0008)

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT

This SPA provides authority to assess a late-file penalty to nursing facilities who do not submit a complete and acceptable cost report within the timeframes established by MDHHS

✓ OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)

GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT

COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL 11. TYPED NAME Meghan Groen 12. TITLE	15. RETURN TO Behavioral and Physical Health and Aging Services Administration Office of Strategic Partnerships & Medicaid Administrative Services – Federal Liaison Capitol Commons Center – 7 th Floor
Senior Deputy Director	400 South Pine
13. DATE SUBMITTED	Lansing, Michigan 48933
August 15, 2024	Attn: Erin Black
FOR CMS USE ONLY	
16. DATE RECEIVED	17. DATE APPROVED
August 15, 2024	September 26, 2024
PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED	
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL October 1, 2024	19. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL
Rory Howe	Director, FMG
22. REMARKS	

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of MICHIGAN

POLICY AND METHODS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES (LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES)

- Cost Finding, Cost Reporting and Records Maintenance
 The specific methods of cost finding and cost reporting utilized by the single state
 agency are defined in the state agency's cost reporting forms and instructions. Providers
 shall be notified of the cost reporting form or format and acceptable cost finding methods
 and notified promptly of change
 - A. Beginning with cost reporting periods ending after September 1, 1973, all participating skilled nursing and intermediate care providers are required to submit to the state agency an annual cost report within 5 months of the close of the providers cost reporting period. The provider will be notified of the delinquency and if the cost report is not submitted within the timeframes established by MDHHS, the provider's interim payments will be reduced by 100 percent. Restitution of withheld interim payments will be made by the state agency after receipt of an acceptable cost report. (Exception: A provider's cost report is due 5 months after a sale of a facility or termination of the provider agreement.) Beginning October 1, 2024, if an annual cost report is not received within the timeframes established by MDHHS, a late-file penalty will be assessed beginning on the 15th day of the following month and will continue until a complete and acceptable cost report is received. This includes providers with low or no Medicaid utilization that are required to provide a less than complete cost report or census data. This penalty does not apply to Class VII facilities.
 - B. All cost reports must be submitted on the state agency's uniform reporting form or an approved replica thereof, covering a 12 month cost reporting period. An exception is made for Class VII facilities; they are to submit the Medicare skilled nursing facility cost report in place of the state agency's reporting form. Any changes in reporting periods or exceptions to the number of months covered must be approved by the state agency.
 - C. Each provider's cost report must include an itemized list of all expenses as recorded in the formal and permanent accounting records of the provider.
 - D. The accrual method of accounting is mandated for providers and generally accepted accounting principles must be followed by providers of care under the plan.