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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services  
601 E. 12th St., Room 355  
Kansas City, Missouri 64106  

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

 
September 26, 2024 
 
Adela Flores-Brennan 
State Medicaid Director 
Colorado Department of Health Care 
Policy and Financing 
1570 Grant Street 
Denver, CO 80203-1818 
 

Re:  Colorado State Plan Amendment (SPA) 24-0003-A 
 
Dear Adela Flores-Brennan: 
 
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan 
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 24-0003-A. This amendment 
proposes to add Direct-Entry Midwives (also referred to as Certified Professional Midwives) to 
the midwifery provider types.    
 
We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act.  This letter informs you that Colorado Medicaid SPA TN 24-0003-A was 
approved on September 25, 2024, with an effective date of April 1, 2024. 
 
Enclosed are copies of Form CMS-179 and approved SPA pages to be incorporated into the 
Colorado State Plan. 
  
If you have any questions, please contact Helenita Augustus at (410) 786-8902 or via email at 
Helenita.Augustus@cms.hhs.gov . 

 
Sincerely  

 
 
 

Division of Program Operations 
 
Enclosures 
 
cc: Adela Flores-Brennan, CO State Medicaid Director 
       Erica Schaler, CO Medicaid  

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

FORM APPROVED 
0MB No 0938--0193 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL Of 1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE 

co 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL -

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 2 - .4. 0 0 0 3 -A 

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR 
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 
Social Security Act Section 1905(a)(28); 42 CFR 440.S0(a) 
440.130(c) 

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 

Su1313 ~e Att 3.1-A - Limitations - Direct-Entry Midwives and 
Certified Professional Midwives - Page 1 of 1 Pags 1 2 of 2; 

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL 

SECURITY ACT @ 0 
XIXXXI 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 

April 1, 2024 

6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars) 

a . FFY 2024 $ 0 

b. FFY 2025 $ 0 

8 . PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR 
ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) 

Supplemental to Att.3.1-A-Limitation - Freestanding Birth Centers, 
Item 28 - Page 1 of 1 

Su1313. to Att. 3.1-A- Limitations - Pages 1 2 of 2 Direct­
Entry Midwives and Certified Professional Midwives-Page 1 
(TN 13-044; NEW); 

Supplemental to Att.3.1-A-Limitation - Freestanding Buth 
Centers, Page 1 of 1 

Su1313. to Att. 4.19-8 Methods - Free Standing 
Birth Center Services - Page 1 of 1 

Supp. to Att. 3.1-A Lactation - Page 3 of 3 

Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A - Limitations - Other 

Practitioners, Item 6d Page 1 of 1 

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT 

Att. 4.19-8 Methods - Free Standing 
Birth Center Services - Page 1 of 1 (TN 19-0006) 
(Continued in Box 22); 

Supp. to Att. 3.1-A Lactation page 3 of 3 (TN 22-0036-A) 

Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A - Limitations - Other 
Practitioners, Item 6d Page 1 of 1 (TN 21-0055)" 

This amendment adds Direct-Entry Midwives (also referred to as Certified Professional Midwives) to the midwifery provider types. 
These providers offer care, education, counseling and support to pregnant persons and their families throughout the prenatal, 
labor and delivery, and postpartum periods of pregnancy 
10 . GOVERNOR'S REVIEW ( Check One) 8 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 

0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 

NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

Flores-Brennan -----------------------

® OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 

Governor's letter dated 

5 April 2023 

15. RETURN TO 

Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing 
303 E. 17th Avenue, Suite 1100 
Denver, CO 80203 

Attn: Alex Lyons 



13. TITLE 
State Medicaid Director 

14. DATE SUBMITTED June 28, 2024 

FOR CMS USE ONLY 

16. DATE RECEIVED 17. DATEAPPROVED 

June 28 2024 Se tember 25 2024 
PLAN APPROVED· ONE COPY ATTACHED 

18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL . . .:. 

A ril 1 2024 
20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 

James G. Scott Director, Division of Program Operations 
22. REMARKS 

The state requested the below changes to the CMS 179 Form: 

1. Box 1: Add "A" at the end to reflect "24-0003-A" 

2. Box 5: Please remove regu latory citation "440.50(a)" and replace with "440.130(c)" for preventive services. 

3. Box 7: o 

Certified 

Please remove "Supplement to" so it reads "Att 3.1-A - Limitations - Direct-Entry Midw ives and 

Professional M idwives - Pages 1-2 of 2" o 

Birth Centers, Item 28 - Page 1 of 1 
Please add "Supplement to Att. 3.1-A - Limitations - Freestanding 

