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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Se1vices 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106 

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

Juliet Chan on 
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare 
Division of Medicaid 
PO Box 8320 
Boise, ID 83720-0009 

May 19, 2022 

Re: Idaho State Plan Amendment (SPA) 22-0003 

Dear Ms. Chanon: 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEOICAIO SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDIC41D & CHIP SERVICES 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid SPA submitted 
under transmittal number (TN) 22-0003. This amendment proposes to update the Idaho State Plan 
regarding third paiiy liability. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations. This letter is to info1m you that Idaho 
Medicaid SP A 22-0003 was approved on May 19, 2022, with an effective date of J anua1y 1, 2022. 

If you have any questions, please contact Courtenay Savage at 708-567-2048 or via email at 
Comienay.Savage@cms.hhs.gov. 

Enclosures 

cc: Chai·les Beal 

James G. Scott, Director 
Division of Prograin Operations 



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL ID-22-0003 

FORM APPROVED 
O?vm NO 0938-0193 

2. STATE 
IDAHO 

FOR: HEAL 1H CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE 
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID) 

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One): 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 
01-01-2022 

0 NEW STATE PLAN 0 AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN l:8JAMENDMENT 
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT 'Se arate Transmittal or each amendment 

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: 
42 CFR 433.139 FFY2022 $391,430 
42 CFR 447.20 FFY2023 $544,177 

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: 
Section 4.22 (page 69a) 
Attachment 4.22-b page 1 

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) : 

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: 
Amendment to the State Plan to update the Third Party Liability. 

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) : 

Section 4.22 (page 69a) 
Attachment 4.22-b page 1 

C8J GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT O OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 
□ COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 
0 NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL: 16. RETURN TO: 

JULIET CHARRON, Administrator 
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare 
Division of Medicaid 

--------------------------1 PO Box 83720 
13. TYPED NAME: Boise ID 83 720-0009 
JULIET CHARRON 
14. TITLE: 
Administrator 
15. DATE SUBMITTED: 
03-31-2022 

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY 
17. DATE RECEIVED : 

March 31, 2022 
18. DATE APPROVED: May 19, 2022 

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COP 
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: 20. S 

Januaiy 1, 2022 
21. TYPED NAME: 22. TITLE: 

James G. Scott Director, Division of Program Operations 
23. REMARKS: 

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92) 



 

TN No: ID-22-0003    Approval Date: 05/19/2022     Effective Date: 01/01/2022  
Supersedes TN No: 94-012 

Revision: HCFA-PM-94-1 (MB)               SECTION 4.22 

February 1994                Page 69a 

State/Territory: IDAHO 

 

citation 

42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(ii)(A) 

(c) Providers are required to bill liable third parties when services covered under 
the plan are furnished to an individual on whose behalf child support enforcement 
is being carried out by the state IV-D agency. The state has the flexibility to make 
payments without regard to potential third party liability for up to one hundred 
(100) days for claims related to child support enforcement beneficiaries. 

 

(d) ATTACHMENT 4.22-B specifies the following: 

42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C) 

(1) The method used in determining a provider's compliance with the party 
billing requirements at 433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C). 

42 CFR 433.139(f)(2) 

(2) The threshold amount or other guideline used in determining whether to 
seek recovery of reimbursement from a liable party, or the process by which 
the agency determines that seeking recovery of reimbursement would not be 
cost effective. 

42 CFR 433.139(f)(3) 

(3) The dollar amount or time period the state uses to accumulate billings from 
a particular liable third party in making the decision to seek recovery of 
reimbursement. 

42 CFR 447.20 

(e) The Medicaid agency ensures that the provider furnishing a service for which a 
third party is liable follows the restrictions specified in 42 CFR 447.20. 

 

 



 

TN No: ID-22-0003    Approval Date: 05/19/2022     Effective Date: 01/01/2022  
Supersedes TN No: 90-1 

Revision: HCFA-PH-87-9 (BERC)              ATTACHMENT 4.22-B  

AUGUST 1987                Page 1 

OMB No.: 0938-0193 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State/Territory: IDAHO 

 

Requirements for Third Party Liability - Payment of Claims 

(1) Recipients with third party resources, Medicare or injury diagnosis claims will suspend in the system by use of 
the edit process. These claims are routed to the TPR unit for manual review. If the provider has not billed the third 
party, the claim is returned with instructions to bill insurance. 

The requirement for States to apply cost avoidance procedures to claims for prenatal services, including labor, 
delivery, and postpartum care services. 

The requirement for States to make payments without regard to potential TPL for pediatric preventive 
services, unless the state has made a determination related to cost-effectiveness and access to care that 
warrants cost avoidance for up to ninety (90) days. 

The state has the flexibility to make payments without regard to potential third party liability for up to one 
hundred (100) days for claims related to child support enforcement beneficiaries. 

(2) The Third Party Recovery Unit has a threshold amount of $50.00 on injury related claims only. There is no 
threshold for claims with other identified resources. 

(3) On a monthly basis, a report is generated showing, in recipient ID number order, all claims paid during that 
month showing a trauma related diagnosis code and a billed amount of $50.00 and under. If the total for anyone 
recipient exceeds $50.00, a TPR injury questionnaire is sent to the recipient. Also, reports are kept six months and 
compared at the end of the six month period to determine if, over the six month period, the total of paid claims for 
anyone recipient exceeds $50.00. 

 

 




