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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services

233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600

Chicago, Illinois 60601

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

September 10, 2020

Michelle Probert, Director

Maine Department of Health and Human Services
MaineCare Services

Policy Division

11 State House Station

Augusta, Maine 04333-0011

RE: TN 15-0022

Dear Director Probert:

We have reviewed the proposed Maine State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B ME-15-
0022, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on December

31, 2015. This plan amendment increases the reimbursement rates for Personal Care Services.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an
effective date of October 1, 2015. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new
state plan pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Blake Holt at
415-744-3754 or blake.holt@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,
Todd McMillion
Director

Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures



TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF
STATE PLAN MATERIAL

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:
15-022

2. STATE
Maine

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Department of Health and Human Services

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
October 1,2015

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

[ ] NEW STATE PLAN

__] AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDEREDAS NEW PLAN

<] AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:
42 CFR §447.201; 42 CFR §440.130
Public Law, Chapter 267, Part A, Section A-32.

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:

a. FFY increase in 2016 of $218.058
b. FFY increase in 2017 of $237.908

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR
ATTACHMENT:

Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.19-B Page 10; 5

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN
SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (¥f Applicable):

New page

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:
Reimbursement for Personal Care Services

11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One):

[ ] GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT DJ OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:

[] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF
[ ] NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL MAINECARE SERVICES
PEFFICIAL: 16. RETURN TO:
Stefanie Nadeau

J & Ut € FRY NN
Stefame ;‘ heau

14, TITLEY
Director, MaineCare Services

15. DATE SUBMITTED:

12/31/2015

Director, MaineCare Services
#11 State House Station
242 State Street

1 Augusta, Maine 04333-0011




STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: Maine

Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.19-B

OMB No: 0938

Page 5(iii)

METHODS AND STRANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

a. Personal Care Services:
The following sections describe the methods and standards used to set reimbursement rates for

personal care services delivered by four different provider groups. State developed fee schedules
are the same for both governmental and private providers.

1. Personal Care Attendant Services

Personal care attendant services are provided in the consumer-directed personal care
model. Personal care attendants are reimbursed on the basis of a fixed fee schedule, set as
of October 1, 2015 effective for services provided on or after that date.

Code Description Unit Rate

S5125 02 Attendant care % hour $2.93
services

H2014 Skills Training 7 hour $14.03
Service

G9001 Care coordination | % hour $17.00
services — initial
visit

G9002 Care coordination | % hour $17.00
service - ongoing

TN No. 15-022
Supersedes
TN No. 11-005A

Approval Date: 9/10/20

Effective Date: 10/1/15




STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: Maine Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.19-B
Page 5(iv)
OMB No: 0938
METHODS AND STRANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

2. Personal Care Agency Services

Personal care agency services are reimbursed on the basis of a fixed fee schedule, which
was set as of October 1, 2015, and is effective for services provided on or after that date.
All rates are published at: http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/audit/rate-
setting/documents/S96R01092011.pdf. Reimbursement varies by provider type delivering
the service (including personal support specialists delivering services under the Family
Provider Service Option) and by number of members served by the same provider.

TN No. 15-022 Approval Date: 9/10/20 Effective Date: 10/1/15

Supersedes
TN No. 11-005A



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: Maine Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.19-B
Page 5(v)
OMB No: 0938
METHODS AND STRANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES-
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

3. Adult Family Care Homes

Reimbursement to licensed Adult Family Care Homes for personal care services
furnished to Medicaid eligible patients is based on the per diem resource-adjusted (case-
mix) price for each member, according to the resource group the member is assigned as a
result of the Minimum Data Set- Assisted Living Services (MDS-ALS) patient
assessment. Eligible providers located on remote island locations receive 15% additional
reimbursement through an adjusted resource-adjusted price. The agency’s fee schedule
rate for Personal Care Services to residents of Adult Family Care Homes is set as of
October 1, 2015 and is effective for services on or after that date.
https://mainecare.maine.gov/Provider%20Fee%20Schedules/Forms/Publication.aspx?R
ootFolder=%2FProvider%20Fee%20Schedules%2FRate%20Setting%2F Section%2000
2%20%2D%20Adult%20Family%20Care%20Services&FolderCTID=0x012000264D1FB
A0C2BB247BF40A2C571600E81&View=%7B69CEE1D4%2DA5CC%2D4DAE%2D93B
6%2D72A66DE366E0%7DThe Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) will
reassess members twice each year.

For new facilities without a resource grouping already calculated, DHHS will apply a
MaineCare weight of .924 to the unadjusted price for the first-rate setting period.

TN No. 15-022 Approval Date: 9/10/20 Effective Date: 10/1/15
Supersedes
TN No. 11-005A





