Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Connecticut

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 21-0018

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600 Chicago, Illinois 60601



Financial Management Group

August 3, 2021

Kathleen M. Brennan, Deputy Commissioner Department of Social Services Office of the Deputy Commissioner 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT 06105-3730

RE: Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 21-0018

Dear Deputy Commissioner Brennan:

We have reviewed the proposed Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B submitted under TN-21-0018, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on June 24th, 2021. This plan amendment updates the DME fee schedule to incorporate the April 2021 Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) changes to remain compliant with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). Newly added codes are priced using a comparable methodology to other codes in the same or similar category.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an effective date of April 1st, 2021. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state plan pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Jerica Bennett at 1-410-786-1167 or jerica.bennett@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Todd McMillion
Director
Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 21-0018	2. STATE: CT
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR, CENTERS FOR MEDICA AND MEDICAID SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE April 1, 2021	
5. TYPE OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):NEW STATE PLANAMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLANX AMENDMENT		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: Sections 1905(a)(7) of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 440.70(b)(3)	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: a. FFY 2021 \$0 b. FFY 2022 \$0	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: Attachment 4.19-B, Page 1(a)v	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLA SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If applicable) Attachment 4.19-B Page 1(a)v	N
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: This SPA amends Attachment 4.19-B of the Medicaid State Plan to revise the Durable Medical Equipment (DME) fee schedule to incorporate the April 2021 Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) changes (additions, deletions and description changes) to remain compliant with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). Newly added codes are priced using a comparable methodology to other codes in the same or similar category. Specifically, procedure code K1013 (Enema tube replacement) is being added to the DME fee schedule, priced at the lesser of Actual Acquisition Cost (AAC) plus 25% or manufacturer's suggested retail price minus 15%.		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):		
X GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL		
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
13. TYPED NAME: Deidre S. Gifford, MD, MPH	State of Connecticut Department of Social Services 55 Farmington Avenue, 9 th Floor Hartford, CT 06105	
14. TITLE: Commissioner		
15. DATE SUBMITTED: June 24, 2021	Attention: Ginny Mahoney, Medical Po	olicy
FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY		
17. DATE RECEIVED: June 24, 2021	18. DATE APPROVED: August 3, 2021	
PLAN APPROVED – ONE COPY ATTACHED		
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: April 1, 2021	20. SIGNA	
21. TYPED NAME: Todd McMillion	22. TITLE: Director, Division of Rein	nbursement Review
23. REMARKS		
FORM CMS-179 (07-92)		

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State Connecticut

(7) Home Health Services –

- (a) Intermittent or part-time nursing services provided by a home health agency or by a registered nurse when no home health agency exists in the area are provided with limitations.
- (b) Home health aide services provided by a home health agency with limitations.
- (c) Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech pathology and audiology services provided by a home health agency or medical rehabilitation facility are provided with limitations.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of home health services provided by a home health agency listed above in (a), (b), and (c). The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of November 1, 2020 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download," then select the applicable fee schedule.

- (d) Medical supplies, equipment and appliances suitable for use in the home Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of Medical supplies, equipment and appliances suitable for use in the home. The agency's fee schedule rates were set as of April 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are Connecticut Medical Assistance on the Program https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." Over-the-counter products provided by pharmacies are reimbursed at Average Wholesale Price (AWP). The temporary rate increase for nonsterile gloves is effective September 1, 2020 and expires 90 days after the end of the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) federal public health emergency declaration, as extended. After such date, the rate for non-sterile gloves reverts to the rate in effect immediately prior to September 1, 2020.
- (8) Private duty nursing services Not provided.

Approval Date 8/3/21