# **Table of Contents**

# State/Territory Name: Connecticut

# State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 20-0011

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

**DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES** Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600 Chicago, Illinois 60601



### **Financial Management Group**

June 11, 2020

Kathleen M. Brennan, Deputy Commissioner Department of Social Services Office of the Deputy Commissioner 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT 06105-3730

# RE: Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 20-0011

Dear Deputy Commissioner Brennan:

We have reviewed the proposed Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B of your state plan, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on March 31, 2020. This plan amendment adds the following procedure codes: E2398, K0553, K0554, L2006 and L8033. This SPA also changes the repair payment methodology to the lesser of Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) minus 15% or Actual Acquisition Cost (AAC) plus a percentage as described below (except complex rehab technology (CRT) which will continue to be paid at list price minus 18% including repairs): Medical Surgical Supplies – AAC plus 25%; Orthotic and Prosthetic Devices – AAC plus 50%; Parenteral/Enteral Supplies – AAC plus 25%; and Durable Medical Equipment (DME) – AAC plus 35%. This SPA also updates Medical Equipment, Devices & Supplies (MEDS) fee schedules, where applicable, by removing repair rate segments for items for which repairs are not practical.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an effective date of March 1, 2020. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state plan pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact James Moreth at 206-615-2043 or <u>James.Moreth@cms.hhs.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Todd McMillion Director Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES		FORM APPROVED OMB NO. 0938-0193
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 20-0011	2. STATE: CT
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR,CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE March 1, 2020	
5. TYPE OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL (Check One): NEW STATE PLANAMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLANAMENDMENT		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMEN	DMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)	
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	
Sections 1905(a)(7) of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 440.70(b)(3)	a. FFY 2020 \$0 b. FFY 2021 \$0	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PL SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If applicable)	AN
Attachment 4.19-B, Page 1(a)v	Attachment 4.19-B Page 1(a)v	
Supplemental 1 to Attachment 4.19-B Page 4	Supplemental 1 to Attachment 4.19-B	Page 4
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: Effective March 1, 2020, this SPA amends Attachment 4.19-B of the Medicaid State Plan to make the changes described below. This SPA adds the following procedure codes: E2398, K0553, K0554, L2006 and L8033. This SPA also changes the repair payment methodology to the lesser of Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) minus 15% or Actual Acquisition Cost (AAC) plus a percentage as described below (except complex rehab technology (CRT) which continue to be paid at list price minus 18% including repairs): Medical Surgical Supplies – AAC plus 25%; Orthotic and Prosthetic Devices – AAC plus 50%; Parenteral/Enteral Supplies – AAC plus 25%; and Durable Medical Equipment (DME) – AAC plus 35%. This SPA also updates MEDS fee schedules, where applicable, by removing repair rate segments for items for which repairs are not practical.		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):		
X GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:	
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
TYPED NAME: Kathleen M. Brennan	State of Connecticut	
14 mm P. Denote Commissioner	Department of Social Services 55 Farmington Avenue, 9 <sup>th</sup> Floor	
14. TITLE: Deputy Commissioner	Hartford, CT 06105	
15. DATE SUBMITTED: March 31, 2020	Attention: Ginny Mahoney, Medical I	Policy
FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY		
17. DATE RECEIVED: 03/31/2020	18. DATE APPROVED: 06/11/2020	
PLAN APPROVED – ONE COPY ATTACHED		
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL	:
03/01/2020		
21. TYPED NAME: Todd McMillion	22. TITLE: Director, Division of Reim	bursement Review
23. REMARKS		
FORM CMS-179 (07-92)		

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State <u>Connecticut</u>

#### (7) Home Health Services –

(a) Intermittent or part-time nursing services provided by a home health agency or by a registered nurse when no home health agency exists in the area are provided with limitations.

(b) Home health aide services provided by a home health agency with limitations.

(c) Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech pathology and audiology services provided by a home health agency or medical rehabilitation facility are provided with limitations.

The fee schedule for licensed home health care agencies for service (a), (b), and (c) above can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." Home health service rates were set as of October 1, 2019 and are effective for services on or after that date. Rates are the same for private and governmental providers and are published on the agency's website. The Department may add or delete codes in order to remain compliant with HIPAA. In no case will the fee paid to an agency exceed the agency charge to the general public for similar services.

(d) Medical supplies, equipment and appliances suitable for use in the home – The current fee schedule was set as of March 1, 2020 and is effective for services provided on or after that date, except that codes may be deleted or added in order to remain compliant with HIPAA. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded Assistance by going to the Connecticut Medical Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." Over-the-counter products provided by pharmacies are reimbursed at Average Wholesale Price (AWP). All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.

(8) Private duty nursing services – Not provided.

TN # <u>20-0011</u> Supersedes TN # <u>19-0031</u> Approval Date

6/11/20

Effective Date <u>03/01/2020</u>

Supplement 1 to Attachment 4.19-B Page 4

# STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT STATE <u>CONNECTICUT</u>

## (b) Prosthetic devices

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, payment for these services is based on state-developed fee schedule rates, which are the same for both governmental and private providers of prosthetic devices. The agency's rates were set as of March 1, 2020 and are effective for services rendered on or after that date. The fee schedule is subject to periodic adjustment. All rates are published on the agency's website at <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. Select "Provider," then select "Provider Fee Schedule Download."

## (c) Eyeglasses

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, payment for these services is based on state-developed fee schedule rates, which are the same for both governmental and private providers of eyeglasses. The agency's rates were set as of 7/1/2008 and are effective for services rendered on or after that date. The fee schedule is subject to periodic adjustment. All rates are published on the agency's website at <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. Select "Provider," then select "Provider Fee Schedule Download."

## (d) Hearing aids

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, payment for these services is based on state-developed fee schedule rates, which are the same for both governmental and private providers of prosthetic devices. The agency's rates were set as of March 1, 2019 and are effective for services rendered on or after that date. The price allowed shall be the actual acquisition cost of the hearing aid(s) to the provider, not to exceed the applicable rates on the Hearing Aid/Prosthetic Eye fee schedule, which are published on the agency's website at <u>www.ctdssmap.com</u>. Select "Provider," then select "Provider Fee Schedule Download."

TN# <u>20-0011</u> Supersedes TN # <u>19-0010</u> Approval Date <u>6/11/20</u>

Effective Date 03/01/2020