4 . Box 8: o Remove "Supplement to" and remove reference to "page 2" and "New" so it reads "Att 3.1-A -

Limitations -
Direct-Entry Midw ives and Certified Professiona l Midwives - Page 1 (TN 13-044)" o 

Please remove "Continued in Box 22" 

Additional Pen and Ink Changes below: 

Box 7: o "Att 3.1-A Limitations - Direct-Entry Midw ives and Certified Professional M idwives Pags 1-2 of 2" should 
be changed to II Att 3.1-A Limitations - Direct-Entry Midw ives and Certified Professional M idwives Page 1 of 1" 

o Add "Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A - Limitations - Other Practitioners, Item 6d Page 1 of 1" 

Box 8: o Add "Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A - Limitations - Other Practitioners, Item 6d Page 1 of 1 (TN 21-0055)" 

Additional Pen and Ink Changes: 

• Box 8: Add Supplemental to Att.3.1-A -Limitation- Freestanding But h Centers, Page 1 of 1 
• Box 7: Remove "supplement to" from attachment 4. 19-B 

FORM CMS-179 (09/24) Instructions on Back 



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL 
ASSISTAl~CE PROGRAM 

STATE OF COLORADO 

L IMITA TIONS TO CARE AND 
SERVICE S 

Attachment 3.1-A 
Page 1 of 1 

28. (i) Licensed or Otherwise State-Approved Freestanding Birth Centers 

X Provided: X No limitations With limitations None licensed or approved 

28. (ii) Licensed or Otherwise State-Recognized covered professionals providing services in the 
Freestanding Birth Center 

X Provided: No limitations X With limitations (please describe below) 

Not Applicable (there are no licensed or State approved Freestanding Buth Centers) 

Please check all that apply: 
X (a) Practitioners furnishing mandat01y services described in another benefit category and 
otherwise covered under the State plan (i.e., physicians and certified nurse midwives). 

X (b) Other licensed practitioners furnishing prenatal , labor and delivery, or postpartum 
care in a freestanding biith center within the scope of practice under State law whose 
services are otherwise covered under 42 CFR 440.60 (e.g., lay midwives, certified 
professional midwives (CPMs), and any other type of licensed midwife) .* 

Dfrect-Entry Midwives (DEMs)/Certified Professional Midwives (CPMs) 

X ( c) Other health care professionals licensed or otherwise recognized by the State to provide 
these biith attendant services (e.g., doulas, lactation consultant, etc.) .* 

Doulas 
Lactation Consultants (IBCLCs)/Lactation Counselors (CLEs/CLCs) 

*For (b) and (c) above, please list and identify below each type of professional who will be 
providing birth center services 

TN No. CO-24-0003-A 
Supersedes TN No. 13-044 

Effective Date: 4/1/2024 
Approval Date: 9/25/2024 



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

STATE OF COLORADO 

Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A 
Page 1 of 1 

LIMITATIONS TO CARE AND SERVICES 

28. Freestanding Buth Centers 

Services are provided by licensed or othe1wise state-approved Freestanding Buth Centers or 
licensed or othe1wise state-recognized covered professionals providing services in the 
Freestanding Buth Center. 

1. Dfrect-Entry Midwives (DEMs)/Ce1tified Professional Midwives (CPMs) 

Effective April 1, 2024, Medicaid members are eligible for medically necessa1y midwifery 
services provided by a Dfrect-Entiy Midwife (DEM)/Ce1tified Professional Midwife (CPM) 
without prior authorization. Emolled Medicaid DEMs/CPMs must hold a valid license issued 
by the Colorado Department of Regulato1y Agencies (DORA). 

Dfrect-Entry Midwife (DEM)/Ce1tified Professional Midwife (CPM) means a skilled and 
professional independent midwife1y practitioner educated in the discipline of midwife1y and 
trained to provide the Midwives Model of Cai·e to help families during labor, delive1y, and 
after the bilth of thefr babies. They also care for the birthing person and infant in the first few 
weeks of life, providing routine newborn exams and lactation suppo1t, prima1ily in out-of­
hospital community-based settings. 

Qualified Provider Specifications: 

Emolled Medicaid DEMs/CPMs must comply with all standards set fo1th by both DORA and 
the National Association of Registered Midwives (NARM). DEMs/CPMs must hold 
ce1t ification in midwife1y that is accredited or approved by the Midwife1y Education and 
Accreditation Council (MEAC) and must have achieved a passing score on the NARM 
examination. 

DEMs/CPMs are required to obtain liability insurance in accordance with the standards set 
fo1th by the Colorado Board of Nursing (CBN) under DORA, the Colorado Deprutment of 
Health Cai·e Policy and Financing (HCPF), and any requfrements set fo1th by other applicable 
oversight bodies that define a provider's scope of practice. 

