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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

601 E. 12th St., Room 355

Kansas City, Missouri 64106

CMS

CENTERS TOR MELMCARE & MLEHCAID SERYICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

November 6, 2023

Janet Mann

Director of Health and Medicaid Director
Arkansas Department of Human Services
112 West 8th Street, Slot S401

Little Rock, AR 72201-4608

Re: Arkansas State Plan Amendment (SPA) AR-23-0016

Dear Director Mann:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) AR-23-0016. This amendment

proposes update the Third Pary Liability attestation in the Arkansas Medicaid State Plan.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations Title XIX of the Social Security Act Section
1902(a)(25). This letter is to inform you that Arkansas Medicaid SPA AR-23-0016 was approved

on November 6, 2023, with an effective date of November 1, 2023.

If you have any questions, please contact Lee Herko at 570-230-4048 or via email at
Lee.Herko@cms.hhs.gov .

Sincerel

James G. Scott, Director
Division of Program Operations

Enclosures

cc: Elizabeth Pittman
Anita Castleberry
Lisa Teague
Jack Tiner
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State/Territory: ARKANSAS

Citation

Section 1902(a)(25)(E) ()
42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(i)

Section 1902(a)(25)(F)
42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(ii) 2)

Section 1902(a)(25)(E) A3)
42 CFR 433.139(b)(3)(i)

Section 1902(a)25)(E) (4

Transmittal Number: AR-23-0016

The State will make payment for pediatric preventive
services, including early and periodic screening,
diagnosis, and treatment services, without regard to
third party liability and seek reimbursement from any
liable third party to the extent of such legal liability.

For services covered under the plan that are provided
to an individual on whose behalf child support
enforcement is being carried out by the State Title IV-D
agency, the State will make payment for such services
without regard to third party liability up to 100 days
that is derived (through insurance or otherwise) from
the parent whose obligation to pay support is being
enforced by the State Title IV-D agency, and seek
reimbursement from such liable third party to the
extent of legal liability:

Providers are required to bill liable third parties when
services covered under the plan are furnished to an
individual on whose behalf child support enforcement is
being carried out by the State IV-D agency.

The State shall make payment without regard to third
party liability for pediatric preventive services unless a
Determination related to cost-effectiveness and access to
care that warrants cost avoidance up to 90 days has
been made.

The State will use standard coordination of benefits cost

avoidance when processing claims for prenatal services,
labor and delivery, and postpartum care claims.

Approval Date: November 6, 2023

Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW Effective Date: November 1, 2023
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State/Territory: ARKANSAS

Requirements for Third Party Liability —
Payment of Claims

If the provider bills the Medicaid Program, he/she must certify either:
(1) that he/she has not billed the known third party due to medical support enforcement, or

(2) that he/she has billed the known third party but has not received payment or denial from the
third party within 30 days from the date of service.

Claims submitted for payment with certification that the provider attempted to collect from the third party
are extracted and written to a report produced monthly. The report is reviewed monthly using a random
sampling of 10% based on the total number of claims reported. Follow-up activity is performed with the
third party to ensure that payment has not been made within 30 days of the provider’s date of service.

The Agency does not use threshold amounts for any cases other than Tort/Casualty cases to determine
whether to seek reimbursement from a liable third party. Threshold amounts vary from $25.00 to $100.00
depending on the type of service. Total TPL program expense divided by the number of claims recovered
(monthly figures are used) are utilized in this calculation. This limit is determined annually.

A timeframe of six months is allocated for the allowed amount on individual claims to be collected for
comparison with the threshold level of each valid third party source’s coverage areas. If the cumulative or
individual allowed amount total exceeds the threshold level then each applicable third party source is
pursued.

Medicare claims are reflected in Arkansas’ MMIS as cost avoidance.

The State makes payment for pediatric preventive services, including early and periodic screening,
diagnosis, and treatment services (EPSDT), without regard to third party liability and seeks
reimbursement from any liable third party to the extent of such legal liability.

For services covered under the plan that are provided to an individual on whose behalf child
support enforcement is being carried out by the State Title IV-D agency, the State makes payment
for such services without regard to third party liability up to 100 days that is derived (through
insurance or otherwise) from the parent whose obligation to pay support is being enforced by the
State Title IV-D agency, and seeks reimbursement from such liable third party to the extent of legal
liability.

Providers are required to bill liable third parties when services covered under the plan are

furnished to an individual on whose behalf child support enforcement is being carried out by the
State IV-D agency.

The State makes payment without regard to third party liability for pediatric preventive services
unless a determination related to cost-effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost avoidance
up to 90 days has been made.

The State will use standard coordination of benefits cost avoidance when processing claims for
prenatal services, labor and delivery, and postpartum care claims.

TN: AR 23-0016 Approval Date: _11/06/2023
Supersedes TN: 92-0013 Effective Date: 11/01/2023





