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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 

230 South Dearborn 

Chicago, Illinois 60604 

Financial Management Group 

Ryan Moran 

Medicaid Director 

Maryland Department of Health 

201 W. Preston St., 5th Floor 

Baltimore, MD 21201 

RE:  TN 24-0015 

Dear Medicaid Director Moran, 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has reviewed the proposed Maryland State 

Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B 24-0015, which was submitted to CMS on 

September 27, 2024. This plan amendment updates the Evaluation and Management (E&M) 

reimbursement. 

We reviewed your SPA submission for compliance with statutory requirements including in 

sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903 as it relates to the identification of an 

adequate source for the non-federal share of expenditures under the plan, as required by 

1902(a)(2), of the Social Security Act and the applicable implementing Federal regulations. 

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an 

effective date of September 1, 2024. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the 

new state plan pages. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Ysabel Gavino via 

email at maria.gavino@cms.hhs.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 

Director 

Division of Reimbursement Review 

Enclosures 

May 20, 2025

      

      





Approval Date: May 20, 2025 TN# _24-0015_ 
Supersedes TN# 22-0023 

Effective Date: September 1, 2024 

Attachment 4.19-B 
Page 5 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State of Maryland 

Physician and Osteopath Rates 

5.a All providers described in 5.b, both government and non-government, are reimbursed pursuant to
the same fee schedule. Providers are paid by CPT codes which are based on a percentage of Medicare
reimbursement. Effective September 1, 2024, provider rates for covered Evaluation and Management
(E&M) procedure codes within range of 99202-99499 were set between 93 to 100 percent of Medicare
rates established January of each year. The rates are evaluated annually and adjusted as needed.

5.b The Department’s original reimbursement methodology for professional services rendered by a
physician or osteopath was set July 1st, 2015 and is effective for services rendered on or after that date.
All providers must be licensed in the jurisdiction in which they provide services. Services are limited to
those outlined in 3.1A of the Maryland State Plan. Providers will be paid the lower of either the
provider’s customary fee schedule to the general public or the published Medicaid fee schedule. The
average Maryland Medicaid payment rate is approximately 79.5 percent of 2017 Medicare fees. In
addition, the State will pay the federally calculated VFC administration charge. The current fee schedule
is published on the Department’s website at:

health.maryland.gov/providerinfo 

5.c Effective August 1, 2022, when the federal government covers 100% of a vaccine’s ingredient cost
and where the Program has not established separate administration rate(s) for specific vaccines (e.g.
monkeypox), the Program will provide reimbursement for vaccine administration for federally
purchased vaccines to adults at the higher of:
(1) The VFC administration rate; or
(2) If applicable, 100% of the Medicare rate for the CMS-designated vaccine administration code for
that vaccine.

5.d Professional services rendered by physicians to a trauma patient on the State Trauma Registry, who
is receiving emergency room or inpatient services in a state designated trauma center, reimbursement
will be 100 percent of the Baltimore City and surrounding area Title XVIII Medicare physician fee
schedule facility fee rate. All providers must be licensed in the jurisdiction in which they provide services
and must be providing services within a state designated trauma center. Services are limited to those
outlined in 3.1A of the Maryland State Plan. The provider will be paid the lower of either the provider’s
customary fee schedule to the general public or the fee methodology described above.




