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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

601 E. 12th St., Room 355

Kansas City, Missouri 64106

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

January 25, 2022

MaryLou Sudders, Secretary

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Executive Office of Health and Human Services
Office of Medicaid23

One Ashburton Place, Room 1109

Boston, MA 02108

Re: Massachusetts State Plan Amendment (SPA) 21-0025

Dear Secretary Sudders:

We reviewed your proposed Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal
number (TN) 21-0025. This amendment updates cost sharing requirements.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations 42 USC §1396a(a)(14), 42 USC §13960
and 42 CFR Part 447. This letter is to inform you that Massachusetts Medicaid SPA Transmittal
Number 21-0025 was approved December 27, 2021 with an effective date of July 1, 2021.

If you have any questions, please contact Marie DiMartino at 617-565-9157 or via email at

Marie.DiMartino@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Ruth A. Hughes, Acting Director
Division of Program Operations
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing: Summary Page (CMS 179)

State/Territory name: Massachusetts
Transmittal Number:

Piease enter the Transmitial Number (TN) in the format ST-YY¥-0000 where ST= the state abbreviation, YY = the last two digits of the submission

vear, and 0000 = a four digit number with leading zeros. The dashes must also be enfered.

MA-21-0025

Proposed Effective Date
07/01/2021 (mm/dd/yyyy)

Federal Statute/Regulation Citation
42 USC §1396a(a)(14), 42 USC §13960 and 42 CFR Part 447

Federal Budget Impact
Federal Fiscal Year
First Year 2021 $ 140000.00
Second Year 2022 $ 56000000

Subject of Amendment

An amendment to the Medicaid State Plan to update cost sharing requirements

Governor's Office Review
Governor's office reported no comment

Comments of Governor's office received
Describe:

No reply received within 45 days of submittal

Other, as specified
Describe:

Not required under 42 CFR 430.12(b)(2)(1)

Signature of State Agency Official

Submitted By: Alison Kirchgasser
Last Revision Date: Sep 30, 2021
Submit Date: Sep 30, 2021
TN: 21-0025 Approval Date: 12/27/2021
Superseding TN: New Effective Date: 07/01/2021

https://wms-mmdl.cms_gov/MMDL/faces/protected/mpc/f01/print/PnntSelector jsp
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CCMS  Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

State Name:|Massachusetts

Transmittal Number: - -

OMB Control Number: 09381148

Cost Sharing Requirements

G1
1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.50 through 447.57 (excluding 447.55)
The state charges cost sharing (deductibles, co-insurance or co-payments) to individuals covered under Medicaid. Yes

The state assures that it administers cost sharing in accordance with sections 1916 and 1916A of the Social Security Act and 42

CFR 447.50 through 447.57.

General Provisions

The cost sharing amounts established by the state for services are always less than the amount the agency pays for the

service.

[W] No provider may deny services to an eligible individual on account of the individual's inability to pay cost sharing, except as

elected by the state in accordance with 42 CFR 447.52(e)(1).

[W] The process used by the state to inform providers whether cost sharing for a specific item or service may be imposed on a
beneficiary and whether the provider may require the beneficiary to pay the cost sharing charge, as a condition for receiving

the item or service, is (check all that apply):
[] The state includes an indicator in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS)
[[] The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility and Enrollment System

[ ] The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility Verification System

[ ] The state includes an indicator on the Medicaid card. which the beneficiary presents to the provider

Other process

Description:

The state includes an indicator in the Pharmacy Online Processing System (POPS).

[W] Contracts with managed care organizations (MCOs) provide that any cost-sharing charges the MCO imposes on Medicaid
enrollees are in accordance with the cost sharing specified in the state plan and the requirements set forth in 42 CFR 447.50

through 447.57.

Cost Sharing for Non-Emergency Services Provided in a Hospital Emergency Department

The state imposes cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in a hospital emergency department. No
Cost Sharing for Drugs
The state charges cost sharing for drugs. Yes
The state has established differential cost sharing for preferred and non-preferred drugs. No
TN: 21-0025 Approval Date: 12/27/2021
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CCMS  Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

[®] All drugs will be considered preferred drugs.
Beneficiary and Public Notice Requirements

Consistent with 42 CFR 447.57. the state makes available a public schedule describing current cost sharing
requirements in a manner that ensures that affected applicants. beneficiaries and providers are likely to have access to
the notice. Prior to submitting a SPA which establishes or substantially modifies existing cost sharing amounts or
policies, the state provides the public with advance notice of the SPA. specifying the amount of cost sharing and who is
subject to the charges. and provides reasonable opportunity for stakeholder comment. Documentation demonstrating
that the notice requirements have been met are submitted with the SPA. The state also provides opportunity for
additional public notice if cost sharing is substantially modified during the SPA approval process.