Limits: 

P1ior auth01ization is not requfred for DEM/CPM se1vices. 

TN No. CO-24-0003-A 
Supersedes TN No. NEW 

Effective Date: 4/1/2024 
Approval Date: 9/25/2024 



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF 

THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT MEDICAL 

ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

STATE OF COLORADO 

Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A 

Page 3 of 3 

TN No. _CO-24-0003-A 

Supersedes TN No. 22-0036-A 

i. Lactation Support Services must be provided by individuals trained in advance lactation

support. Services may be provided by the following provider types:

1. International Board Certified Lactation Consultant (IBCLC) – requires

certification by the International Board of Lactation Consultant Examiners.

2. Certified Lactation Counselor (CLC) requires certification by the Academy of

Lactation Policy and Practice, Inc.

3. Certified Lactation Educator (CLE) requires certification by an accredited

Certified Lactation Educator certification organization.

4. Direct-Entry Midwife (DEM)/Certified Professional Midwife (CPM)

(a) DEM/CPM requires a certification in midwifery that is approved or

accredited by the Midwifery Education and Accreditation Council

(MEAC) and a passing score on the national North American Registry of

Midwives (NARM) examination.

5. Certified Midwife (CM) requires certification by the American Midwifery

Certification Board (AMCB) and accreditation by the Accreditation

Commission for Midwifery Education (ACME).

6. Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM), within their scope of practice according to

state law and requires certification by the American Midwifery Certification

Board (AMCB) and accreditation by the Accreditation Commission for

Midwifery Education (ACME).

7. Licensed Physician, within their scope of practice according to state law.

8. Licensed Physician Assistant, within their scope of practice according to state

law.

9. Licensed Advanced Practice Nurse, within their scope of practice according to

state law.

10. Licensed Registered Nurse, within their scope of practice according to state

law

 Effective Date:   4/1/2024 
 Approval Date: 9/25/2024



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OFTHESOCIALSECURITY ACT 
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

STATE OF COLORADO 

Supplement to Attachment 3 .1-A 
Page 1 of 1 

LIMITATIONSTOCAREANDSERVICES 

6.d. Other practitioners' services. 

The following services are provided: 

1. Services of State licensed Psychologists within their scope of practice according to state law. 

2. Services ofCe1tified RegisteredNurseAnesthetists within their scope of practice according to state law. 

3. Services ofClinical Nurse Specialists within their scope of practice according to state law. 

4. Services of licensed Physician Assistants within their scope of practice according to state law. 

5. Services of licensed Pharmacists within their scope of practice according to state law. 

6. Services of licensed School Psychologists within their scope of practice according to state law. 

7. Services of licensed Direct-Entry Midwives (DEMs)/Ce1tified Professional Midwives (CPMs) within 
their scope of practice according to state law. 

TN No. CO-24-0003-A 
Supersedes TN No. 21-0055 

Effective Date: 4/1/2024 
Approval Date: 9/25/2024 



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 

STATE OF COLORADO 
Attachment 4. 19-B 

Page 1 of 1 

METHODS AND ST AND ARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES -
OTHER TYPES OF CARE 

28. FREE STANDING BIRTH CENTER SERVICES 

Freestanding biith center facility services shall be reimbursed at the lower of the following: 

1. Submitted charges or 
2. 75 percent of the average payments to inpatient hospitals for uncomplicated vaginal 

deliveries. 

Freestanding biith center transfer payments shall be reimbursed at the lower of the following: 

1. Submitted charges or 
2. 50 percent of the freestanding biith center's facility payment. 

Professional services at freestanding biith centers are reimbursed separately under Physician 
Services at Attachment 4.19-B, Methods and Stan dards for Establishing Payment Rates -
Other Types of Care, Item 5.a. Physician Services, and all eligible providers including 
certified nurse midwives, ce1tified midwives, and direct-ent1y midwives/certified 
professional midwives, are reimbursed at 100 percent of the physician fee schedule rate for 
the se1vice rendered. This may include but is not limited to labor and delive1y, evaluation 
provided prior to transfer to a hospital and newborn care. 

Except as othe1w ise noted in the State Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same 
for both governmental and private providers. The rates are effective for services on or after 
the date listed on the Attachment 4.19-B Introduction Page. All rates can be found on the 
official Web site of the Depa1tment of Health Care Policy and Financing at 
www.colorado.gov/hcpf. 

TN No. CO-24-0003-A 
Supersedes TN No. 19-0006 

Effective Date: 4/1/2024 
Approval Date: 9/25/2024 




