Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Connecticut

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 21-0035

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS-179
- 3) Approved SPA Pages



Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

March 25, 2022

Dr. Deidre Gifford, Commissioner Department of Social Services 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT 06105

Re: Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) 21-0035

Dear Commissioner Gifford:

We reviewed your proposed Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 21-0035. This amendment updates the state plan to reinstates coverage for chiropractic services, add coverage for acupuncture services, update physician and family planning clinic fee schedules, add HCPCS code Q9950-Injection to the physician fee schedule, increases rates for several long-acting reversible contraceptive (LARC) devices and adjusts coding for LARC devices on family planning clinic fee schedule.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of the Social Security Act and implementing regulations 42 CFR 447. This letter is to inform you that Connecticut Medicaid SPA Transmittal Number 21-0035 was approved on March 25, 2022, with an effective date of October 1, 2021.

If you have any questions, please contact Marie DiMartino at 617-565-9157 or via email at Marie.DiMartino@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,



James G. Scott, Director Division of Program Operations

GENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	Child Ho. Court 130	
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	2 1 0 0 3 5 0 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT Image: Constraint of the social security act security a	
TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE October 1, 2021	
5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION Section 1905(a)(5), (6), (9), (17) of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 440.50, 440.60, 440.90, 440.165	6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) a FFY 2022 \$ 291,973 b. FFY 2023 \$ 385,207	
7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT Addendum Page 4b to Attachments 3.1- A and 3.1-B Addendum Page 4g to Attachments 3.1-A and 3.1-B Attachment 4.19-B, Pages 1(a)i(E), 1(a)ii, 1(a)iv, and 1(b)ii	 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) Addendum Page 4b to Attachments 3.1- A and 3.1-B NEW Attachment 4.19-B, Pages 1(a)i(E), 1(a)ii, 1(a)iv, and 1(b)ii 	
 SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT Reinstates coverage for chiropractic services, 2) adds coverage planning clinic fee schedules, 4) adds HCPCS code Q9950-Injectic long-acting reversible contraceptive (LARC) devices; 6) adjusts co GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) 	on to the physician fee schedule, 5) increases rates for several	
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	O OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:	
12. 111 ED TOTALE Deidre S. Gifford, MD, MPH	RETURN TO ate of Connecticut epartment of Social Services Farmington Avenue – 9th floor artford, CT 06105 eention: Ginny Mahoney	
FOR CMS U	SE ONLY	
December 29, 2021	DATE APPROVED March 25, 2022	
PLAN APPROVED - ON	E COPY ATTACHED	
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 1 October 1, 2021 1		
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 22 James G. Scott	TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL Director Division of Program Operations	
22. REMARKS	- Division of Frogram Operations	

State: <u>CONNECTICUT</u> AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED CATEGORICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): <u>ALL</u>

c. Chiropractor Services

- i. Chiropractors must be licensed by the state in accordance with state law.
- ii. Services are limited to a chiropractor's scope of practice.
- iii. Services include only those that meet the requirements set forth in 42 C.F.R. § 440.60(b).
- d. Licensed Psychologist Services
 - i Psychologists must be licensed under state law
 - ii Services are limited to routine diagnostic, assessment, treatment, rehabilitation or palliative services or psychological testing and within a psychologist's scope of practice and as set forth on the applicable published fee schedule. The following limits also apply, each of which may be exceeded with prior authorization based on medical necessity:
 - (1) Only one diagnostic interview in any twelve-month period by a psychologist for the same beneficiary; and
 - (2) Only two staff consultations with the beneficiary or the beneficiary's family for the benefit of the beneficiary per year by a psychologist for the same beneficiary.
- e. Naturopathic Services
 - i Naturopaths must be licensed under state law.
 - ii The Department will pay enrolled naturopaths only for services provided to individuals under twenty-one (21) years of age.
 - iii Services are limited to a naturopath's scope of practice.

TN # <u>21-0035</u>	Approval Date: <u>03/25/2022</u>	Effective Date: <u>10/01/2021</u>
Supersedes		
TN # 14-028		

State: <u>CONNECTICUT</u> AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED CATEGORICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): <u>ALL</u>

m. Acupuncturists

- i. Acupuncturists must be licensed by the state in accordance with state law.
- ii. Services are limited to an acupuncturist's scope of practice.

TN # <u>21-0035</u> Supersedes TN # <u>NEW</u> Approval Date <u>03/25/2022</u>

Effective Date: <u>10/01/2021</u>

Addendum Page 4b To Attachment 3.1-B

State: <u>CONNECTICUT</u> AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED MEDICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): <u>ALL</u>

- f. Chiropractor Services
 - i. Chiropractors must be licensed by the state in accordance with state law.
 - ii. Services are limited to a chiropractor's scope of practice.
 - iii. Services include only those that meet the requirements set forth in 42 C.F.R. § 440.60(b).
- g. Licensed Psychologist Services
 - i Psychologists must be licensed under state law
 - ii Services are limited to routine diagnostic, assessment, treatment, rehabilitation or palliative services or psychological testing and within a psychologist's scope of practice and as set forth on the applicable published fee schedule. The following limits also apply, each of which may be exceeded with prior authorization based on medical necessity:
 - (1) Only one diagnostic interview in any twelve-month period by a psychologist for the same beneficiary; and
 - (2) Only two staff consultations with the beneficiary or the beneficiary's family for the benefit of the beneficiary per year by a psychologist for the same beneficiary.
- h. Naturopathic Services
 - i Naturopaths must be licensed pursuant to state law.
 - ii The Department will pay enrolled naturopaths only for services provided to individuals under twenty-one (21) years of age.
 - iii Services are limited to a naturopath's scope of practice.

