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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services  
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106  

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

September 9, 2025 
 
Stuart Portman, Executive Director 
Medical Assistance Plans 
Georgia Department of Community Health 
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive SE 
East Tower, 19th Floor 
Atlanta, GA 30334 
 
Re:  Georgia State Plan Amendment (SPA) 25-0009 
 
Dear Executive Director Portman: 
 
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment 
(SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 25-0009. This SPA updates Georgia’s Medicaid State Plan 
to reflect federal requirements for Third-Party Liability, ensuring compliance with the Consolidated 
Appropriations Act of 2022.  
 
We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in section 1902(a)(25)(I) 
of the Social Security Act. This informs you that Georgia’s Medicaid SPA TN 25-0009 was approved on 
September 9, 2025, effective July 1, 2025. 
 
Enclosed are copies of the approved Form CMS-179 and the approved SPA pages to be incorporated into 
the Georgia State Plan. 
 
If you have any questions, please contact Etta Hawkins at (404) 562-7429 or via email at 
Etta.Hawkins@cms.hhs.gov. 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 

Shantrina Roberts, Acting Director 
Division of Program Operations 

 
Enclosures 
 
cc: Lynette Rhodes 
      Brian Dowd 
      Rebecca Dugger 
      Maxine Elliott 
      Melonie Wilson 
      Perri Smith     
     



DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 

STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE 

2 5 -0 0 0 9 GA -- ---- --

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT (e) 

XIX 0 XXI 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 

July 1, 2025 

FORM APPROVED 

0MB No. 0938--0193 

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) 
a FFY 25 $ 0 1902( a)(25)(I) of the Social Security Act 
b. FFY 26 $ 0 

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 
Attachment 4.22-B Page 1-2 (NEW) OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) 

Attachment 4.22-B Page 1 � 

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT 

This amendment updates Georgia's Medicaid State Plan to reflect federal requirements for Third Party Liability, ensuring 
compliance with the Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2022. 

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) 

0 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 
0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 

• ITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

CY OFFICIAL 

{!) OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 

15. RETURN TO 
Stuart Portman 

12_ TYPED NAME 
------------11 Executive Director, Division of M edical Assistance Plans 

Perri Nena Smith Georgia Department of Community Health 
-----------------------112 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, 19th Floor 

13. TITLE Atlanta, Georgia 30334 
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14. DATE SUBMITTED 
7/30/2025 

16. DATE RECEIVED 
07/30/2025 

FOR CMS USE ONLY 

17. DATE APPROVED 
09/09/2025 

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED 

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 
07/01/2025 

20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 
Shantrina Roberts 

22. REMARKS 

19. SIGNATURE OF. 

21. TITLE OF APPR 

.!.--::• • • .!. 

Acting Di rector, Division of Program Operations 

On September 8, 2025 DCH approved the following pen & ink change by email: 
Box 7: add _NEW for Page 2 
Box 8: strike-through -2 

FORM CMS-179 (09/24) Instructions on Back 



Attachment 4.22-B 
Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State/Territory: GEORGIA 

Requirements for Third Party Liability 
Payment of Claims 

The State uses a coordination of benefits cost avoidance method of claims processing when 
third party liability is identified at the time a claim is filed. A coverage specific matrix is 
utilized to cost avoid claim payment for categories of service covered by third party resources. 
Claims are rejected and returned to the provider if the service being billed is most likely covered by a 
legally responsible third party as defined in 42 C.F.R. 433.136. If, after the provider bills the legally 
responsible third party and a balance remains or the claim is denied payment for a substantive reason, 
the provider can submit a claim to the State Medicaid Agency for payment of the balance, up to the 
maximum Medicaid payment amount established for the service. There are no thresholds used to 
trigger the cost avoidance process. 

With certain exceptions, cost avoidance procedures will be applied to all services and claims, 
including claims for prenatal services, labor and delivery, and postpartum care services. Cost 
avoidance procedures will not be applied to claims for preventive pediatric care (including EPSDT), 
and the state will make payments without regard to potential third-party liability for pediatric 
preventive services, unless the state has made a determination related to cost-effectiveness and 
access to care that warrants cost avoidance for 90 days. 

Additionally, cost avoidance procedures will not be applied to claims covered by absent 
parent-maintained insurance under Part D of Title IV of the Act. The state shall make 
payment for such service in accordance with the usual payment schedule under such plan for such 
services without regard to any third-party liability for payment for such services, if such third-party 
liability is derived (through insurance or otherwise) from the  parent whose obligation to pay support 
is being enforced by such agency, if payment has not been made by such third party within 100 days 
after the date the provider of such services has initially submitted a claim to such third party for 
payment for such services, except that the State may make such payment within 30 days after such 
date if the State determines doing so is cost-effective and necessary to ensure access to care . 
The State seeks reimbursement from insurance carriers through a monthly system generated post- 
payment billing process when the existence of third-party liability is not known at the time of billing. 
A threshold of $100.00 per member or what is deemed cost effective by the Department must be met 
prior to seeking reimbursement from Health insurance resources. 

The State seeks reimbursement from verified liable third parties on claim payments involving 
accidental injuries when total potential recovery is $250.00 or greater. Liens are filed if the recovery 
amount involves $500.00 or more in Medicaid expenditures. The State may recover its Medicaid 
payments from the portion of the beneficiary’s settlement, judgement, or award designated for past or 
future medical expenses. No threshold is applied to the identification of paid claims with trauma 
diagnoses. 

TN No. 25-0009 
Approval  Effective Date 07/01/25 Supersedes 

TN No.



Recovery of Medical Assistance All entities must accept the State’s payment for a healthcare item or
service on behalf of a recipient of medical assistance as the third-party payer’s authorization of the
provision of those services and shall not refuse to pay for a healthcare item or service solely on the
basis that the third-party payer did not previously authorize such item or service. All entities must
respond to the State inquiry regarding the status of a claim for payment for any healthcare item or
service within 60 days of receiving the inquiry.

These provisions comply with section 202 of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2022.

Attachment: 4.22-B 
Page: Page 2 
State: Georgia 

Approval  Effective Date 07/01/25 
TN No. 25-0009 

Supersedes 
TN No. NEW 




