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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services  
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106  

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

November , 2022 

Stephen Groff, Director 
Division of Medicaid Medical Assistance 
P.O. Box 906 
New Castle, DE  19720 

Re: Delaware State Plan Amendment (SPA) 22-0006 

Dear Director Groff: 

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan Amendment 
(SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 22-0006. This amendment proposes to update Delaware 
State Plan to bring the state in compliance with the Third-Party Liability Requirements under the 
Bipartisan Budget Act (BBA) of 2018 and Medicaid Services Investment and Accountability Act 
(MSIAA) of 2019 practices. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This letter is to inform you that Delaware Medicaid SPA Transmittal Number 22-0006 was 
approved on November , 2022, with an effective date of September 1, 2022.  

Enclosed are copies of the approved CMS-179 and SPA Pages to be incorporated into the Delaware State 
Plan. 

If you have any questions, please contact Talbatha Myatt at (215) 861-4259 or via email at 
Talbatha.Myatt@cms.hhs.gov 

Sincerely, 

James G. Scott, Director 
Division of Program Operations 

Enclosures 

cc:  Kimberly Xavier, Chief, Policy & Planning 
      Melissa Dohring, State Plan Coordinator  

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
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CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEAL TH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2 . STATE 

2 2 - 0 0 0 6 DE -- ---- --
3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL 

SECURITY ACT (i) XIX 0 XXI 
4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 

September 1, 2022 

FORM APPROVED 
0MB No. 0938-0193 

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION BiJlaftisaA B(:ja§et ,11,et 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) 
a FFY 2023 $ 0 BBA) ef 2Q18 (P!jb_ L. 11 § 123) Meaicaia Se Federal Budget Legislation ( 

B ipartisan Budget Act of 2018 - Third Party Liability 42 CFR 433.136 

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 

Attachment 4.22-A Page 1 
Attachment 4.22-B Page 1 

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT 

Third Party Liability 

10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) 

® GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 

0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 

0 NO REPLY RECEIVED W ITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

N.ATlJRE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL 
t.t,..H.4~ 

' ·-

b. FFY 2024 $ 0 
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 

OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) 

Attachment 4.22-A Page 1 (TN# 08-002) 
Attachment 4.22-B Page 1 (TN# 345) 

0 OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 

15. RETURN TO 

12. TYPED NAME 
Stephen M. Groff Stephen M. Groff, Director, DMMA, P.O. Box 906 New Castle, 
--------------------DE19720 

13. TITLE 
Director 

16. DATE RECEIVED 

09/30/2022 

FOR CMS USE ONLY 
17. DATE APPROVED 

11 /01/2022 
PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY A TTACHED 

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 

09/01/2022 

20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

James G. Scott 

22. REMARKS 

19. SIG 

Director, Division of Program Operations 

10-31-22-State requested pen & ink change to update Box 8: 4 .22-A page 1 (TN# 08-002) & 4 .22-8 page 1 (TN# 345) 
10-31-22 State requested pen & ink change to Box 5 to update Federal Statute/Regulation-Federal Budget Legislation Bipartisan Budget 

Act of 2018 -Third Party Liability 42 CFR 433.136. 

FORM CMS-179 (09/24) Instructions on Back 



TN No. SPA 22 0006
Supersedes
TN No. SPA 08 002

Approval Date November 1, 2022

Effective Date September 1, 2022

Attachment 4.22-A 
Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE 
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT STATE/TERRITORY:   DELAWARE 

Requirements for Third Party Liability (TPL) - 
Identifying Liable Resources 

1. Data exchanges 42 CFR 433.138 (d)(1), (d)(3) and (d)(4) and (e)
a. SSA wage - quarterly
b. IV-A agency - in Delaware is the same as the Title XIX agency and updates are available, daily
c. State Workmen's - not Compensation files - weekly
d. Motor vehicle - not computerized - no match available
e. SWICA - quarterly
f. Health Insurance Carriers - no less than once every two (2) months, unless written permission is

given in advance by the agency

2. Follow-up requirements of 42 CFR 433.138 (g)(1)(i) and (g)(2)(i):

As soon as any matches on employers are received by the Delaware Client Information System (DCIS), 
the system will automatically generate a letter to verify health insurance coverage. This action will be taken 
within 30 days of the receipt of the match data. 

3. State motor vehicle match is unavailable because of the information needed for TPL is not carried in
the State's motor vehicle automated system. 42 CFR 433.138(g)(3)

4. Trauma code reports are produced weekly by the fiscal agent pursuant to 42 CFR 433(e). The TPL unit
sends an accident inquiry form to the client/provider within two weeks regarding potential TPL. Positive
responses result in a request for claims history and subsequent bills generated to applicable insurance
company or attorney. Any information on ongoing legally liable third party resources is immediately
entered into the third party database, which is part of the Medicaid Management Information System
(MMIS). 42 CFR 433(e)
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TN No. SPA 22 0006
Supersedes
TN No. SPA 345

Approval Date November 1, 2022

Effective Date September 1, 2022

Attachment 4.22-B 
Page 1 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
STATE/TERRITORY:   DELAWARE 

Requirements for Third Party Liability - 
Payment of Claims 

The State’s MMIS identifies liable third parties and all claims submitted for payments are processed through this 
system. If the provider has not compiled with TPL requirements, the claim suspends for manual review and 
appropriate action is taken.  

The State of Delaware Title XIX Program seeks reimbursement from liable third in the following instances:  

Cost Avoidance Post Payment Recoveries 

Pre-payment Pended Claims Third Party Claims 
for Accidental Injury 

Non-Accident-Related 
Claims 

Amount of money below 
which it is not effective 
to pursue a claim.  

All claims where probable 
existence of TPL is established 
are cost avoided except as 
provided for in the TPL Action 
Plan.  

$500.00  $100.00  

Time limit for which 
reimbursement is 
sought.  

Date of accident 
forward.  

As accumulated over the 
two-year period to the start 
of recovery proceedings.  

Cost Avoidance Prenatal Services 

The state will use standard coordination of benefits cost avoidance process when adjudicating claims for prenatal 
services which includes labor, delivery and postpartum care claims. If it is determined that a third party is likely liable 
for a prenatal claim, the claim will be rejected, but not denied and the claim will be returned back to the provider 
noting the third party that Medicaid believes to be legally responsible for payment. If, after the provider bills the 
liable third party and a balance remains or the claim is denied payment for a substantive reason, the provider can 
submit a claim to the state for payment of the balance, up to the maximum Medicaid payment amount established 
for the service.  

Per 1902(a)(25)(E) the state will make payments without regard to third party liability for pediatric preventive 
services unless the state has made a determination related to cost-effectiveness and access to care that warrants 
cost avoidance for up to 90 days.  

1902(a)(25)(F) permits the state to make payment for a child support enforcement beneficiary’s claim if the third 
party has not paid the provider’s claim within a 100-day wait-and-see period. The state may instead choose, if the 
state determines doing so is cost-effective and necessary to ensure access to care, to make payment within 30 
days.  
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