
Table of Contents 

State/Territory Name:  California 

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #:  22-0042

This file contains the following documents in the order listed: 

1) Approval Letter
2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
3) Approved SPA Pages



 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services  
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106  

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

September 8, 2022 
 
Jacey Cooper      
Chief Deputy Director, Health Care Programs 
California Department of Health Care Services 
P.O. Box 997413, MS 0000 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413  
 

Re:  California State Plan Amendment (SPA) 22-0042 
 
Dear Ms. Cooper: 
 
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan 
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) California 22-0042. This SPA will 
reduce premiums to $0 for the Optional Targeted Low-Income Child (OTLIC) group, which 
covers eligible individuals with a family income determined to be above 160 percent of the 
Federal Poverty Level.  The effective date of the SPA is July 1, 2022. 
 
We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations at 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 
447.50 - 57.  This letter is to inform you that California Medicaid SPA 22-0042 was approved on 
September 8, 2022, with an effective date of July 1, 2022. 
  
If you have any questions, please contact Cheryl Young at 415-744-3598 or via email at 
Cheryl.Young@cms.hhs.gov. 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 

James G. Scott, Director 
Division of Program Operations 

 
cc:  Rene Mollow, California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) 
       Yingjia Huang, DHCS 
       Sandra Williams, DHCS 
       Aaron Toyama, DHCS 
       Angeli Lee, DHCS 
       Amanda Font, DHCS 
        

Digitally signed by 
James G. Scott -S 
Date: 2022.09.08 
15:05:42 -05'00'



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH ANDHUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES OMB No. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT

TO: CENTER DIRECTOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE

5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 6. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT (Amounts in WHOLE dollars)
a. FFY $ 
b. FFY $ 

7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)

9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT

10. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL 15. RETURN TO

12. TYPED NAME

13. TITLE

14. DATE SUBMITTED

FOR CMS USE ONLY
16. DATE RECEIVED 17. DATE APPROVED

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED
18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL 19. SIGN NG OFFICIAL

20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL

22. REMARKS

FORM CMS-179 (09/24) Instructions on Back

GNATURE OF STATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTE EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE AGE

YPEDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNAME

21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL

2 2 0 0 4 2 CA

July 1, 2022

Section 1916A; 42 CFR 447.50, 447.62-447.82 2022 (47,785,000)
2023 (47,785,000)

Attachment 4.18-F pages 5-10
Attachment 4.18-F pages 5-10

This proposed amendment reduces premiums for the Optional Target Low Income Children's Program to $0.

Jacey Cooper

State Medicaid Director

June 29, 2022

Department of Health Care Services
Attn: Director's Office
P.O. Box 997413, MS 0000
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413

Digitally signed by James G. Scott -S 
Date: 2022.09.08 15:07:14 -05'00'



Attachment 4.18-F 
Page 5 

 
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State/Territory: CALIFORNIA 
 

TN No.  22-0042  Approval Date: September 8, 2022 Effective Date: July 1, 2022 
Supersedes 
TN No:  17-044 

c. Enforcement 
i. ___/ Prepayment is required for the following groups of applicants when they 

apply for Medicaid: 
ii. ___/ Prepayment is required for the following groups of beneficiaries as a 

condition for receiving Medicaid services for the premium period: 
iii. _X_/ Eligibility is terminated for failure to pay premiums after a grace period of 

90/120 days after the premium due date (at least 60 days) for the following 
groups of Medicaid beneficiaries: 

 
iv. _X_/ Payment will be waived by the state on a case-by case basis, if payment 

would create undue hardship for the individual. 
 

v. Effective July 1, 2022, premium amounts for individuals whose family income has 
been determined to be above 160 percent and up to and including 261 percent of 
the federal poverty level as described in this section, shall be reduced to $0, 
regardless of number of children or family size. 

 
D. Period of determining 5 percent aggregate family limit for premiums and cost 
sharing: 
Specify the period for which the 5 percent maximum will be applied. 
 
Specify the period for which the 5 percent maximum will be applied. 
__/ Quarterly 
_X_/ Monthly 
 
E. Method for tracking beneficiaries’ liability for premiums and cost sharing: 
 

1. Describe the methodology used by the State to identify beneficiaries, who are 
subject to premiums or to cost sharing for specific items or services. 

 
RESPONSE: California will use aid codes to identify beneficiaries with family 
incomes above 160 percent FPL. These individuals will have premium payments 
and will require cost sharing tracking. Family incomes at or below 160 percent of the 
FPL do not require premiums tracking. The cost sharing tracking process is outlined 
in the response below. 
  

 1-6 years of age, with family income above 160 percent of the FPL and up to and including 261 
percent of the FPL will terminate after 90 days from age 1-6 years of age. 

 6-19 years of age, with family income above 160 percent of the FPL and up to and including 261 
percent of the FPL will terminate after 90 days from age 6-19 years of age. 




