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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 

Baltimore, MD 21244-1850 

Financial Management Group 

Tara A. LeBlanc, Medicaid Executive Director 

Louisiana Department of Health 

628 North 4th Street 

P.O. Box 91030 

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030 

RE: Louisiana State Plan Amendment (SPA) 22-0018 

Dear Ms. LeBlanc: 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-C of your Medicaid state 

plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 22-0018.  Effective for services on or after July 
15, 2022, the purpose of this SPA is to amend the provisions governing reimbursement to non-

state intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF-IID) for 

resident leave of absence days.   

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at Sections 

1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act.  We hereby inform 
you that Medicaid State plan amendment 22-0018 is approved effective August 15, 2022.  We 

are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended plan pages. 

If you have any questions, please call Tom Caughey at (517) 487-8598. 

Sincerely, 

Rory Howe 

Director 

Enclosure 
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STATE OF LOUISIANA 

 

PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES 

METHODS FOR PAYMENT FOR RESERVING BEDS DURING A RECIPIENT'S ABSENCE FROM AN 

INPATIENT FACILITY 

 

TN 22-0018   Approval Date   Effective Date July 15, 2022 

Supersedes 

TN 17-0028  

CITATION   
42 CFR 447.40 
 
PAYMENT FOR RESERVATION OF BEDS 
 
A temporary absence of a beneficiary from a facility (nursing facility or ICF/IID) shall not interrupt the monthly 
payment to the facility, provided the facility keeps a bed available for the beneficiary subject to the limitations 
outlined in I and II below. 

The period of absence is determined by counting, as the first day of absence, the day the beneficiary left the facility.  

Only a period of 24 hours or more shall be considered an absence.  Absences for 23 hours or less, on a consistent 

basis, could jeopardize continued medical certification for the resident. 

The Louisiana Department of Health, Health Standards Section, shall determine whether hospitalization is for an 

acute condition or if a beneficiary's plan of care provides for leaves of absence. 

I. Leave Days for Residents of ICF/IID Facilities 

A. For residents of ICF/IID facilities, the bed is reserved for up to seven days per hospitalization for 

treatment of an acute condition.  Hospital leave days are reimbursed at 85 percent of the current 

applicable ICF/IID per diem rate. 

B. The bed of a resident of an ICF/IID facility is reserved for up to 45 leave of absence days per 

beneficiary per state fiscal year, with a 30-day limit per temporary absence per beneficiary when 

permitted by the beneficiary's plan of care.  A paid leave of absence is defined as any temporary stay 

outside of the facility provided for in the beneficiary's plan of care.  The count of utilized leave days 

begins on July 1 of each year and runs through June 30 of the following year.   

Leave days covered under the 45-day limit include visits with relative(s) or friend(s) and camp days.  

Leave days for the following purposes shall be excluded from the annual 45-day limit, but are still 

limited to 30 days per occurrence per beneficiary, and shall be included in the written plan of care: 

(1) Special Olympics; 

(2) Road Runners Club of America events, including but not limited to events intended to raise 

money to help ICF/IID beneficiaries participate in the Special Olympics; 

(3) Louisiana planned conferences such as, but not limited to, those sponsored by the 

Community Residential Services Association (CRSA), a consumer driven support system 

that advocates choices for persons with disabilities; 

(4) Trial discharge leaves - fourteen days per occurrence; 

(5) Official state holidays; and 

(6) Two days for bereavement of close family members, as outlined below: 

parent  stepparent  stepsister  

child  stepchild  grandparent  

spouse  mother-in-law  grandchild  

brother  father-in-law 

sister  stepbrother 
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STATE OF LOUISIANA 

 

PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES 

METHODS FOR PAYMENT FOR RESERVING BEDS DURING A RECIPIENT'S ABSENCE FROM AN 

INPATIENT FACILITY 

 

TN 22-0018   Approval Date   Effective Date July 15, 2022 

Supersedes 

TN 20-0020  

C. Effective for dates of service on or after July 15, 2022 the reimbursement to non-state 

ICF/IID for leave of absence days is 85 percent of the current applicable per diem rate. 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after March 11, 2020, any leave of absence during a 

declared federal public health emergency by the Department of Health and Human Services 

(HHS) will be excluded from both the annual 45-day limit and the 30-consecutive day limit, 

as long as the leave of absence is included in the written habilitation plan.  

II. Leave Days for Residents of Nursing Facilities 

A. For each Medicaid beneficiary, nursing facilities shall be reimbursed for up to seven hospital 

leave of absence days per occurrence per year, and 15 home leave of absence days per year 

when permitted by the beneficiary's plan of care.  These days are recomputed annually 

beginning on January 1 of each year. 

B. The reimbursement for hospital leave of absence days is 75 percent of the applicable per 

diem rate. 

C. Nursing facilities with occupancy rates under 90 percent.  Effective for dates of service on or 

after February 20, 2009, reimbursement for hospital and home leave of absence days will be 

reduced to 10 percent of the applicable per diem rate in addition to the nursing facility 

provider fee. 

D. Nursing facilities with occupancy rates equal to 90 percent or greater.   

1. Effective for dates of service on or after February 20, 2009, the reimbursement paid 

for home leave of absence days will be reduced to 90 percent of the applicable per 

diem rate, which includes the nursing facility provider fee.   

2. Effective for dates of service on or after March 1, 2009, the reimbursement for 

hospital leave of absence days shall be 90 percent of the applicable per diem rate, 

which includes the nursing facility provider fee. 

3. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2013, the reimbursement paid for 

leave of absence days shall be 10 percent of the applicable per diem rate in addition 

to the provider fee amount. The provider fee amount shall be excluded from the 

calculations when determining the leave of absence days payment amount. 

E. Occupancy percentages will be determined from the average annual occupancy rate as 

reflected in the Louisiana Inventory of Nursing Home Bed Utilization Report published from 

the period six months prior to the beginning of the current rate quarter.  Occupancy 

percentages will be updated quarterly when new rates are loaded and shall be in effect for 

the entire quarter. 

 

 




