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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 
233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600 
Chicago, Illinois 60601 

Financial Management Group 

Marylou Sudders, Secretary 
The Commonwealth of Massachusetts 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services 
Office of Medicaid 
One Ashburton Place, Room 1109 
Boston, Massachusetts 02108 

RE:  Massachusetts State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 22-0027 

Dear Secretary Sudders: 

We have reviewed the proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B of 
Massachusetts’s state plan, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid 
Services (CMS) on September 30th, 2022. This plan amendment revises the payment rates for 
personal care attendant (PCA). 

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of July 1st, 2022. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state 
plan pages. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Jerica Bennett at 
1-410-786-1167 or jerica.bennett@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 
Director 
Division of Reimbursement Review 

Enclosures 

December 14, 2022

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
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Attachment 4.19-B 
Page 3.2 

State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
State:  Massachusetts 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates – Other Types of Care 

TN:  22-0027 Approval Date: Effective Date:  07/01/22 
Supersedes:   020-021 

u. Personal Care Services:

I. General Description of Payment Methodology

The following section describes the methods and standards utilized by the Executive Office of 
Health and Human Services (EOHHS) to establish rates of payment for personal care attendant 
(PCA) services.  These services are described under Supplements to Attachments 3.1-A and 3.1-
B. Fee schedules are established as follows:

II. Fee Schedules

The fee schedules for Personal Care Attendant Services are established by the Executive Office of 
Health and Human Services. The regulation, administrative bulletins, and fee schedules are 
published at https://www.mass.gov/doc/rates-for-certain-social-rehabilitation-and-health-care-
services-effective-january-1-1999/download,   
https://www.mass.gov/doc/rates-for-certain-services-for-the-personal-care-attendant-program-
effective-january-1-2020/download, and http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/laws-regs/hhs/community-
health-care-providers-ambulatory-care.html.  

Effective July 1, 2022, the fee schedule used to pay for personal care services provided by Personal 
Care Attendant providers is $4.94 per 15 minute unit, inclusive of the PCA wage, employer required 
taxes, and workers’ compensation insurance for PCA services provided during the day or night. 
Personal care attendants who are authorized by MassHealth to work emergency overtime or work on 
one of four holidays (New Year’s Day, July 4, Thanksgiving Day or Christmas) receive premium 
pay in addition to regular pay, equal to $2.47 per 15 minute unit, inclusive of employer required 
taxes and workers’ compensation insurance. Effective January 1, 2023, the PCA rate is $4.97 per 15 
minute unit, and the premium pay rate is $2.49 per 15 minute unit. Effective April 1, 2023, the PCA 
rate is $5.02 per 15 minute unit, and the premium pay rate is $2.51 per 15 minute unit. 

Effective October 1, 2020, EOHHS will provide a 4 hour paid Orientation for newly hired PCAs. 
The fee schedule for the 4-hour Orientation is based on the hourly PCA rate in effect on the date the 
newly hired PCA receives orientation. 

Effective January 1, 2016, through June 30, 2019, PCAs are eligible to accrue earned sick time from 
the first date of work and can begin using earned sick time 90 days after the first date of work at a 
rate of one hour per 30 hours worked, including overtime hours, up to 40 hours per benefit year. 
PCAs may use up to 40 hours of earned sick time per 12-month period as designated by EOHHS. 
The fee schedule is based on the hourly PCA rate in effect at the time the earned sick time is used. 

Effective July 1, 2019, PCAs are eligible to accrue earned paid time off from the first date of work. 
PCAs accrue earned paid time off at a rate of one hour per 30 hours worked, including overtime 
hours, up to 50 hours per benefit year, and may carry over up to 50 hours to a new benefit year. A 
benefit year runs from July 1 to June 30. Upon termination of PCA employment, a PCA’s remaining 
accrued paid earned time will be paid to the PCA. The fee schedule is based on the hourly PCA rate 
in effect at the time the earned paid time off is used, or, for purposes of payout at termination of all 
PCA employment, on the hourly PCA rate in effect on the date of the PCA’s termination of all PCA 
employment.

December 14, 2022



Attachment 4.19-B 
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
State: Massachusetts 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates - Other Types of Care 

Effective Januaiy 1, 2016, PCAs ai·e eligible to receive overtime pay in accordance with the 
requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act. Effective July 1, 2022, PCA overtime pay is equal 
to $0.17 per 1 minute unit, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers' compensation 
insurance. Effective July 1, 2022, PCA travel time pay is equal to $0.33 per 1 minute unit, 
inclusive of employer required taxes and workers' compensation insurance. Effective Januaiy 1, 
2023, PCA overtime pay is equal to $0.17 per 1 minute unit, inclusive of employer required taxes 
and workers' compensation insurance. Effective Janua1y 1, 2023, PCA travel time pay is equal to 
$0.34 per 1 minute unit, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers' compensation 
insurance. Effective April 1, 2023, PCA overtime pay is equal to $0.17 per 1 minute unit, 
inclusive of employer required taxes and workers' compensation insurance. Effective April 1, 
2023, PCA travel time pay is equal to $0.34 per 1 minute unit, inclusive of employer required 
taxes and workers' compensation insurance. 

The fee used for Transitional Living providers of personal care services is a provider specific rate 
established by the Executive Office of Health and Human Services. Such regulations are entitled: 
Rates for Certain Social, Rehabilitation and other Health Cai·e Se1vices. The regulation is 
published at 
https:/ /www.mass.gov/ doc/rates-for-certain-social-rehabilitation-and-health-care-services­
effective-j anuary-1-1999/down load. 

Each Transitional Living provider's rate is an all-inclusive per diem rate for the provision of 
personal care services and is based on an annual program budget, and delineates costs for direct 
cai·e services and necessaiy administrative activities. Rate development for transitional living 
seivices includes the collection and review of seivice data maintained by the transitional living 
providei·. Costs for room and board and other unallowable costs are excluded from the rate. 

The table below contains the rates used for Transitional Living providei·s and the effective dates 
of the rates. 

Provider Pei· diem rate Effective date 
Advocates, Inc. , Douglas House $207.53 Julv 1, 2016 

Advocates, Inc., McLaughlin House $288.29 July 1, 2016 
Advocates, Inc., Wanen House $247.60 Julv 1, 2016 

CCHIP House $206.73 Julv 1, 2016 
Except as otheiwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedules are the same for both 
governmental and private providei·s. 

TN: 22-0027 
Supersedes: 020-021 

Approval Date: December 14, 2022 Effective Date: 07/01/22 