Other Relevant Information

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 19935, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed. and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form. please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605. Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20160722
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State Name:

Massachusetts

Transmittal Number:

OMB Control Number: 09381148

Cost Sharing Amounts - Categorically Needy Individuals G2a
1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.52 through 54
The state charges cost sharing to all categorically needy (Mandatory Coverage and Options for Coverage) individuals. Yes
Services or Items with the Same Cost Sharing Amount for All Incomes
Dollars or
Add Service or Item Amount |Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
Add | | Remov

Services or Items with Cost Sharing Amounts that Vary by Income

Service or Item:

Generic and OTC antihyperglycemic, antihypertensive, antihyperlipidemic drugs

Remove Service

or Item
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than |than or Equal to| Amount |Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
50% FPL 1.00 Excludes services listed in 130 CMR
L 450.130(E), and populations listed in
A ’ . R
dd $ Prescription 1130 MR 450.130(D), effective July | ooV
1, 2020.

Service or Item:

All other generic, OTC, and brand name covered drugs

Remove Service

or [tem
Indicate the income ranges by which the cost sharing amount for this service or item varies.
Incomes Incomes Less Dollars or
Add | Greater than |than or Equal to| Amount [Percentage Unit Explanation Remove
50% FPL 3.65 Excludes services listed in 130 CMR
L 450.130(E), and populations listed in
A ’ . Rem
dd $ Prescription 1y 35 OMR 450.130(D), effective July | omOve
1, 2020.

Add

Service or Item

Cost Sharing for Non-preferred Drugs Charged to Otherwise Exempt Individuals

If the state charges cost sharing for non-preferred drugs (entered above), answer the following question:

The state charges cost sharing for non-preferred drugs to otherwise exempt individuals.

TN: 21-0025

Superseding TN: New

Approval Date: 12/27/2021
Effective Date: 07/01/2021
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Cost Sharing for Non-emergency Services Provided in the Hospital Emergency Department Charged to Otherwise
Exempt Individuals

If the state charges cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in the hospital emergency department (entered above), answer
the following question:

The state charges cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in the hospital emergency department to otherwise
exempt individuals.

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of

the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20181119
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State Name:|Massachusetts OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: - -

Cost Sharing Amounts - Medically Needy Individuals G2b

1916

1916A

42 CFR 447.52 through 54

The state charges cost sharing to all medically needy individuals. Yes
The cost sharing charged to medically needy individuals is the same as that charged to categorically needy individuals. Yes

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20181119
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State Name:|Massachusetts OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: - -

Cost Sharing Amounts - Targeting G2c

1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.52 through 54

The state targets cost sharing to a specific group or groups of individuals. No

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20181119

TN: 21-0025 Approval Date: 12/27/2021
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CCMS  Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

State Name:|Massachusetts OMB Control Number: 09381148
Transmittal Number: MA - 21 - 0025

Cost Sharing Limitations G3

42 CFR 447.56
1916
1916A

The state administers cost sharing in accordance with the limitations described at 42 CFR 447.56. and 1916(a)(2) and (j) and
1916A(b) of the Social Security Act, as follows:

Exemptions

Groups of Individuals - Mandatory Exemptions

The state may not impose cost sharing upon the following groups of individuals:

[W] Individuals ages 1 and older, and under age 18 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42
CFR 435.118).

[m] Infants under age 1 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42 CFR 435.118), whose income
does not exceed the higher of:

[®] 133% FPL; and

[m] If applicable, the percent FPL described in section 1902(1)(2)(A)(iv) of the Act. up to 185 percent.
[W] Disabled or blind individuals under age 18 eligible for the following eligibility groups:

[m] SSI Beneficiaries (42 CFR 435.120).

[W] Blind and Disabled Individuals in 209(b) States (42 CFR 435.121).

