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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 

Financial Management Group 

Carmen Heredia, Director 
Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System 
801 E. Jefferson 
Phoenix, AZ 85034 

RE:  Arizona State Plan Amendment Transmittal Number 22-0025 

Dear Ms. Heredia: 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan 
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 22-0025. This amendment, effective October 1, 2022, 
updates the Arizona nursing facility supplemental payment pool description. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 
1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal 
regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.  This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment 
22-0025 is approved effective October 1, 2022.  The CMS-179 and the amended plan page(s) are
attached.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Mark Wong at (415) 744-
3561 or mark.wong@cms.hhs.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Director 

Enclosures 

March 29, 2023





TN No. 22-0025  
Supersedes  TN No. 16-005     Approval Date: ___________________    Effective Date October 1, 2022 

Attachment 4.19-D 
 Page 9(a) 

STATE: ARIZONA 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING FEE-FOR-SERVICE PAYMENT 
RATES FOR LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES 

c) AHCCCS shall make quarterly supplemental payments to eligible nursing facility providers after the assessment
quarter. The fee-for-service quarterly supplemental payment will be made directly to each eligible nursing
facility.  If the fee-for-service quarterly supplemental payment amount is less than $25 for an individual 
facility, no fee-for-service quarterly supplemental payment will be made.

d) A facility must be open on the date the supplemental payment is made in order to receive a payment.

e) During the quarter ending March 31, 2015, an additional quarterly payment adjustment will be made that is
equal to the difference between what the quarterly payment would be if the pool amount was determined
under paragraph 2 below effective January 1, 2015 and what the quarterly payment would be if the pool 
amount was determined based on paragraph 2 as it was in effect prior to January 1, 2015.

2. The nursing facility assessment to be collected from each nursing facility is as follows:

a) The assessment is imposed on non-Medicare patient days as allowed for under 42 CFR 433.68(d);

b) The assessment imposed is $20.80 per non-Medicare day except:
i. Continuing Care Retirement Communities, ICF/IIDs, IHS and Tribal 638 nursing facilities,  Arizona Veteran’s

Homes, and facilities located outside of Arizona will not be assessed;
ii. Facilities with 58 or fewer total beds will not be assessed; and
iii. Facilities with annual Medicaid days greater than or equal to the number required to achieve a slope of at 

least 1 applying the uniformity tax waiver test described in 42 CFR 433.68(e)(2) will be assessed at a rate
of $2.40 per non-Medicare day.

The patient days used in the computations are derived from the Nursing Facility Uniform Accounting Report (UAR) Cost 
Reports filed with the Arizona Department of Health Services.  Calculations for the assessment will be made once per year 
in November, using the most recently filed UAR as of September 1 immediately preceding the start of the assessment year.  
Only those facilities with a full year UAR will be assessed.  The computed annual assessment amount will be divided by four 
and imposed on a quarterly basis. 

March 29, 2023




