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State/Territory Name:  MARYLAND 

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: MD-24-0019 

This file contains the following documents in the order listed: 

1) Approval Letter

2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form

3) Approved SPA Pages



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 

230 South Dearborn 

Chicago, Illinois 60604 

Financial Management Group 

Ryan Moran 

Medicaid Director 

Maryland Department of Health 

201 W. Preston St., 5th Floor 

Baltimore, MD 21201 

RE:  TN 24-0019 

Dear Medicaid Director Moran, 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed Maryland State 

Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B MD-24-0019, which was submitted to CMS on 

December 18, 2024. This plan amendment updates the reimbursement of prosthesis to include for 

purposes of whole-body health for participants in Fee-for-Service. 

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements including in 

sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903 as it relates to the identification of an 

adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by 

1902(a)(2), of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations. 

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an 

effective date of January 1, 2025. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the 

new state plan pages. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Ysabel Gavino via 

email at maria.gavino@cms.hhs.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 

Director 

Division of Reimbursement Review 

Enclosures 

March 18, 2025
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

STATE OF MARYLAND 

         Durable Medical Equipment (DME), Disposable Medical Supplies (DMS), Prosthetics, and Orthotics 

A unit of service is an item and quantity as prescribed by the physician. Quantities above the pre-established 

limits require prior authorization to establish medical necessity. Medical equipment services, prosthetics and 

orthotics reimbursed above $1000, and medical supply services reimbursed above $500, require prepayment 

authorization.  

The Department will reimburse for covered prosthetic devices annually, on a rolling 12-month interval, 

when deemed medically necessary by a Medicaid-enrolled provider for use in enrollee’s home, school or 

place of employment, or for the purpose of performing physical activities including running, biking, 

swimming, strength training and other activities to maximize overall health including improving lower and 

upper limb function. 

The DME/DMS Program does not cover: 

(1) Disposable medical supplies usually included with the office visit;

(2) Completion of forms and reports; and

(3) Fitting, dispensing, or follow-up care.

The rates and processes below apply to all Medicaid enrolled providers. The current fee schedule is 

published on the Department’s website at: 

https://health.maryland.gov/mmcp/communitysupport/Pages/Home.aspx under Medicaid 

DME/DMS/Oxygen Approved List of items. 

Purchased Medicare-Covered DME and DMS: 

For Medicare-covered DME, DMS, prosthetics, and orthotics, the State of Maryland reimbursement rate is 
set at 85% of the lowest rural, non-rural, or competitive bidding area (CBA) Medicare rate established for 
Maryland as set on January 1st of each calendar year; that rate will remain in effect the entire calendar year. 

Rental Reimbursement for Medicare-Covered DME: 

Monthly rental reimbursement for Medicare-Covered DME, is 85% of the lowest rural, non-rural, or 

competitive bidding area (CBA) Medicare purchase price established for Maryland as set on January 1st of 

each year, divided over ten months. The monthly rental rate will remain in effect the entire calendar year. 

The formula for the monthly rental rate is as follows 

Medicaid Monthly Rental Rate = 85% of Medicare Purchase Price ÷ 10 

For items that can be rented prior to purchase, the item is considered purchased after ten months of rental 

payments. 

Purchase Reimbursement for DME and DMS for which there is no Medicare Rate: 

For items for which Medicare has not established a rate whether or not the item is covered by Medicare: 

(1) DME at the provider's choice of the manufacturer's suggested retail price (MSRP) minus 41.2% or

the provider's wholesale cost plus 27.4%;

(2) Incontinence supplies at the provider's wholesale cost plus 25%;

(3) All other DMS at the provider's choice of the MSRP minus 41.2% or the provider's wholesale cost

plus 37.2%; and

(4) Customized equipment at the provider's choice of the MSRP minus 30% or the provider's wholesale

cost plus 40%.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

STATE OF MARYLAND 

Rental Reimbursement for DME for which there is no Medicare rate: 

For rental items for which Medicare has not established a purchase rate, items will be rented at the 

provider's choice of: 

(1) The manufacturer’s suggested retail price minus 41.2 percent, divided over ten months; or

(2) The provider's wholesale cost plus 27.4 percent, divided over ten months.