[@] Individuals Receiving Mandatory State Supplements (42 CFR 435.130).

[m] Children for whom child welfare services are made available under Part B of title IV of the Act on the basis of being a child
in foster care and individuals receiving benefits under Part E of that title, without regard to age.

[W] Disabled children eligible for Medicaid under the Family Opportunity Act (1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIX) and 1902(cc) of the
Act).

[W] Pregnant women. during pregnancy and through the postpartum period which begins on the last day of pregnancy and
extends through the end of the month in which the 60-day period following termination of pregnancy ends. except for cost
sharing for services specified in the state plan as not pregnancy-related.

[m] Any individual whose medical assistance for services furnished in an institution is reduced by amounts reflecting available
income other than required for personal needs.

[W] An individual receiving hospice care, as defined in section 1905(0) of the Act.

[m] Indians who are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service furnished by an Indian health care provider or
through referral under contract health services.

[®] Individuals who are receiving Medicaid because of the state's election to extend coverage to the Certain Individuals Needing
Treatment for Breast or Cervical Cancer eligibility group (42 CFR 435.213).

Groups of Individuals - Optional Exemptions
TN: 21-0025 Approval Date: 12/27/2021
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CCMS  Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

The state may elect to exempt the following groups of individuals from cost sharing:

The state elects to exempt individuals under age 19. 20 or 21, or any reasonable category of individuals 18 years of age Ves
or over.

Indicate below the age of the exemption:
(" Under age 19
(C Under age 20
(¢ Under age 21

(" Other reasonable category

The state elects to exempt individuals whose medical assistance for services furnished in a home and community-based No
setting is reduced by amounts reflecting available income other than required for personal needs.

Services - Mandatory Exemptions

The state may not impose cost sharing for the following services:

[W] Emergency services as defined at section 1932(b)(2) of the Act and 42 CFR 438.114(a).

[W] Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act, including contraceptives and

pharmaceuticals for which the state claims or could claim federal match at the enhanced rate under section 1903(a)(5) of the
Act for family planning services and supplies.

[m] Preventive services, at a minimum the services specified at 42 CFR 457.520, provided to children under 18 years of age
regardless of family income. which reflect the well-baby and well child care and immunizations in the Bright Futures
guidelines issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

[W] Pregnancy-related services, including those defined at 42 CFR 440.210(a)(2) and 440.250(p). and counseling and drugs for

cessation of tobacco use. All services provided to pregnant women will be considered pregnancy-related, except those
services specificially identified in the state plan as not being related to pregnancy.

[®] Provider-preventable services as defined in 42 CFR 447.26(b).

Enforceability of Exemptions

The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exemptions from cost sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.56 are (check all that
apply):

[W] To identify that American Indians/Alaskan Natives (AT/AN) are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service
furnished by an Indian health care provider or through referral under contract health services in accordance with 42 CFR
447.56(a)(1)(x), the state uses the following procedures:

The state accepts self-attestation

[] The state runs periodic claims reviews

[] The state obtains an Active or Previous User Letter or other Indian Health Services (IHS) document
The Eligibility and Enrollment and MMIS systems flag exempt recipients

Other procedure

TN: 21-0025 Approval Date: 12/27/2021
Superseding TN: New Effective Date: 07/01/2021 Page 2 of 5




Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

Description:

The state uses the Medicaid application to identify individuals who have received, are receiving, or are eligible to

receive services from and Indian health care provider to qualify for the exemption. The state also excludes from
copays, claims submitted by THS providers. as identified by their unique provider type.

Additional description of procedures used 1s provided below (optional):

[®] To identify all other individuals exempt from cost sharing, the state uses the following procedures (check all that apply):
The MMIS system flags recipients who are exempt

The Eligibility and Enrollment System flags recipients who are exempt

[ ] The Medicaid card indicates if beneficiary is exempt

The Eligibility Verification System notifies providers when a beneficiary 1s exempt
Other procedure

Description:

The Pharmacy Online Processing System (POPS) flags recipients who are exempt

Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):

IPavinents to Providers

The state reduces the payment it makes to a provider by the amount of a beneficiary's cost sharing obligation. regardless of
whether the provider has collected the payment or waived the cost sharing, except as provided under 42 CFR 447.56(c).

