Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Maine

State Plan Amendment (SPA)#: 24-0027

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) Form CMS-179
- 3) Approved SPA Page

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 601 E. 12th St., Room 355 Kansas City, Missouri 64106



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

November 27, 2024

Michelle Probert, Director Office of MaineCare Services Department of Health and Human Services 109 Capitol Street, 11 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0011

Re: Maine State Plan Amendment (SPA) 24-0027

Dear Director Probert:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 24-0027. This amendment was submitted to comply with the requirements described in Section 1902(a)(25)(E) of the Social Security Act.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social Security Act in Section 1902(a)(25)(E). This letter informs you that Maine's Medicaid SPA TN 24-0027 was approved on November 27, 2024, effective October 1, 2024.

Enclosed are copies of Form CMS-179 and the approved SPA page to be incorporated into the Maine State Plan.

If you have any questions, please contact Gilson DaSilva at (617) 565-1227 or via email at Gilson.DaSilva@cms.hhs.gov.



James G. Scott, Director Division of Program Operations

Enclosures

cc: Kristin Merrill, State Plan and Policy Development Manager, Office of MaineCare Services

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 24 0027	2. STATE Maine (ME)	
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIALSECURITY ACT		
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 10/1/24		
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION §1902(a)(25)(E)	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a FFY 2024 \$ 0 b. FFY 2025 \$ 0		
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT Attachment 4.22-B Page 1	8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEI OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) Attachment 4.22-B Page 1	DED PLAN SECTION	
9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT To reflect compliance language with requirements in	Section 1902(a)(25)(E).		
10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)			
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	OTHER, ASSPECIFIED:		
11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL	5. RETURN TO Michelle Probert Director, MaineCare Services #11 State House Station		
12. TYPED NAME	109 Capitol Street		
Michelle Probert 13 TITLE	Augusta, Maine 04333-0011		
Director, MaineCare Services			
14. DATE SUBMITTED			
October 4, 2024			
16. DATE RECEIVED	7. DATE APPROVED		
10/04/2024	11/27/2024		
PLAN APPROVED - ON	E COPY ATTACHED		
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 10/01/2024	9. SIGNATURE OF ARROWING OFFICIA		
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL	.TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL		
James G. Scott	Director, Division of Program Operations		
22. REMARKS			

ATTACHMENT 4.22-B PAGE 1

0MB No. 0938-0193

STATE PLAN UNDER	TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECU	RITY ACT
State/Territory:	MAINE	

Requirements Used In Determining Whether To Seek Reimbursement From Liable Third Parties

433.139 (f) (2)

Action is taken to recover payments in excess of \$200.00 for claims associated with accident/ casualty situations.

Action is also taken to recover on accident/ casualty claims below \$200.00 that accumulate to \$500.00 within any consecutive six (6) month period. Recovery activity is initiated within 60 days of the end of the month in which claims accumulate to \$500.00 within the above-mentioned period.

433.139 (f) (3)

Action is taken to recover payments in excess of \$50.00 with any particular third party in all cases when health insurance is discovered subsequent to payment, and in all cases in which the State has regulatory authority to pay and chase.

Action is taken to recover on claims below \$50.00 with any patlicular third party that accumulates to \$50.00 within any twelve (12) month calendar period. Recovery activity is initiated within 60 days of the end of the month in which claims accumulate to \$50.00 within the above-mentioned period.

1902(a)(25)(E)

The state complies with requirement to apply cost avoidance procedures to claims for prenatal services, including labor, delivery, and postpartum care services; and

to make payments without regard to potential TPL for pediatric preventive services, unless the state has made a determination related to cost-effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost avoidance for up to 90 days.

(d) (1) Method to Determine Provider Compliance

433.139 (b) (3) (ii) (B)

Providers who have billed a third party prior to billing Medicaid must certify on the Medicaid claim that a third party has been billed, that payment has not been received from the third party, and that 100 days have elapsed from the date of service.

TN No.: 24-0027 Approval Date: 11/27/24 Effective Date: 10/1/24

Supersedes TN No.: 19-0015