For items that can be rented prior to purchase, the item is considered purchased after ten months of rental 

payments. 

Repairs 

The Department shall reimburse for covered repairs to purchased durable medical equipment according to 

the following methodology: 

(1) The provider's choice of wholesale cost plus 37.2 percent or the manufacturer's suggested retail

price minus 31.4 percent to the provider for all materials;

(2) Labor costs shall be billed in quarter hour increments using the appropriate procedure code and

shall be reimbursed the lesser of:

(a) The supplier’s customary charge unless the service is free to individual not covered by

Medicaid; or

(b) The reimbursement rate specified in the Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment

Program's approved list of items.

Repair of Prosthetic Devices and Components of Prosthetic Devices 

(1) The Department will reimburse for covered repair for prosthetic devices and components of

prosthetic devices annually, on a rolling 12-month interval when deemed medically necessary

by a Medicaid-enrolled provider and when the repair’s necessity is not due to misuse.

(2) Repairs are covered annually, on a rolling 12-month interval when deemed medically necessary

by a Medicaid-enrolled provider for use in enrollee’s home, school or place of employment, or

for the purpose of performing physical activities including running, biking and swimming,

strength training and other activities to maximize overall health.

(3) The Department will reimburse for covered repairs of prosthetic devices and components of

prosthetic devices only when adequate documentation is obtained by the ordering provider.

Limitation on Repairs 

(1) The Department will not reimburse for repairs of prosthetic devices and components of prosthetic

devices in the event that an ordering health care provider determines that the prosthetic devices 

and components of prosthetic devices are damaged as a result of misuse. 

(2) In the event that the repair costs are 60% higher than replacement costs, the ordering health care

provider will replace the affected prosthetic device and components of prosthetic device 

according to the requirements and limitations related to replacements.  

TN # 24-0019 Date Effective:  January 1, 2025 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

STATE OF MARYLAND 

Replacement of Prosthetic Devices and Components of Prosthetic Devices 

(1) Replacement of prosthetic devices are covered annually, on a rolling 12-month interval for

devices less than three years old if the replacement is required for the following reasons:

a) A change in the physiological condition of the participant;

b) Unless necessitated by misuse, because of an irreparable change in the condition of the

prosthetic device or the component of the prosthetic device; or

c) Unless necessitated by misuse, because the condition of the prosthetic device or the

component of the prosthetic device requires repairs and the cost of the repairs would be

more than 60% of the cost of replacing the prosthetic device or the component of the

prosthetic device.

(2) Replacements will be made annually, on a rolling 12-month interval when deemed medically

necessary by a Medicaid-enrolled provider for use in enrollee’s home, school or place of

employment, or for the purpose of performing physical activities including running, biking

and swimming, strength training and other activities to maximize overall health.

Limitations on Replacement 

(1) The Department may require an ordering health care provider to confirm that the prosthesis and

/or the component of the prosthesis, being replaced, meets the requirements for replacement and

is less than three years old.

TN # 24-0019 Date Effective:  January 1, 2025 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

STATE OF MARYLAND 

Hearing Aids 

The Department covers medically necessary hearing aids when the services are provided by appropriately 

licensed providers as described in the State Plan. 

The Department’s fee schedule was set as of July 1st, 2018, and is effective for services provided on or after 

that date. Except as otherwise noted in the State Plan, fee schedules are the same for both governmental and 

private individual practitioners. Any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published on the 

agency’s website. 

1. Go to health.maryland.gov/providerinfo.

2. Navigate to the “Audiology Services information” header.

3. Select “Audiology, Physical Therapy, and Early Periodic, Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT)

Provider Manual” to view the fee schedule.
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