Payvments to Managed Care Organizations

The state contracts with one or more managed care organizations to deliver services under Medicaid. Yes

The state calculates its payments to managed care organizations to include cost sharing established under the state plan for

beneficiaries not exempt from cost sharing. regardless of whether the organization imposes the cost sharing on its recipient
members or the cost sharing is collected.

Aggregate Limits

Medicaid premiums and cost sharing incurred by all individuals in the Medicaid household do not exceed an aggregate limit of 5
percent of the family's income applied on a quarterly or monthly basis.

TN: 21-0025 Approval Date: 12/27/2021
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[W] The percentage of family income used for the aggregate limit is:
(@ 5%

(4%
(3%
C 2%

1%

(" Other: %

[W] The state calculates family income for the purpose of the aggregate limit on the following basis:

(" Quarterly

(& Monthly

The state has a process to track each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing through a mechanism that does not
rely on beneficiary documentation.

Yes

[@] Describe the mechanism by which the state tracks each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing (check all that

apply):

1X|] As claims are submitted for dates of services within the family's current monthly or quarterly cap period, the state
y yorq Yy cap p

applies the incurred cost sharing for that service to the family's aggregate limit. Once the family reaches the

aggregate limit, based on incurred cost sharing and any applicable premiums, the state notifies the family and
providers that the family has reached their aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period, and are

no longer subject to premiums or cost sharing.

[[] Managed care organization(s) track each family's incurred cost sharing, as follows:

[] Other process:

[W] Describe how the state informs beneficiaries and providers of the beneficiaries' aggregate family limit and notifies
beneficiaries and providers when a beneficiary has incurred premiums and cost sharing up to the aggregate family limit
and individual family members are no longer subject to premiums or cost sharing for the remainder of the family's

current monthly or quarterly cap period:

no longer subject to cost-sharing for the reminder of that month if they incur expenses up to the limit. This

the Pharmacy Online Processing System (POPS).

Beneficiaries are sent a notice indicating their monthly cap and subsequent notices anytime they experience a
modification to that cap resulting from a change in circumstance. Additionally, beneficiaries are sent a notice they are

mformation can also be accessed through a self-service voice response system. Providers receive notification through

The state has a documented appeals process for families that believe they have incurred premiums or cost sharing over
the aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period.

Describe the appeals process used:

Yes

sharing cap.

All members are informed of their right to appeal in monthly cost sharing cap notices. Through this process members may
request a standard fair hearing through our Board of Hearings to remedy concerns they have exceeded the monthly cost

Members may also contact MassHealth customer service to report overpayments. Through this process. a member may
initiate an internal review and reconciliation of overpayments. Our customer service vendor will work with MassHealth

TN: 21-0025 Approval Date: 12/27/2021
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Eligibility and Claums Operations to review eligibility case facts and incurred cost sharing. IT we identify an overpayment,
we will issue a reimbursement to the provider where the overpayment occurred if member is fee-for-service. If the member
is enrolled in a managed care entity. the managed care plan will handle the reimbursement. This customer service process
is not intended to replace the fair hearing process, but instead seeks to provide members with an informal way to resolve
errors or report a change that may impact their cost sharing cap. Members will still have the option to pursue a fair hearing
regardless of whether they use this customer service process.

[W] Describe the process used to reimburse beneficiaries and/or providers if the family is identified as paying over the aggregate
limit for the month/quarter:

The state implemented a process by which beneficiary and providers can contact the agency for administrative review of
cost sharing claims. If determined the beneficiary was charged cost sharing in excess of the monthly individual cap. the
state will administratively reprocess claims and the provider will be responsible for returning the copayment collected. If
determined a cost sharing was erroneously deducted from a provider claim, the state will administratively reprocess the
claim and the provider will be responsible for returning copayments collected in error to the beneficiary.

[W] Describe the process for beneficiaries to request a reassessment of their family aggregate limit if they have a change in
circumstances or if they are being terminated for failure to pay a premium:

Beneficiaries will have their family aggregate limit assessed and individual limit adjusted if needed on a monthly basis.
Additionally. beneficiaries may contact the state at any time during the month to request their family aggregate limit be
reassessed. The state will also have the ability to turn off cost sharing at the individual level at any time.

The state imposes additional aggregate limits. consistent with 42 CFR 447.56(f)(5). No

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605. Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20160722
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