 TN # 21-0035
 Approval Date: 03/25/2022
 Effective Date: 10/01/2021

 Supersedes
 TN # 14-028
 Effective Date: 10/01/2021

State: <u>CONNECTICUT</u> AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED MEDICALLY NEEDY GROUP(S): <u>ALL</u>

m. Acupuncturists.

- i. Acupuncturists must be licensed by the state in accordance with state law.
- ii. Services are limited to an acupuncturist's scope of practice.

TN # <u>21-0035</u> Supersedes TN # <u>NEW</u> Approval Date: <u>03/25/2022</u>

Effective Date: <u>10/01/2021</u>

Attachment 4.19-B Page 1(a)i(E) STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State: CONNECTICUT

(5) Physician's services – Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of physician's services. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of October 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.

Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) practices are individual sites of independent physician groups, solo physician practices, nurse practitioner groups, and individual nurse practitioners that have met National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Level 2 or Level 3 medical home recognition or NCQA medical home recognition under the 2017 or later NCQA standards (which do not recognize specific levels of recognition). PCMH practices must comply with all NCQA PCMH requirements and all additional written department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by the State.

The department offers a PCMH Glide Path program, which pays enhanced rates to practices that are providing some of the additional Medicaid services required for NCQA PCMH recognition. In order to qualify for Glide Path, a practice must demonstrate that it has begun providing a more advanced standard of primary care and has committed to achieving NCQA PCMH recognition in a set period of time. Glide Path practices must also comply with all additional written department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by the State.

Beginning January 1, 2012, PCMH and Glide Path practices may be eligible for a rate add-on to the procedure codes on the physician fee schedule identified below. PCMH practices may also be eligible for retrospective annualized supplemental payments for performance incentives and performance improvement. Independent physician-led Glide Path practices with five or fewer full-time equivalent practitioners across all practice locations may also be eligible for a supplemental payment at each Glide Path phase.

(a) <u>Glide Path and PCMH Rate Add-On</u>: The department will pay a rate add-on for the following procedures in addition to the amounts listed for each procedure code on the physician fee schedule: 99201, 99202, 99203, 99204, 99205, 99211, 99212, 99213, 99214, 99215, 99304, 99305, 99306, 99307, 99308, 99309, 99310, 99315, 99316, 99318, 99324, 99325, 99326, 99327, 99328, 99334, 99335, 99336, 99337, 99339, 99341, 99342, 99343, 99344, 99345, 99347, 99348, 99349, 99350, 99381, 99382, 99383, 99384, 99385, 99386, 99387, 99391, 99392, 99393, 99394, 99395, 99396, 99397, 99401, 99402, 99403, 99404, 99406, 99407, 99408, 99409, 99411, 99412, 99417, 99374, 99377, 99379, 99380, 96110, 99050, 99051, 99053, D0145,

TN # <u>21-0035</u> Supersedes TN # <u>21-0023</u> Approval Date: 03/25/2022

Effective Date: <u>10/01/2021</u>

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State <u>Connecticut</u>

- (6) Medical care or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. Fixed fee methodologies are summarized below.
 - (a) Podiatrists Podiatrists 100% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of July 1, 2021 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.
 - (b) Optometrists 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2016 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.
 - (c) Chiropractors 100% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2012 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for chiropractors can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.
 - (d) Other licensed practitioners -

(i) Psychologists – The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2020 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for psychologists can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.

TN # <u>21-0035</u> Supersedes TN # <u>21-0023</u> Approval Date: 03/25/2022

Effective Date <u>10/01/2021</u>

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State Connecticut

- (v) Licensed behavioral health practitioners to include licensed clinical social workers, licensed marital and family therapists, licensed professional counselors, and licensed alcohol and drug counselors. The fee schedule for licensed behavioral health practitioners can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." The agency's rates were set as of January 1, 2019 and are effective for services on or after that date. Rates are the same for private and governmental providers and are published at <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>.
- (vi) Physician assistants 90% of the department's fees for physicians, as referenced in (5) above, except for physician-administered drugs and supplies, which are reimbursed at 100% of the physician fees.

Physician assistants working in a physician group or a solo physician practice are eligible to participate in the Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) initiative detailed in (5) above under Physician's Services as part of the physician group or solo physician practice under the Physician's Services section of the State Plan in Section (5) above.

(vii) Acupuncturists - 100% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2021 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for acupuncturists can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.

TN # <u>21-0035</u> Supersedes TN # <u>19-0003</u> Approval Date: <u>03/25/2022</u>

Effective Date <u>10/01/2021</u>

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State: <u>CONNECTICUT</u>

(c) <u>Family Planning Clinics</u>: Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of family planning clinic services. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of October 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>https://www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.

TN # <u>21-0035</u> Supersedes TN # <u>21-0007</u> Approval Date: 03/25/2022

Effective Date <u>10/01/2021</u>